We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, if a little pricey”
Review of Swissotel Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Zurich
Ranked #39 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, if a little pricey”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is an excellent hotel to stay in if you're visiting Zurich. It's a little out of town but very close to the tram stop that takes you to and from the airport, and into the city centre (both within 10-15 mins). The hotel is clean and comfortable, the breakfast and room service has an excellent choice of food, the staff are friendly and helpful and speak perfect English. My only quibble is what they charge you for extras - over a 4 days the room service and internet costs almost doubled my bill, so I'm glad it was a business trip and I wasn't spending my own money! In fairness Switzerland is a very expensive country overall, but other hotels of a similar standard have complimentary internet, whereas these guys charged 19 Francs (UK£12) per day. Other than that I couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank sunshine383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you, sunshine383 for this nice review! If you sign up for our complimentary Loyality Program "Swissôtel Circle", you enjoy free WiFi in all Swissôtels wordlwide!
https://www.swissotel.com/my-circle/join-us/
Warm regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    899
    256
    80
    39
See reviews for
367
677
161
698
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haninge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The SPA is today a very pleasant thing to have in many gyms and hotels even homes. One will always want to go to such to relax. It was very surprising that a big hotel like yours should have a spa which is mixed and that is not openly indicated in its brouchers and reception. The receptionist at the spa lied at us that the spa was seperated, but to my surprise when I went in I was faced by naked men. We are families who were there during the Atheletics championships not swingers. This was such disrespect from the receptionist who chose to mis-inform. The hotel can build seperate spas for men and women. Its cheap today

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 56Stefan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear 56Stefan2014 , respecting your review I want to distance our hotel from your mentioned view of our sauna. It is common in Switzerland, that the sauna is unisex and the atmosphere is always reliable in our sauna. Therefore we have employees working in the SPA, who care that everything is running in a seriuos way. However, I deeply apologize, that our employee gave you a wrong information. If you have further questions, I am happy to assist and I hope, you had a great time at the Athletics? Sunny regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I visited many times swissotel in Zürich and I was always very satisfied! Unfortunately this time was a very bad experience.

I was in Zürich from 30 until 31 August 2014, room 1501.

The only kind and proactive person was the one at the check-in. She was incredible kind and very professional!!!

During my stay all the others people were not motivated and unprofessional.

Here my bad service experience

... at SPA: the employee even does not look at you when you are talking with her. Do I disturb?!

... By calling "guest services": I needed a taxi exactly in front of the hotel in 10 minutes and they told me that was not possible because they are just in front at the rail station. I think that it was possible, when a client clearly asked for this!

... At the bar: the client need to wait a lot to have the pleasure to order some drinks! Is this a 4 stars service or a bar in hostel?In addition the glasses were not exactly clean...

... At the reception for my check-out I was trying to explain why my stay was not perfect as usual it was....but the young employee just did not pay so much attention: she just told me "ok. I will take note" and she interrupted me before I had finished to list all my issues

In addition I needed to ask 2 times in order to use the PC at the reception area.

I had the feeling that this employee at check out did not care at all about my kind explanations for the poor service received!

Generally speaking I was not feeling "Welcome" at all anymore, which it was really different from my past stays and reviews!

Guests are just looking for a SMILE and a "thank you"... Why is becoming so difficult to get??

After 6 years of personal loyality, it is time for me for a change of hotel! Good bye Swissotel... You are not any more the great business hotel that you were!

Unfortunaly I fehlt that Swissotel is now only a neutral hotel, without "personality" and without proactive approach for their regular guests!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliente_esigente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Cliente_esigente
Your feedback is very honest and your words are exactly those words, I never want to read. As I realize, that we simply failed during your stay, I hope that I can get in personal contact with you. My mail adress is jenny.cardinaud@swissotel.com. Warm regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

If you Need a decent hotel near the station this is worth trying. Stayed here loads. Decent rooms, good view if you ask for high floor. Good pool on the top floor and decent bar for working or socialising.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webby_169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you, webby_169 for your good review! Happy regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.y.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel was a pleasure to stay in. Superb Front Desk staff - helpful and friendly. Modern and very clean. We arrived very early and hotel was able to accommodate us with no problem. Restaurant had a great choice for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 195GN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear 195GN, I am happy to hear that you had a good stay. We are always happy, if we can arrange early check ins, especially after a long flight :-) Sunny regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Check in and out was slow. they had groups checking in at 7am when we are trying to check out to catch a plane. no effort was make to allow us to jump the queue or ask our time frame. We felt staff were just going through the motions. On arrival in our room we were horrified to discover the toilet hadn't been flushed from previous guest/s. The hotel is not in the main city. We would not recommend this hotel to our worst enemies.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank TerryA600LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear TerryA600LI , your review has a hard wording and I accept, that you were not satisfied due to standing in a row and the bathroom situation.
For me, it is very important to get your room number or last name, so I can find out, what went wrong with your room cleaning. I deeply apologize for this unprofessional accident - truely!
You can contact me under jenny.cardinaud@swissotel.com. I hope to hearing from you. With my best regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oman
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed with them 1 night with family from 21st August to 22nd August . Nice hotel with friendly staff and the hotel is located opposite Oerlikon train station -so connectivity to airport and main city is very good .

Our Room was nice except the bed was 2 single beds joined together , would have definitely preferred a kingsize bed ( had actually requested this at time of booking ) . However the staff joined the 2 single beds together which did leave gap between the two . Otherwise the hotel is nice and would definitely stay there again on my next trip .

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venkateshramaswamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
...and I am sure, that you get a KING size bed the next time, dear Venkateshramaswamy! :-)
Happy regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#21 of 139 in Zurich
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#20 of 139 in Zurich
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Zurich

Property: Swissotel Zurich
Address: Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Zurich
#22 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#32 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich’s tallest luxury hotel, Swissotel Zurich is ideally located close to Zurich’s business, cultural, shopping and entertainment areas and just 5km from both Zurich Airport and Zurich’s city centre. The 347 contemporary rooms and suites reflect an elegant & modern style, featuring panoramic views of Zurich and the superb Swiss Alps. You’ll enjoy a full range of leisure facilities such as the Amrita Spa & Fitness centre, which offers invigorating treatments and has a spectacular rooftop infinity pool. Meet friends or colleagues for cocktails at Le Muh Bar; enjoy fine dining at Restaurant Le Muh privé and creative Swiss meals at Le Muh léger. Swissotel Zurich’s Convention Centre is the perfect setting for any event or conference and caters for up to 1000 participants. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Zurich zürich
Swissotel Zurich Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing