We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, design hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel
Ranked #26 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Rooms are almost sterile :) Designed as a very modern place (sometimes solutions are not well thought through ie. in one room water from the shower suddenly started entering the room :D

But in general it is a very nice place and every time we've been there, we had a great time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartosz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Great hotel in Zurich! We always stay at the Greulich when we stay in Zurich. They have very good weekend packages and staff is nice. The rooms (superior) are big and airy and I really like the bathroom design. Last time we went, breakfast was a bit disapointing but otherwise the experience is always very pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misstidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

It is central, it is in a lively neighborhood and it is gorgeous. The rooms are soothing and uncluttered and the backyard "forrest" is calm and beautiful. I simply enjoy everything about this hotel! A real treat for urbanites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pharaonics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The Greulich, with its singular-bleu, modern-style geometric façade and large, rectangular windows ("Nighthawks") is truly inviting. First, there's the terrace, the bar, ... opening up ... to the restaurant with both indoor and outdoor seating. The staff is more then welcoming and helpful. The architectural quality and the relaxed, failry intimate atmosphere make the place stand out. There are the wood-paneled reception and dining area, the great inner court (beautiful during the day and lit at night) with the birch tress leading up to the contemporary, half-indoor/outdoor lane with the newly- built rooms with very large glkass walls, shades ... in which you feel at rest and at peace. Also, the location is very fine - on a main city axis leading you straight into the heart of the city, ("Volkshaus restaurant" just nearby). A minus ... Breakfast was not included and fairly pricy given that the place wants to bring quality to your stay and a nice breakfast is part of that. However, on the bright side: the very best thing about my stay at the Greulich was the beautiful, bright-red hotel bike which I used, free of charge, all the time and on which I covered the whole city, ... from the Friday Tower to the new Löwenbrau, from the Kunsthalle to the Grand Dolder, from the pools on the Limat to the Utoquai.

Room Tip: Opt for a room in the new wing
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed for three nights in a standard room in the courtyard area. The design was clean, contemporary with muted colours and simple lines, and while not large, the room was given a feeling of more space by the high ceiling. The bed was very comfortable with beautiful linen. The bathroom is partitioned with a glass panel, so privacy is limited, which might not suit all guests.

Breakfast was not included in the room rate, but was quite a generous buffet with very high quality breads, yoghurts, ham, cheese, etc. The bar has a good range of drinks but is quite small and it would have been nice to have a larger lounge area. In nice weather there are lots of tables outside, but it rained/snowed solidly during our visit.

The location is a little outside the city centre in the residential Kreis 4 neighbourhood with plenty of cafes / restaurant / bars in easy walking distance. It is just a few stops by tram into the city centre or an interesting walk.

The staff were friendly and recognised us after the first day. Overall the ambience was relaxed and not over-designed, and it was a very pleasant place to stay. Plus it is the only hotel I've ever stayed in which provides yoga mats for guests to use!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are not large but still fine for two people.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmsc_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The greulich ( grey) is a smartly designed boutique hotel that pays attention to details. We stayed in one of its apartments ( with kitchen) so we could prepare some meals . we found it almost like home and stocked our fridge with fresh produce from the Tuesday farmers market down nearby. Like all hotels it's that staff that make it out break it. The staff get five stars - no request was too hard and they cheerfully fulfilled our requests. While The hotel is located a bit away from tourist activities ( short tram ride ) that was fine with us as we enjoyed the neighborhood and its helpful inhabitants .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctsv157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed in this enchanting boutique hotel for two nights. Its understated charm, minimalistic but stylish decor and unpretentious architecture was pleasing and a pleasant change to the over the top decor one often finds in some boutique hotels. The staff were friendly, courteous and professional.

Meals: The Dinner menu was uninspiring but expensive ( but Zürich is an expensive city). We had the pea with ravioli as well as the spinach and tatar of salmon soup as starters. Although one understands that both vegetables are delicate in taste, they still would have been better seasoned. These were quite tasteless. Our second was Viennese Schnitzel which was rather greasy and had no taste at all!

On the other hand the breakfast buffet as well as a-la carte was just right. It was nice to see that there were no hot plates with food cooking away for hours on end. If one wanted a hot meal, it could be ordered from the a-la carte menu. There was a choice of bread, jams, preserved and honey, organic yoghourt, cereals, pastries and cold cuts. There is also a brunch on Sunday.

Our suite Nr. 22 was fantastic. It was very large, stylish and functional. As well as spacious living spaces it also has a fully functional kitchen which would be lovely for families with young children. We also visited room 8 just to see what a standard rooms looked like and found it absolutely lovely too. There is some construction on the street behind the hotel but this is not heard or visible from all rooms. Therefore it would be advisable to ask before booking. The only negative is the tram and train which could be quite noisy, especially if you like to have open windows. We were in Zürich on a cold and rainy week end and therefore could afford to keep the windows closed. But we did not noticing air conditioning and wonder how it would be like in summer when it could get very hot and one might want to have natural ventilation. They might have air conditioning which we did not notice. I am sure the management will comment.

But we would stay at the Greulich again and recommend whole heartedly.

Room Tip: Suite 22 and room 8
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iromi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 138 in Zurich
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Glockenhof
#23 of 138 in Zurich
483 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#15 of 138 in Zurich
610 reviews
EMA House Hotel Suites
#9 of 138 in Zurich
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel

Address: Herman-Greulich-Strasse 56, Zurich 8004, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Greulich)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Langstrasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Zurich
#22 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#30 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#42 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £127 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Zurich’s vibrant District 4 is the Design & Lifestyle Hotel Greulich with 28 rooms, a cafe, a summer boulevard as well as a bar and a cigar lounge. At Greulich meets a homely atmosphere purist design, and vibrant city life meets pure relaxation in the tranquil birch grove. The rooms are spread over the main house and the courtyard next to the birch grove. Herman's Wohnzimmer is the urban cafe with a bar and boulevar. It is your place to have breakfast, lunch, to work on your laptop or to read. Enjoy freshly prepared snacks and drinks around the clock, including a take-away offer and a library. Herman's yoga studio offers an array of yoga classes for participants of all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greulich Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing