We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place”
Review of Hotel UTO KULM

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel UTO KULM
Ranked #95 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We went for the romantic Tête-à-tête deal at this hotel for our wedding anniversary.
This included (for not much more than the cost of the room) a five course dinner (very tasty indeed - with some nice touches like rose petals scattered on the table), a double room with a view (sadly the weather wasn't on our side for that entirely), and breakfast.
All in all a great deal and the hotel was really nice (just like the other time I stayed there - so consistent too).
Would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Go for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

Great hotel loved everything about it. Room was clean and comfortable, smaller than what expected but very good since we were out most of the time. Great location for walking, biking and having a picnic. Near town, a 20 minute ride to the main station in zurich by train totally worth it, looking out to nature. A few minutes walk up the pebble path to the hotel from Uetliberg station was good to see nature on our way up to the top. Staff helpful when we needed it. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

chose this hotel randomly. it turned out it wasn't exactly easy to reach, parking at the foot of the hill, 10mins hike up the hill to train station, 30mins wait for the train, the train ride plus hike at the top of the hill. i wonder if this adds to some sort of exclusivity? lobby was nice, so was the breakfast room with wonderful views. in front of the hotel there is a tower you can climb, but the views from the hotel yard are amazing already, especially on a clear night. the cheapest room had no view to speak of. in the evening there were loud partying at the restaurant. wouldn't go again unless was attending a party at the restaurant. if looking for the views i'd just go for a drink at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urmsu888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We choose the Tete-aTete option for our anniversary, we had the Skyline suite plus dinner and breakfast and 2 hours in the sauna included. The suite was nice with a great view of Zurich, unfortunately it is quite worn out and you have people walking in the bar area just in front of your window until late in the night... not very romantic and it spoils the view of Zurich a little... and you have to have the curtains drawn all the time unless you want tourists to see what you are doing in you room... the dinner (5 course) was OK, but the service was mediocre... breakfast was also a huge let down... no pancakes??? only gipfeli and bread... a very small choice of food... a very mediocre international breakfast. We were later told that the nice breakfast is on Sunday... they could have informed us at the time of the booking. Considering the price for a Tete-aTete.. it is not worth it, you can find better options in other hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay-bologna-zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We were very much looking forward to our tête à tête experience.

The five course menu was fantastic, served by a very attentive staff in a great surrounding. Bring the dog along was no problem at all.

Room was horrible. Really small for two with a small bed. Certainly no 4 star level. Shower the size of post stamp. There is no sound proofing. We could hear everything and I mean everything from the rooms next to us. I will spare you the details...

Breakfast looked good and the food was good. But only empty tea packaging... and don't expect that you get bacon/eggs at 7 am. The cook only seems to start at 8...

We went home to sleep :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumdari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed on the Uto Kulm and I really enjoy it. First you need to take a train that takes you to the train station where the hotel is, but you still have to go up about 5 min. using a stairs and a path in the middle of the forest which makes it very unique experience to get there. The hotel is in the very top and from all the hotel windows, from the restaurant and the rooms you can see all over Zürich, unless it gets chilly and foggy and then you won’t see nothing which I believe makes this hotel worth. The hotel has nice rooms, but nothing extraordinary; they are actually very simple, unless you get a suite or something like that.
The hotel has a very good restaurant and the breakfast is very good, but I cannot say the same about the service, when I wanted to take breakfast I don’t know why, they sent us to a different room in the restaurant and they even had the lights on or the tables ready!!!!! But it definitely worth it

Room Tip: As higher as better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANIELAORTIZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed there for our first night as a married couple, in the Skyline suite. It is an absolutely beautiful experience. The room has had an incredibly large window revealing a breathtaking view of the lake of Zurich, and at night, you had the feeling to fly over the thousands of lights of the city. The Jacuzzi in the room perfected the experience. Room service was outstanding, the staff extremely friendly, and the breakfast amazing and refreshing. A nice change from the usual hotel experience.

Room Tip: Choose the Skyline Suite with an extraordinary scenic view of the whole lake of Zurich. The room als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckyduck50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
St. Georges
#84 of 137 in Zurich
117 reviews
H+ Hotel Zuerich
#77 of 137 in Zurich
530 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#35 of 137 in Zurich
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#49 of 137 in Zurich
659 reviews
Fluntern
Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
#51 of 137 in Zurich
313 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 137 in Zurich
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UTO KULM? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UTO KULM

Address: Zurich 8143, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#64 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £92 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel UTO KULM 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel UTO KULM reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Uto Kulm Hotel Uetliberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing