We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View and wonderful service”
Review of Hotel UTO KULM

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel UTO KULM
Ranked #89 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic View and wonderful service”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

If staying in a hotel that was built in the 1800s and is located on top of a small mountain with a spectacular view of Zurich, the river, and all the surrounding towns interests you, than may I suggest that you put this hotel on your bucket list. The hotel location does not permit cars so that it can only be reached by train. The hotel provides transportation from the station. There is a wonderful tower next to hotel which is visited by most visitors to Zurich just to for the view. The rooms have unbelievable views and the service is first class.

Swiss food is very rich, so we recommend that you fill up on salads and veggies as well as the local cuisine. The wine list was very good and I loved the local beers.

We attended our nephew Patrick's and new niece, Amanda's wedding. the hotel hosts over 50 weddings each year and is very good at providing wonderful experiences for both bride, groom, and their guests.

Most evenings require a reservation for dinner, and the meals can be expensive but worth every penny

Room Tip: don't miss it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckbianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiusepFry, Owner at Hotel UTO KULM, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear chuckbianco,

Thank you very much for this review. We love hearing when our guests enjoy their stay at the UTO KULM hotel. We work hard so that you and everyone else can have such experiences.

Best regards from Uetliberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    81
    32
    17
    9
See reviews for
20
105
18
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We only had one night in Zurich and we figured that wasn't enough time to properly see Zurich so we'd go for an experience instead. We got a free upgrade and had paid for a view and it was absolutely gorgeous. The bathroom was luxury! And obviously the view was lovely. We ate at the restaurant too. This cost the same as the room! It was really tasty though and the waiters were good and friendly. Locals come just for the food and view! -you can pay more fir a table with a view.
Beware of school groups going up the viewing tower and dragging a suitcase up the mountain for the 10 mins walking either side of the train was not fun. Either tell them in advance so they can pick it up or have a weekend bag! I imagine it's also amazing if you love walking but we didn't have time. Best way to do Zurich -we weren't huge fans of the city itself but the hotel made it worth it.very romantic!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiusepFry, Owner at Hotel UTO KULM, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thanks for your great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Our team will tell you about some spots in zurich you will love ;)

best regards from UTO KULM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you have enough of time and love to discovery nice places, you have to visit the place, but be ready that its not so easy to reach it, because of its destination. You'll have to take a road trip to the top of Zurich and take a trans and have a nice walk after all. But its worth it, believe me! When in the morning you will open your eyes and will see the green hills and a Zurich lake from your window, you'll find that you got into the right destination. The hotel is a bit old fashion and absolutely non fancy, but the view buys everything if you are looking for a nice place to stay without fancy furniture.

Room Tip: Take the lake view room and forget about everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta, ga
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel and restaurant is at the top of a mountain in Zurich with a 360 view of the city and lake. You can only get there by train and it requires a 10minute walk up a hill to reach the hotel. That's the only downside. However, if you have mobility problems or heavy luggage, you can call them and they will send an electric car.

The rooms are nice, nothing fancy, but I had a small balcony and a very large bathroom with jacuzzi tub and separate shower. It just so happens I was there during a heat wave and there is no air conditioning. I was there for a 2-day business meeting and the room was stifling hot in the afternoon. Plus it was next to the Receiving/Delivery entrance which was quite noisy and required us to close the door which in turn prevented a flow of air through the open windows.

I would recommend this hotel as a nice weekend getaway. There are nice hiking trails and the food in the restaurant is top-notch. All tables have a beautiful view.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogreen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiusepFry, Manager at Hotel UTO KULM, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Hopefully next time with no heat.
We always try our best, but weather conditions are not in our hands ;)

Sincerely,
your team from hotel UTO KULM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If from the outside the hotel has nothing special to offer, the view on Zurich city is a amazing. The room are nice and comfortable.
But as so many time in Switzerland, the staff is not very nice and helpfull. They refuse us to drive uswith their electric car because some stupid rules they made up themself.
Breakfast was very good and the meeting room are good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geap64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiusepFry, Manager at Hotel UTO KULM, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our staff is always willing to help you but it`s a regional law which prohibts us to drive guest to the station. We are very sorry, that we could not help you in this case but we hope you enjoyed the rest of you stay in Hotel UTO KULM.

Sincerely your Team from Hotel UTO KULM on Top of Zurich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 day business meeting here and what a stunning venue!
You take the train up the mountain and then do have a steep 7-10 min walk up to the hotel (but the hotel will send down an electric cart for you if you wish). Once at the top the views are breathtaking and you can climb the lookout tower for an even higher view.
I was in the newer part of the hotel in the tower suites (rm 58) and the view over Zürich and the lake was beautiful
We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant which had amazing views of the Alps.
I would return in a heartbeat

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank irwm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiusepFry, Inhaber at Hotel UTO KULM, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Oh we love to hear that. Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We would be happy to see you again.

All the best
Giusep Fry and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent a weekend between Christmas and the new year in one of the "rooms with a view", which came with a nice (tho' not completely comprehensive) breakfast buffet. Spent CHF 25 extra per head for access to their sauna area and about CHF 80 per head for a 3-course meal at dinner including wine.

To start off with the good part, this hotel really has a priceless view over Zurich and invites you to linger in the dining area to watch the sun rise over the alps. The restaurant gets the top grade from me (lovely venison; gourmet portions). The staff was always attentive and friendly and the room was clean, although for the view, you needed to crane your neck a bit and the pillow was not the best one I've ever slept on. The location of the hotel is very nice as it is ideal for short strolls or a walk down to town. There is even a sledge path close by and lots of fun playgrounds for children.

There is nothing negative to say about our stay, although for the price I would have expected a few more amenities in the sauna area. They offer a small Turkish bath and a small sauna (mixed for men and women) as well as two showers, a toilet and an artificial ice grotto. You can grab an apple and some bottled water. You also get complementary bath robes and slippers. It would have been nice, though, to have a small pool and perhaps some warm tea. But the view of the city's night lights while sitting in the sauna makes up for that.

I would recommend this hotel although I'd suggest to look for special offers. The restaurant is A+. Try to aim for good weather.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j-m-suliban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
2.2 mi away
Crown Plaza Zurich
Crown Plaza Zurich
#100 of 139 in Zurich
36 reviews
2.3 mi away
Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich
2.3 mi away
St. Georges
St. Georges
#78 of 139 in Zurich
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mercure Stoller Zurich
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#47 of 139 in Zurich
637 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kameha Grand Zurich, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Sorell Hotel Rex
Sorell Hotel Rex
#40 of 139 in Zurich
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UTO KULM? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UTO KULM

Property: Hotel UTO KULM
Address: Zurich 8143, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#64 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel UTO KULM 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel UTO KULM reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Uto Kulm Hotel Uetliberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing