We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”
Review of Hotel Hottingen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hottingen
Ranked #72 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Great location- 7 min walk to the lake .... on #3 tram from the train station.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

We had a studio attic room, which had views over the rooftops, and of delightful Art Nouveau friezes under the eaves of the house across the road. The hotel is on a main street, very close to the centre and with excellent connections by tram, and just up the road from the Art Museum. Despite this, it is quiet. There is a strong, modern design feel to the interior, with clean lines, monochrome, sparse decor and with everything beautifully clean. The reception staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful, and the delightful dog, Ford, was just as welcoming. We instantly felt looked after. This feeling persisted throughout the stay.

The studio had a spacious shower room, with strong shower, and there was a cabinet with two electric hobs, a fridge, crockery and cutlery and pots. Everything was well-thought and laid out. The room was quiet and comfortable, with mostly white walls, and highlighting strong colours on two walls. The overall effect was restful, clean and modern. I'd make one tiny suggestion in respect of the kitchen unit, which would be to have a light inside, but this is a tiny point, we would have been very comfortable staying here for longer than the one night.

The quality of what was on offer at breakfast was very good, and I was grateful for the best cup of coffee at breakfast I've had for a long time - no need to go out for my first hit of caffeine of the day! The fruit and cereal selections were a bit limited by comparison with other hotels in Switzerland, but lovely bread and cheese were something of a compensation.

We had a strong sense that the staff and management knew their job, and clearly had thought everything through. The result was what every hotel should strive for; a good experience for the guest, professional staff, smooth functioning, comfort and tranquility without fuss. Top marks!

Room Tip: The hotel fronts a main road and side street. The latter is the best bet if you prefer not to notic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canolista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I booked a double room for just myself while on a business trip. It is well connected to the central station by tram and bus. There is a museum in walking distance. The room was quite nice and clean, although basic but still contemprory and new. The bed however was too soft for my taste and I did not sleep well. The shower is very good as it was a power shower and providing toileteries is a good touch. However as this is also partially a hostel, the feel continues as my room had 3 beds, all with their seperate lamp, 3 sets of soap and shampoos, so I could feel i was using a room to be shared by three. Hard to explain but gives a economical feel.

The breakfast is okay, no warm food, just cold continental fare. The coffee was good.

I can stay here again if i need to be close to center and I get a room for a good price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gauravm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Don't doubt to choose it. We honestly expected much worse conditions as we've never stayed in hotels with less than 3 stars...but we were wrong! The stars are not important here, what's really important is the cleanliness and rooms size. We stayed in a triple room with shower and had enough space. We had a kitchen on our floor (I think all floors are equipped with a separate kitchen) and found it very convenient as we travelled with a child and had our evening meals in the hotel. Breakfast was served downstairs every morning with eggs, bread, cuts and fresh beans coffee. It also has a smoking lounge for guests. If you arrive by car, a parking place would cost (if available) CHF 15,00 per day. We did not experience any problem with wifi in our room: the speed was ok. Just opposite the hotel there is a store with a wide variety of foods, fruits and vegetables but make sure you do your shopping early in the morning as it closes by 6:00pm.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank connexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Hotel Hottingen is less than a block from the convenient trams to the airport, to the Lake, to the old town. Exceedingly clean, good breakfast (a surly breakfast host one morning), and good wifi in the room. The man at the desk was very helpful, multilingual, and allowed us to leave our luggage since we arrived very early in the day after an overnight flight. There was some miscommunication with the booking agency that reserved us a room without a balcony, but that was soon remedied without complaint. An excellent shower with good pressure topped off our first few days in Switzerland. Hotel Hottingen was our first introduction to the wonders of Switzerland. We would like the owners to know that it did a beautiful job.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a balcony; otherwise the room would seem small. Keep in mind that there are room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brooks461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Excelent hotel , modern style, luxurious rooms by good price for Zürich. Just 10 block from the old town. But you can take the tram in front of the hotel. Great breakfast with eggs, cheese, bread, yogourt and good coffe. Very kind staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlizama16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Its a small cosy and great hotel. Every thing is a plus, great rooms, great beds, excellent bathroom. Kitchen at every floor, freezer with locker in kitchen, very close to tram stop. Very clean, very.
The breakfast was nice, but was bit boring for us because we stayed there for over 15 nights. Had to restart the WiFI router some day to get the Wifi up.
Seemed a bit expensive to me, 210 Swiss franc a day plus taxes.
Run by only one manager at a time but some one is there at reception 24X7.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Topu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Plattenhof Hotel
#64 of 138 in Zurich
299 reviews
Sorell Hotel Rex
#39 of 138 in Zurich
376 reviews
Seefeld
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#65 of 138 in Zurich
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 138 in Zurich
1,040 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hottingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hottingen

Address: Hottingerstrasse 31 | Cäcilienstr. 10, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Zurich
#35 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £98 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hottingen 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HotelHottingen, renovated 2011 is a pleasant hotel with a modern designe located in an old Zurich neighbourhood, just 400 metres away from the Kunsthaus Museum, close to Saint Peter's church, the Fraumunster Cathedral, Theater, Opera, close to the historic centre of Zurich and the attractive promenade of Zurich's Lake and banks of the River Limmat. This is the ideal location for exploring Zurich by public transport as there is a tram stop just 20 metres away. HotelHottingen is an establishment with 32 comfortable single, double, triple and quadruple rooms. Very few of them are sharing the bathroom and WC on the same floor. All of the rooms come equipped with a Flatscreen-TV, telephone as well as free wireless Internet access (WIFI). What's more, all guests have access to a communal kitchen where they can prepare their meals. A varied breakfast comes included in the room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Hottingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyer Hottingen zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing