We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great breakfast, great price but smelled like smoke”
Review of Hotel Hottingen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hottingen
Ranked #68 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The room and shared bathroom were clean and comfortable. The only problem was the room and sheets and pillow smelled like smoke though it is supposed to be a non-smoking room. the very nice and helpful front reception person was awesome! he helped us w/ all kinds of info but ended up not having time to explore b/c we had to catch our plane. Would stay again.

Room Tip: 7 minutes from the train station. Directly across the metro stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeNC619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Big family group: grandparents, parents, grownup children. Very modern, clean, spacious rooms. Very close to the lake and the old town. Very good Italian restaurant a few blocks from the hotel. Santa Lucia.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidA201204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay: it's a plain hotel,reasonably priced by Zurich's standard. It offers few frills, but everything it does offer is well and, of course (this is Switzerland!) efficiently done.I'd stay again.

MMcC

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mgtmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed in this hottel for a business trip for 2 weeks. The service is excellant. The location is very near to city center, only 10 mins walk. Breakfast is really good. You can always take a walk to Lake Zurich or stroll around the Theater road if you feel bored.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RaihanRazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The room was clean. Hotel is Conveniently located. The receptionist was very helpful. The Breakfast was good. Ambience in the hotel was good . The surrounding of the hotel is very quiet n relaxing. Good





  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Ng B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Room Tip: Although there are only a few en-suite rooms, rooms are recommendable. Everything is clean and all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Olaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A well placed hotel, with reasonable sized room.

My room looked over Hottingerplatz but the window if shut cut the noise out nicely, the rooms are in 2 corridors off the central atrium which has a triangular stair case, which in some places gets a bit low (I'm 1.83m tall) and there was (assuming it hadn't run out on such a warm day) free drinks avaiable in dispensers on the ground floor. The breakfast was good too.

On the floor I was on the Male shower was separate from the toilet and I found it a bit cramped and poorly ventilated so was a bit clamy for getting dried off, the ladies looked much larger.

Unfortunately I didn't notice until I was leaving that slippers were provided for walking to the shower.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiallWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.8 mi away
Bristol Hotel Zurich
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 137 in Zurich
1,027 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plattenhof Hotel
Plattenhof Hotel
#67 of 137 in Zurich
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sorell Hotel Rex
Sorell Hotel Rex
#37 of 137 in Zurich
376 reviews
1.2 mi away
St. Georges
St. Georges
#84 of 137 in Zurich
117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#47 of 137 in Zurich
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hottingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hottingen

Address: Hottingerstrasse 31 | Cäcilienstr. 10, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Zurich
#35 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £96 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hottingen 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HotelHottingen, renovated 2011 is a pleasant hotel with a modern designe located in an old Zurich neighbourhood, just 400 metres away from the Kunsthaus Museum, close to Saint Peter's church, the Fraumunster Cathedral, Theater, Opera, close to the historic centre of Zurich and the attractive promenade of Zurich's Lake and banks of the River Limmat. This is the ideal location for exploring Zurich by public transport as there is a tram stop just 20 metres away. HotelHottingen is an establishment with 32 comfortable single, double, triple and quadruple rooms. Very few of them are sharing the bathroom and WC on the same floor. All of the rooms come equipped with a Flatscreen-TV, telephone as well as free wireless Internet access (WIFI). What's more, all guests have access to a communal kitchen where they can prepare their meals. A varied breakfast comes included in the room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Hottingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyer Hottingen zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing