We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower your expectations”
Review of Hotel Rothaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rothaus
Ranked #123 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Hallo,

If you are on a tight budget, this hotel is for you as it is only about 15 mins walk to the central station and once you are at the central station, it is the city center so you can walk to see the shops and restaurants on bahnhofstrasse which is the main shopping centers street in Zurich and if you keep straight walking on it, you will see a beach or a lake where there are boats and people swimming on the lake, etc. The Grossmunsterplatz which is a major tourist attraction (a church) is nearby.

The hotel is really, really basic. A small room with no air conditioner but it has a small fan on the bedside bed. It has a shower and it does have hot water to the maximum celsius available for you who like hot water :)

Bed pillows are not eng speaking countries pillows size. They are smaller at the hotel and a square type of pillow so if you want standard eng speaking countries pillow, bring your own pillow.

Because there is no carpet on the room's floor and because of the type of the floor, it can get dirty, wet and slippery when you walk out the door of the bathroom after showering. And in the summer, it can get uncomfortable after shower (remember, small rooms, bad floor type in the room and hot air in the room).

There may not be enough place to put your baggage in the room as it is very small. There is a small round type of chair in the room and not even a straight square desk in the room which is actually an extended part of the window (?)

Many clubs and backpackers accommodation and strip clubs around in the area. Also many bars and minority people there so it does get loud and crowded at nights esp. on weekend nights. up to until 4 am when it suddenly gets silent. But if you really shut down the windows, you will hear almost none. So noise isn't a problem. The hotel does not have many staff and it does have only 30 - 35 rooms. Avoid the rooms on level 5 (there are only 3 of them) because the stairs from Level 4 to Level 5 is not safe and half of them has no holders for hands and and half way of it, the ceiling is too short so you have to duck your head and still lift your bags because there is no lift that goes to level 5 (lifts go to level 4 maximum). So imagine, no stairs holders, low ceiling, heavy bags. Avoid Level 5.

Breakfast: 12 Francs for non meat buffet breakfast and if you want meat, 20 Francs.

in Vienna for paying the same amount of money to stay at this hotel, you'd get a 4 star hotel because Austria is cheap but here you get a basically a motel. This hotel to my experience is a motel but it's ok if you are on a tight budget. I don't know if the room is big enough for 2 people in it. I've been to 15 countries worldwide so I am used to differences that hotels and countries and rooms have and I enjoy them but if you are the type of person who wants all the comforts at home, then don't stay here. But be aware that "average" hotels in the city maybe something like at least 250 francs a night. Yes, Zurich like Oslo is one of most expensive cities in Europe.

Things are unbeliavably expensive in Zurich. Even supermarket foods. a hot dog (bratwurst) just the sausage with no bread from a street stall costs 7.50 Francs which is about 8 Dollars. That's unbelivably. 100 grams of cooked fries at supermarkets (yes, major supermarkets sell cooked meals too and it can get EXTREMELY crowded during evening peak time and you won't be able to walk comfortably in the supermarket) were 2 Francs. So if you want 300 grams of fries which is little, it would cost you 6 Francs. Even a 1.5 liter of natural water at the supermarkets (supermarket brand ones) cost me around 3.50 francs a bottle whereas in Berlin, it cost me only 20 cents at Aldi (because Berlin is much cheaper than Zurich).

So you will need a lot of money, a map for your first trip to the hotel from the station because the street signs may not be displayed the same way it is displayed in Eng speaking countries. You would get lost without a PROPER map.

There is a small minor supermarket right across the street and many restaurants too.

Use the airport train to go to the central station and from there walk to the hotel (15 mins IF you know the way already).

You get friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Nice distinctive building. The staff are friendly. The hotel is very basic but clean enough and within walking distance of the station and the city. The hotel can be quite noisy because it's in a rather shabby area with lots of loud night life.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

If you are into bars, clubs and Zurich's night-life, then this is a good place to stay. It is not the cleanest one, not the one which you could super enjoy staying in. It is very atmospheric and it has a great location. I think that this is one of the cheapest hotels in Zurich - don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartosz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Seems like everything in Zurich is expensive and to find Hotel Rothaus at a reasonable price, makes a trip to Zurich more manageable for the budget travelers. My recent travels in the Swiss, Austrian, and Italian Alps led me to this hotel, as I was on a budget and didn't want to break my bank. Hotel Rothaus is fairly inexpensive for a hotel in Zurich, but it's still pricey when comparing it to my other hotels in Innsbruck and Bozen/Bolzano. The hotel is situated near the Zürich Hauptbahnhof HB (main railway station) and the city center. It is very easy to get around for sight-seeing and traveling in/out of the city. Also, want to mention that Hotel Rothaus is close to the lively entertainment district. Be aware of this, as it may be too noisy and busy for families with young children. The hotel is nicely designed and the rooms are spacious. Almost forgot about the breakfast. The breakfast is really delicious, especially if you like fresh fruits and dried fruits. Come to think of it, the breakfast area was also where I met Bryan Nelson from Whisker Wars on the Independent Film Channel IFC. He was traveling through the Alps with his family and we had a jolly good time discussing our travels. Plain and simple Hotel Rothaus is the way to go if staying in the capital city of Zurich.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matteo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I found it on Trivago, totally by accident. A very important reason for me was the attractive price and the location - very close to Zurich Main Railway Station. It means the transportation to and from the Airport is very easy and the train connections to the countryside are by hand. I was told by receptionist, hotel is operating in this brick old fashion house just 6 years. Before it was a red light meeting place. Now the rooms, corridors and the groundfloor restaurant are renovated. The bed cloths are fresh and settle , rooms are not to spacy ( but enough) , similar to 2 star Ibis rooms, the bathrooms are clean, towels are fresh and really white. You can choose between american breakfast and full breakfast. Every meal, breads, eggs, yoghurts, milk, coffee, tea, juice - everything was freash. One minus - during the nights the area is noisy because of surrounding night bars and 24-hrs open shops. But the atmosphera of the hotel is lovely.. With pleasure i will return here.

Room Tip: 4. floor is not so noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrzej R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

10 mins slow walk from Zurich HB train station, rooms spacious (we stayed in a triple room), toilet decent, lift available, breakfast quite good, staff very helpful, decent bar, wifi available, lots of eateries around and heart of Zurich is quite close. Value for money

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bodhi197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Booked one night as good reviews and close to main station. Due to extensive roadworks around this area it was a little difficult dragging cases for the 10 minute walk. However learned the 31 bus goes right by the door so thereafter used it.

Arrived early - no availability for early checkin - left bags - enjoyed a good coffee before venturing out for the day. Upon checking in staff friendly and efficient. Due to older building with added lift go to floor above and walk down stairs. Just one of those quirky things. The room was very large but sparsely furnished. Just a few hooks for hanging, bedside shelf and counter - plenty of room to put baggage on floor. Bathroom quite tiny though - not much room at all. No added extras but I was able to borrow a hair dryer.

With window open lots of fresh air and street sounds - we closed it to sleep - double glazing meant minimal noise = good sleep. Large comfortable bed. Really clean room.

We had the breakfast with small choice of good food - cereal with yoghurt, cold meat and cheese, great breads, juice and good coffee. Good value and service with a smile.

Yes the area is bustling with activity and it is interesting to stand outside and take in the atmosphere. I did not feel unsafe.

So my opinion is that I had a good experience - it is a budget hotel which is clean with good service. However it is quite a distance to the old town and main tourist area but if you are fit it is walkable or you can use public bus / tram easily.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Granny-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
St. Georges
#84 of 137 in Zurich
117 reviews
Langstrasse
easyHotel Zurich
easyHotel Zurich
#118 of 137 in Zurich
423 reviews
Gewerbeschule
X-TRA Hotel
X-TRA Hotel
#122 of 137 in Zurich
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#89 of 137 in Zurich
97 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 137 in Zurich
1,014 reviews
Olympia Hotel
#126 of 137 in Zurich
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rothaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rothaus

Address: Sihlhallenstrasse 1, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: £94 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rothaus 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location and personal serviceThis island in the lively Langstrasse district of town offers open and personal service, thus ensuring the comfort and wellbeing of guests.A warm welcomeCentrally located and easy to reach - this is the ideal place to socialize, make contacts and discover urban Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rothaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothaus Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing