We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for a price..”
Review of Hotel Rothaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rothaus
Ranked #125 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Heidelberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good value for a price..”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Clean warm nice design good location very good service..only one thing a TV was not working and no fridge in room..
room fo two person was clean and nice heating and hot water .. people at reception are very friendly .. we enjoy it

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aakkerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    61
    58
    20
    11
See reviews for
14
46
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I am right now at rothaus hotel, midnight and there is a concert in a bar just below. I have a headache and I am nervous. The neighbourhood is normally noisy, maybe have relation with the fact that in the next corner there is a porn cinema? well, that's not the important, but the noise is really annoying

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piti_Peo_Pan_Con_Peo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zurich hotels

Weston-Super-Mare
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Having stayed at the Rothaus recently I have to say that I thouroughly enjoyed the experience. Depending on your particular viewpoint the location can either be described as an area to completely avoid or vibrant and interesting, I prefer the latter. Yes there are weirdos, drug addicts, alchoholics and prostitutes however that's what gives the area it's distinctive character. If you want a nice safe sterile environment that keeps you in a nice protective bubble protected from lifes reality then this certainly isn't the hotel (area) for you but if you are looking for unofficial street entertainment that comes at no charge then it is.

On arrival I had a slight problem with my booking but it was dealt with swiftly and to my satisfaction by the receptionist. I also had a problem with my room safe which was completely my fault and they responded immediately. The room was large, clean and the bed very comfortable and the staff I came in contact with friendly and willing to help.

This is not an area for families with young children but if you have impressionable teenagers it would probably do them a benefit for them to see the reality of drug and alchoholic abuse to the extent that they would probably take carrot juice to all future house parties!

Myself, I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellight9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rothaus for 2 nights on a recent trip to Switzerland. We stayed in a double room on the 4th floor which was spacious, comfortable and a good base from which to explore Zurich. The room decor was a little minimalist and the bathroom quite small but everything was clean and functional. The free in-room wifi was good though a little inconsistent (kept dropping out). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location convenient - the hotel is close to the central station, the famous Bahnhofstrasse and Zurich's old town. Just be aware, as other reviewers have pointed out, that this hotel is in the "red light district". There are a few strip clubs and seedy bars in the neighbourhood, as well as a few questionable characters. Nothing too alarming but perhaps not the best neighbourhood if you have young children travelling with you. Overall we would still recommend Hotel Rothaus however, especially if you are looking for a well priced, centrally located and functional place to stay whilst in Zurich.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneAndRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A very nice hotel, only 5 minute walk to the centre where there is such a lovely choice of restaurants. Off to Mt Pilatus in the morning so further reviews to follow. Had some lovely walks today which included the Tour Bus.

Room Tip: Now swimming pool here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnboyM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Hallo,

If you are on a tight budget, this hotel is for you as it is only about 15 mins walk to the central station and once you are at the central station, it is the city center so you can walk to see the shops and restaurants on bahnhofstrasse which is the main shopping centers street in Zurich and if you keep straight walking on it, you will see a beach or a lake where there are boats and people swimming on the lake, etc. The Grossmunsterplatz which is a major tourist attraction (a church) is nearby.

The hotel is really, really basic. A small room with no air conditioner but it has a small fan on the bedside bed. It has a shower and it does have hot water to the maximum celsius available for you who like hot water :)

Bed pillows are not eng speaking countries pillows size. They are smaller at the hotel and a square type of pillow so if you want standard eng speaking countries pillow, bring your own pillow.

Because there is no carpet on the room's floor and because of the type of the floor, it can get dirty, wet and slippery when you walk out the door of the bathroom after showering. And in the summer, it can get uncomfortable after shower (remember, small rooms, bad floor type in the room and hot air in the room).

There may not be enough place to put your baggage in the room as it is very small. There is a small round type of chair in the room and not even a straight square desk in the room which is actually an extended part of the window (?)

Many clubs and backpackers accommodation and strip clubs around in the area. Also many bars and minority people there so it does get loud and crowded at nights esp. on weekend nights. up to until 4 am when it suddenly gets silent. But if you really shut down the windows, you will hear almost none. So noise isn't a problem. The hotel does not have many staff and it does have only 30 - 35 rooms. Avoid the rooms on level 5 (there are only 3 of them) because the stairs from Level 4 to Level 5 is not safe and half of them has no holders for hands and and half way of it, the ceiling is too short so you have to duck your head and still lift your bags because there is no lift that goes to level 5 (lifts go to level 4 maximum). So imagine, no stairs holders, low ceiling, heavy bags. Avoid Level 5.

Breakfast: 12 Francs for non meat buffet breakfast and if you want meat, 20 Francs.

in Vienna for paying the same amount of money to stay at this hotel, you'd get a 4 star hotel because Austria is cheap but here you get a basically a motel. This hotel to my experience is a motel but it's ok if you are on a tight budget. I don't know if the room is big enough for 2 people in it. I've been to 15 countries worldwide so I am used to differences that hotels and countries and rooms have and I enjoy them but if you are the type of person who wants all the comforts at home, then don't stay here. But be aware that "average" hotels in the city maybe something like at least 250 francs a night. Yes, Zurich like Oslo is one of most expensive cities in Europe.

Things are unbeliavably expensive in Zurich. Even supermarket foods. a hot dog (bratwurst) just the sausage with no bread from a street stall costs 7.50 Francs which is about 8 Dollars. That's unbelivably. 100 grams of cooked fries at supermarkets (yes, major supermarkets sell cooked meals too and it can get EXTREMELY crowded during evening peak time and you won't be able to walk comfortably in the supermarket) were 2 Francs. So if you want 300 grams of fries which is little, it would cost you 6 Francs. Even a 1.5 liter of natural water at the supermarkets (supermarket brand ones) cost me around 3.50 francs a bottle whereas in Berlin, it cost me only 20 cents at Aldi (because Berlin is much cheaper than Zurich).

So you will need a lot of money, a map for your first trip to the hotel from the station because the street signs may not be displayed the same way it is displayed in Eng speaking countries. You would get lost without a PROPER map.

There is a small minor supermarket right across the street and many restaurants too.

Use the airport train to go to the central station and from there walk to the hotel (15 mins IF you know the way already).

You get friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Nice distinctive building. The staff are friendly. The hotel is very basic but clean enough and within walking distance of the station and the city. The hotel can be quite noisy because it's in a rather shabby area with lots of loud night life.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
St. Georges
#81 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Langstrasse
easyHotel Zurich
easyHotel Zurich
#113 of 139 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#95 of 139 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gewerbeschule
Walhalla Guest House
Walhalla Guest House
#90 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Gewerbeschule
X-TRA Hotel
X-TRA Hotel
#124 of 139 in Zurich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rothaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rothaus

Property: Hotel Rothaus
Address: Sihlhallenstrasse 1, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rothaus 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location and personal serviceThis island in the lively Langstrasse district of town offers open and personal service, thus ensuring the comfort and wellbeing of guests.A warm welcomeCentrally located and easy to reach - this is the ideal place to socialize, make contacts and discover urban Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rothaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothaus Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing