We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plattenhof Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$232
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$273
US$260
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$350
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$278
US$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Leoneck Swiss Hotel(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Montana(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$233
US$186
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$198
US$181
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$246
US$230
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$440
US$423
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
131
114
47
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
114
47
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuniversity hospitaltram stopold townquiet arealobby bar iscity centrezurich cardswiss passdesign hotelstayed here for nightsroom was clean and comfortabletram systemlocation is excellentthe central train stationbreakfast buffetpleasant stayshort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Plattenhof for one night in October. I really wish we could have spent more time in Zurich and more time at the Hotel Plattenhof. We arrive in Zurich via train and had a little trouble finding the right tram to take to the hotel, but once we located the right tram it was a quick ride to the hotel. To get to the hotel, you just take the Tram 6 toward the Zoo to the Platte stop. The reception area has a very cool bar and when we arrived there was a bongo player giving a concert. The lady that checked us in was also working at the bar and gave us really great recommendations for where to go for dinner. She was super nice and was spot on with her recommendations. I wish I would have gotten her name so I could list it here. She was really great.

The room was clean, quiet and modern. It was one of the most comfortable hotels on our trip. The next morning we had breakfast (which was included). The breakfast was great, and the service in the breakfast area was great. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Dear guest
We thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay at our hotel. We hope that you will return back to Switzerland again and stay at the Hotel Plattenhof. We will forward your feedback to our staff to reward them for their everyday good work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Tria hotel for 2 nights and the location and service was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were within 10 min walking distance to the old town area & bahnhofstrasse shopping area. Hotel rate is decent (for Zurich), & it included breakfast. Our only complaint would be the beds. They lay on the ground (literally), & are not raised from the floor whatsoever. This makes it uncomfortable to get into & off the bed. Other than that, the hotel was good.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriscillaRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave this detailed comment on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Plattenhof Hotel in Zuirch.
It was a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our staff, our services and enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you as well for your feed-back on the low beds. We are aware that they might not be comfortable to every customer. 50% of our rooms are funished with these beds, designed by Molteni from Milan. The other 50% are furnished with "regular" beds.

Guests who do not like "low" beds are kindly asked to place such a request when making their booking.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Peter Sidler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We arrived in Zurich when it was pouring raining and walked from the downtown core to this hotel. We showed up soaking wet and had the pleasure of being offered a glass of iced tea with no pressure to check in. The hotel has a cute bar area where you can sit down and relax and order if food, if you wish.
Once checked in, we were very pleased with our room. It was a great size, comfortable bed, very clean and offered a lot of amenities. There was a complimentary bottle of water to share, a flat screen TV and a beautiful orchid in the room. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free internet and DVDs to watch while you are there.
Its very friendly, clean and cozy. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments following your stay with us, they are very much appreciated! I am sorry to hear that Zurich didn't welcome you with sunshine, however, am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the amenities in your room were appreciated.
All our guests receive a welcome tea upon check-in, free WiFi and free DVD selection are appreciated by all our guests.
We hope to welcome you back soon, hopefully with some more sunshine.
Yours sincerely,
Peter Sidler, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Small hotel, extremely friendly helpful staff, not too far from town, great for the University hospital. Good buffet breakfast. Free Wifi and good bar/restaurant with garden out the front. Fun place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for air con! Not in all rooms..
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Neil,
It was a real pleasure to welcome you to Zurich and the Hotel Plattenhof and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor and for mentioning our helpful staff and our services. We will forward your compliments to everybody!
The entire team is looking forward to welcome you back to the Plattenhof.
Yours sincerely,
Peter Sidler, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

... Nice and stylish (a bit over-decorated sometimes), cozy, small, quiet and yet close to the city and easy to reach with public transport from Zurich-Mainstation ... not superficial and last but not least ... charming, young staff with a true can-do attitude. The one and only place i rest when in zurich ...

Has everything i could possibly look for in a city hotel ...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Inhaber at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comment. We are so happy that you call the Plattenhof Hotel your Home then this is our aim. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews