We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most friendly, helpful staff of of our while Europe trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
EMA House Hotel Suites
Ranked #8 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most friendly, helpful staff of of our while Europe trip.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The staff at Ema House were the most friendly and helpful of our whole 5 week trip to Europe. They have free laundry facilities which was very helpful and organised all our tours. The rooms were very spacious and included ironing equipment and also a microwave. Very happy travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tkpurser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    116
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
209
135
29
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights in a one bedroom apartment. It was much bigger and better appointed than expected. We had an unexpected view of the Limmat River. The bedroom was large, with a big en suite, there was even a separate additional toilet. The lounge room had a lounge, big TV and desk and chairs, and there was a separate dining room and a well appointed kitchen. The location is an easy and pleasurable 20-30 minute walk along the Limmat River into Zurich.
Parking was CHF20 per day, but we did some laundry there, and it was free. Although, you do need your own washing powder. The only down side was that the air conditioning wasn't very effective in the bedroom.
You could live in this apartment.

Room Tip: One bedroom apartment with kitchen is a very comfortable, convenient option for eating in some night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesleyandSteve2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and were very satisfied. It was expensive, but not by Zurich standards!
The room is very spacious, we had a Junior Suite with a couch, 2 chairs, a table with 2 chairs, bed and nice big bat with heated towel bars!
the ladies would bring lunch on a cart each morning and arrange it on our table nicely. We had all morning to munch, The second day we were so tired we did not even hear the doorbell and she came and set up very quietly, the food smell woke us up!
the location was close to the main train station and if we were better at trams could have found the hotel much quicker, they had provided detailed instructions on how to get from the airport. It was a 3 block walk across a bridge to the station and a Starbucks.
My only complaints were the lack of restaurants around - there was a pizza type place about 1/2 block away and it was good, but the hotel itself did not have any service other than the mini bar. No liquor or wine shop either that we saw. The other complaint was the low bed. Very comfortable but hard to get up from for us older folks!
I don't know if we will ever be in Zurich again but we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is actually furnished apartments and the area feels more residential and quiet. Considering that Europe has a reputation for small hotel rooms, you really get an embarrassment of space. We were a family of 4 which made it nice to be together and not have to pay for another room. Our flight arrived at 7am. The hotel held our bags for the day while we waited for our room to be made ready. When we returned, the front desk had upgraded us to a Junior Suite which had an entrance hall, separate bedroom, 2 cots in the living room, desk, dining table and multiple closets with a lovely view of the Limmat River and Zurich. We were blown away by the breakfast that was included and delivered to our room every morning of fresh fruit salad, cheeses, cured meats, croissants, 2 different kinds of rolls, corn flakes, muesli, coffee and milk. WOW! The rooms were a little tired and could use a little TLC, but clean and functional. Everyone we encountered was more than pleasant and accommodating. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend EMA House!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elke2955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the EMA House for a overnight stay in Zurich on the way back to the US from S. Africa. It was very easy to get to from the air port via the train. The surrounding neighborhood is great, very safe and lots of restaurants and shops nearby. The rooms are big and comfortable. They do not have a full time desk staff though like a normal hotel, this is also apartments in the building. But if you can manage on your own without needing to call the front desk you will have a great time here. One thing disappointing was we booked a smoking room, and this hotel has windows and a full sliding door so they can have smoking rooms that do not smell and when we got there they said the rooms were non smoking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdeitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senggigi, Indonesia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was very surprised when we checked in to our 2 bed room apartment; it was very very large, almost the same like mine in Jakarta! As I understand that room size really matters in Europe, and eventhough you booked for apartment in Europe usually you will get only a hotel size for Asian's hotel, so, EMA House really surprised me!
Location is closed from the central station, or you can also use the tram.
The only problem is there is no restaurant nor breakfast either, so you have to prepare everything yourself, which is fine, as they have full kitchen with very modern and safe stove.
Laundry machine is also available in every room, and 2 bedroom apartment has 1 washroom with additional 1 toilet outside. For us, laundry is very important as we traveled around Europe for about 3 weeks, so if I had to pay extra to hotel for these everyday, it will cost a lot.
The interior of the apartment is very modern, big dining table, big sofa and large screen LED TV with special channel for kid; Angry Bird game, that made my son didn't want to leave the hotel!
Wifi is available with additional charge, with only SFr 2 per day per room for max 4 users, which I think is very cheap.
Overall, we all happy to stay in this apartment, as we can stay all in the same room and got the feeling of how the people in Zurich live, which is totally different from the we used to live in Indonesia.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cclombok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs S, Geschäftsführer at EMA House Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello!

Thank you very much for the great feed-back. Even though this recommendateion refers to a a stay at an EMA house Serviced Apartment and not to a stay at EMA house - The Zurich All Suite Hotel, we are of course very happy that you enjoyed your time at one of our properties.
Contrary to stays at EMA house Serviced Apartments, stays at EMA house - The Zurich All Suite Hotel include breakfast, depending on the rate plan choosen by our guests.

Urs Schaerer, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Wow - I was really really impressed how large my room was. It is effectively a full apaertment. This is not a full service hotel per se, but full size apartments with some amenities. There was no breakfast, but the room had a full kitchen.

My one complaint is that the internet access in the room was intermittent. This was an annoying issue for me.

Overall - you can't beat the value for price in Zürich!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yossi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 139 in Zurich
846 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 139 in Zurich
739 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 139 in Zurich
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
200 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 139 in Zurich
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EMA House Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EMA House Hotel Suites

Property: EMA House Hotel Suites
Address: Nordstrasse 1, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Zurich
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#43 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — EMA House Hotel Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers opting for a hotel stay have a choice between a spacious studio-type Junior Suite or a luxurious 1-bedroom Executive Suite. All suites are completely renovated and refurbished with exclusive materials and fittings. Hotel stays are accompanied by our full, first-class Hotel Service, which includes daily maid service, a delicious, freshly prepared breakfast in the room, minibar, free internet and free access to the guest laundry. Guests planning a stay lasting longer than just a day choose our extended stay option. Extended stay packages are available for 1- and 2-bedroom Executive Residential Suites with full amenities. Both types come with a fully equipped kitchen with a private washer/dryer and include our exclusive Apart Service Gold package, with an optional breakfast and daily suite attendance by the maid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your EMA House Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ema House - The Zurich All Hotel
Ema Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing