We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool design but without warmth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Ranked #14 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The design is indeed cool, spacious room, ok amenities, expensive parking and expensive breakfast thats adds to the overnight stay.
The staff is to trendy for the property and not very amicable at all. I was very disappointed by the staff, hardly giving information regarding meals, access to rooms or anything at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sigrún J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
25hoursHotelCompany, Manager at 25hours Hotel Zurich West, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello Sigrún J

Thank you very much for your review.

I am sorry to read that you didn't feel very welcomed by or staff. I will discuss with my front office staff and also check if additional training is needed.

I hope we can welcome you again to show you that we take our customers feedback very seriously.

Best regards

Anita Vogler
General Manager
25hours Hotel Zurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
There are newer reviews for 25hours Hotel Zurich West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

25 Hours Hotel Zurich did not disappoint. The room was spacious, comfortable and stylish. The wifi worked fine in our room. The restaurant was different from the typical hotel restaurant and had great vegetarian options. We did not get the breakfast so I cannot comment on that.

It's easy to get the tram into the city centre and staying a little bit out from the centre gets you a lot more for your money.

Free bike and Mini hire was a bonus. Unfortunately we missed out on taking the Mini out but hopefully we have better luck next time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ohmiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnitaVogler, General Manager at 25hours Hotel Zurich West, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear ohmiso

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. I am happy to read that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and I will forward your compliment regarding our vegetarian dishes to the staff.

It’s great to receive positive feedback for our oriental influenced kitchen, particularly because it isn’t a “typical” hotel restaurant.

Should one of your next trips bring you back to Zurich we would be delighted to welcome you here with us again.

best regards,

Anita Vogler
General Manager
25hours Hotel Zürich West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

this is a hotel suitable for all sort of travellers. it is a bit of distance to the main city, if I get my direction right. but, it is absolutely not an issue if you know how to use their train. train stop is just few walks away from the hotel itself, it is really convenient. within the hotel vicinity, there are convenient store, some food & beverage outlets, pretty basic but good enough if you are too lazy to get into the city center, after all it is not that far away if you take a cab.

front desk staff Jasmine and Anja are really helpful and friendly. the room are very cozy, smell fresh and after all it is a non-smoking hotel. decoration in the room are trendy. I am absolutely happy with my stay here.

breakfast is good but too pricy, not wide spread. but enough to fill your tummy. you must try their lamb dish in the restaurant and it's the best lamb I have ever tasted in Europe. tender and juicy, not overcooked, literally melt in your mouth kinda feeling.

free bike and mini cooper rental if you know your way in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almostnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnitaVogler, General Manager at 25hours Hotel Zurich West, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Kota Kinabalu

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us.

We really appreciate your good review. I am happy to read that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and will forward your compliment to the front office team.

Yes, it's a fact, that we are some stops away from the old city center. But as you have described, a tram station (Toni-Areal) is located next to the hotel and the ride to the center only take a few minutes. We also recommend our guests to explore Zurich West. The district offers so many hot spots: great restaurants and bars, small boutiques, vintage stores, galleries and parks are just a few steps away.

Should one of your next trips bring you back to Zurich we would be delighted to welcome you here with us again.

Warm regards

Anita Vogler
General Manager
25hours Hotel Zurich West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very clean and modern hotel. There is a window between the bathroom that looks out over the bed that is half covered with mirror. Might be a problem for a mom/dad with son/daughter combo. The hotel recognizes this and mentioned they have a fix when I checked in but it wasn't a problem for us. Clerks speak excellent English so check-in was fast and easy and it was raining that day so when we went out we borrowed an umbrella from them - very helpful. Room was ample by European standards with spacious shower. Shower is zero curb so you do get a little water seeping into the bathroom floor. We had a quiet room with a firm bed even though our room overlooked a train route. The train was quiet and never bothered us.

Breakfast was 25 Euro which to us was outrageous. On our first day out we took the #4 downtown to Zurich HB and found a COOP (grocery store) and got a liter of milk and a variety of pastries for 7 Euro - sat in a park behind the COOP and had breakfast on the shore of the Limmat. With a few leftovers we fed the ducks and the swans. Not a bad start to our adventure.

We use public transportation when we travel so access in and around is very important. We took the S16 from Zurich airport (Flughaven) to the Hardebrucke station which takes about 10 minutes. When you ride the S16 there will be a video screen and signs at the station telling you when you get there. Get off and go up to the street level. You will be on a bridge - walk downhill and the first street you come to is Pfingstweidstrasse. Cross the street and turn left (away from the pub on the corner) and go about 1/3 of a mile and it is on the right. If you get lost just ask - people are friendly and helpful. When you are at the hotel you are 300' away from a tram (like an electric bus on rails) where you can go anywhere in the city. I somewhat disagree about getting a Zurich card for 24 Euros/ day. You can get a 24 hour travel ticket for around 8 Euros. The Zurich card gets you free transportation and into most of the museums in town. So if you are going to visit two museums that day then it is worth it. If you only are going to your hotel and then just getting your bearings buy the 24 hour pass. They can be purchase at any tram/train station and at the airport and the electronic ticket machine is in English.

If you exit the hotel and go left and keep going straight there are restaurants in that direction. To the right we could not find much. We encourage you to explore Zurich. It is very expensive by Midwest standards but a beautiful city to explore and enjoy.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator and at least 3 floors up.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ParkTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I want to give 3.5 out of 5 or good for the review as it is better than average but not very good in its price range. I travel to Zurich every two months for business and for the most of time stay in 25 hours. It is trendy, friendly and quite comfortable.

Location: about 8 tram stops (Tram No.4) away from the central train station. It is right next to the tech park, several blocks of office buildings so not very lively neighborhood at all.

Food: They don't provide room service but you can take away food from their restaurant on the ground floor. Food is good quality and delicious. Not cheap but is at par of Zurich living standard. No complimentary bottle water available in the room.

Room: trendy and new with comfortable bed. Nice shower as well. I always ask for a quiet room but find some rooms are close to some central air conditioning machines (I cannot be sure what machines exactly) and even they are facing the quiet side, it is still noisy with some sound like an old air conditioning noise or vetting machine which cannot be switched off. That kept me awake until 3 am and I did check every button in the room to switch everything. But the noise does not take place in all rooms so I will still give it a go next time.

Value for money: quite good but not very good.

I would recommend for business travel but will not recommend for pleasure as it is too big and feel a bit far away from the central Zurich.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrsChiefNiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our first time at a 25 Hours Hotel and it certainly won't be the last.

Pretty much everything about this hotel was excellent: the design, the rooms, the staff, the free wifi, the cleanliness, the quality, the quietness, the functionality, the service, the value-for-money (for Swiss standards).

The location of the hotel is good too even though it is not in the city center. However, it is located in an modern, new, part of the city, which is still being developed, and which appears to become quite trendy. The connection with the city center is also very convenient as one of the tram lines to the city center stops almost right outside the door of the hotel and takes you in less than 15 minutes to or from the center. If you plan to make more than 1 journey by public transport a day, you're best off to get a day (24 hour) pass.

The only thing that could be improved is the pricing of the breakfast. If you book a flexible room rate, then you can add a breakfast for 2 persons for 15 francs per person. However, if you book a cheaper room rate, then the breakfast price is 25 francs per person. It would be better if that was also 15 francs per person.

We would definitely stay here again, and we are already thinking about staying at other 25 Hours Hotels hoping that we will find the same excellence there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peri&rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Started and finished our trip to Switzerland by staying at this hotel. Staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable. Helped with travel to downtown and to the airport. Breakfast buffet was very good. Rooms were "modern" and comfortable. Would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Hotel is in industrial area a bit out from downtown. 10 minutes by tram to center city, 20 minutes t...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noblehouse47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
2,239 reviews
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#20 of 138 in Zurich
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#15 of 138 in Zurich
611 reviews
ibis Zurich City West
#52 of 138 in Zurich
977 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 138 in Zurich
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 25hours Hotel Zurich West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 25hours Hotel Zurich West

Address: Pfingstweidstrasse 102, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Escher Wyss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: £91 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 25hours Hotel Zurich West 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
25hours Hotel Zürich West is the most colourful hotel in the city on the Limmat. Located in the vibrant district 5, designer Alfredo Häberli‘s team has created a relaxed living environment with playful references to the secrets and sights of the city. The Oriental-Mediterranean restaurant NENI offers an eclectic mix of world cuisine in collaboration with trendsetting Austrian restaurateur Haya Molcho. 126 rooms • Mini-bar • Safe • UE Boom Bluetooth speaker • free high-speed wifi throughout the building • iMac workplaces • Kiosk • Free MINI rental • free Schindelhauer bikes • NENI restaurant with summer terrace • Bar • 3 function rooms • Jogging corner • Sauna & Fitness with city view • Car park • Art installations from Alfredo Häberli ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 25hours Hotel Zurich West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing