We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise”
Review of Sweet Basil

Sweet Basil
Ranked #239 of 2,017 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: In Sweet Basil Restaurant we offer healthy, tasty and affordable Thai dishes, centrally located in the heart of Zurich. It is a pleasure to prepare cook and serve our dishes to the customer just like the way we do back home.
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Actually we went there expecting another restaurant, but here it was the new Sweet Basil.
We got there at 9 on a thursday night.
It was full and as there was a booking that did not show up we could get the last table.
Service was very good, the 2 girls where even refilling our glass with wine regularly.
We were the 3 friends, 1 of us vegetarian.
We ordered a vegetarian Som Tam (papaya salad), a curry with pumpkins and chestnuts, vegetarian Pad Thai and a Breast duck with Tamarind sauce.
Positively surprised by the quality of the food and the very kind service. The pumpkin curry was really special.
We ordered a bottle of wine (from Ticino) which was excellent.
Prices are good for the location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susy-1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBZurich, Owner at Sweet Basil, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Dear Susy-1974

Thank you very much for such a positive comment. Our restaurant is very small and normally it quite full on Thursday , Friday and Saturday night, thank for pass by and try out however reservation is recommended to guarantee not to disappointed you in the future.

Very happy that you all like our food , It really mean a lot to us . Also kindly to inform you that in May we will launch our limited menu for Spring-Summer 2013 , Loads of our home made recipe bring us back to main land home of Thailand.

We wish and welcome you all three coming back again soon.
Best Regards
SB team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Finally a Thai in Zurich where you an actually get a spicy meal ! And for my companions, not spicy, as they wanted. Portions are big and tasty, presented very nicely. Menu is not large but has the basics at very reasonable
prices. The place is small and nicely decorated (modern look) in central Zurich. The people who cook/serve are actually Thai and very friendly. I would love it if they would add some lesser known Thai dishes (one gets tired of the usual green/red curry in Zurich!) as they cook so well that these are bound to be good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fourwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBZurich, Owner at Sweet Basil, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Dear Fourwanderers

Thank you very much for your reviews. You just put smiles on our face ;) We all are good friends of Thai , we are very small business which everyone here like our little Thai family in Switzerland.

Glad that you ask for less spicy and please do not hesitate if the level of spicy is too spicy for you , we will more than happy to reduce or even change for you as a new one. In sweet basil we aim our food taste have to be as much as close to back home in Thailand as much as possible and that we hope it will make us remain true to our dish identity.

In the main menu is normally classical as you have mention such as red curry , green curry , yellow curry etc. Have you try our season menu? ,one of the last page in the menu? I would recommend next time have a try our Chestnut stir fried with Thai chilies paste or Pumpkin Massaman curry , I am pretty sure you will love it.

As well in May we will launch our new limited season menu for Spring -Summer 13 , apart from our classical Thai menu we will add some other special dishes for those who like something new , fresh and special as difference than the others classical Thai. We looking forward to welcome you back again in Sweet Basil soon.

Best Regards
SB team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Cool yet warm ;-) design in this new little thai restaurant just off Stauffacher in the heart of Zurich. Very friendly staff, relaxed athmosphere. The food was quite delicious - excellent (swiss!) meat - I had a spicy beef salad which was excellent, albeit moderately spicy. The green curry was delicious, too - creamy and spicy. Portions are generous, the price is moderate (for Zurich). A very welcome thai newcomer in Zurich! -reservation recommended, since it's not very big and very popular at the moment (contrary to some of the grumpy comments here which frankly surprised me).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank veliro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBZurich, Owner at Sweet Basil, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Dear Veliro

Thanks a lot for visit us and a great review you have given to us. What you feel ,it is exactly we wish our customer can feel and sense our warm friendly and relax which they are completely in our culture . I bet you have been to Thailand before right?

Our Thai ingredient mainly are from Thailand specially with dry ingredient and herbs ,in the other hands , we also use many local ingredient all sort of main vegetables to get them fresh and support the local supplier. The meet , beef ,chicken and veal they are 100% coming from Switzerland which extremely high cost however we believe it is our responsibility to Swiss society and economy that we wish to contributing to.

We work really hard in to the price setting , compare and adjust from our market and try our best to reach the value of money as our customer expecting the quality.

Thanks a lot again for your review , we will keep on going to satisfy our customer and we wish to welcoming you back once again to Sweet Basil in the near future.

Best Regards
SB team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Sweet Basil is nice little restaurant with modern decor. We habe been there a friday evening without reservation and lucky to get a table. The service was attentive but the time until the food arrived rather long. Looking at how small the kitchen is it's no surprise. We had papaya and beef salad as starter and seafood pad thai and beef with basil as main. To my oppinion the restaurant tries to serve modern thai food, but lacks authenticity. The taste was good and fresh but the beef used of cheap quality. I had veins in the beef both in the salad as in the stir fry. Compared to other Thai restaurants I would rate the food average. Would we go again? For the place yes, the food not. Keep working on the quality, then we might comsider. The price is average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBZurich, Manager at Sweet Basil, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Dear Rolf S

Thank you so much for your review .since we are new restaurant and with unexpected of high popularity in such a short period of time since we open our restaurant .We are sincerely apologize for the food delivery time is too long as you have mention ,specially those night when we are very full included bar seat. Recently we have been invest in to our new kitchen with much more efficient than before . As well as we hired another waitress to raise our service and care for our customer.

The beef , chicken and veal are from Switzerland and that make us a challenge to keep price average to compare to others . We try our best to deliver our quality of food vs the price. We are also apologize for the veins you have found in our beef since we do hand cut the beef by our own ( sometime we miss cut small veins) . We prefer to cut the beef by our own rather buy them as precut from the butcher ,in that case the precut beef will lost a lot of flavor. The beef we use are freshly deliver and we do not marinated them with MSG or other chemical to soften them as so call fake quality before cook them.

Thanks a lot once again for your review we wish to welcome you back once again to our restaurant with our new kitchen and service.

Best Regards
SB team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I was in the Sweet basil on the 9 Jan , just pass by but was surprise how busy the business of the restaurant is (for the Wednesday night). The food was rather tasty ,my mouth was explode with difference taste from herbs and spices. Had a golden bag and Masaman pumpkin curry which I can not find somewhere else and in total with a glass of red wine and coffee was less than 50 CHF . I found it reasonable price compare to the other Thai restaurant. At the end also fried banana with vanilla ice cream on the house since I have to wait for the table for to be exact 13 minutes, really appreciate since I did not book the table but they still try their best . The feeling inside seem to be rather small basic,simple and easy going in a stylish way.... the noise inside could be more quieter but since really full of customer ,it was understandable....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wansita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Basil also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Sweet Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing