We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ya Ke

Ya Ke
Ranked #484 of 1,872 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“We'll be back....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

As first time visitors to Ya Ke, we weren't disappointed, we'll come back.

A warm welcome awaited us, quite a homely place seating around 30 people and appears to be run by Mr Chef and Mrs Front of House. Ya Ke focuses on the food and a warm welcome, it feels like you're a guest not a just another customer.

The food - Szechuan duck with medium spice was spot on, mixed vegetables and noodles great too, crispy duck (not the über crispy plum sauce and pancake style) was tender and delicious. I'd probably not order the mixed dim sum again, nothing particularly wrong but I sense there are better delights to be found in the soups etc.

Service was just right - efficient, friendly, not obtrusive. Menu with English translation helped me too.

A glass of plum wine on the house left a sweet taste as we departed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Citywurzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    10
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Chinese Meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very good meal - had wonton soup, fish with vegetables and beef with bamboo shoots and mushroom - washed down with a lovely Feldschlossen beer. Service from the old chinese lady was fabulous, menu was in English version and it was great seeing her husband cooking the food fresh at the back.

We made a special effort to visit this restaurant and had no regrets at all. Its a bit out of the way but well worth it. Prices very reasonable for Zurich. Definately go if you have the chance and if you are into home cooked Chinese food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dreas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is probably one of the best Chinese meals I've had in Europe. The meals were delicious. It tastes like him made chinese and the ambience was very homey. You should try this when you're in Zurich. And guess what? The prices were reasonable, compared to the other restaurants in Zurich.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just like back to home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We ordered special taiwanese dishes a week for my sister's birthday. Yesterday, we had it.. Very tasty and service is very good as usual. Even my 8 year old nephew loved it. This is definitely my favorite chinese restaurant. It always make me feel like i am back home. Restaurant might look simple. But hey ! Don't judge a book by its cover. Simply step right and enjoy a nice tasty meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cheryltay69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
248 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Feels like having dinner at home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

At first, I was thinking not to stay but then the family atmosphere just kept me there. It's like if you had a chinese Granny :)
The lady is in the restaurant and the husband is cooking.
It's delicious and freshly made.
Try it.

Helpful?
Thank DMLDML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ya Ke also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Ya Ke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing