We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day use room Zurich Airport”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zurich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zurich Airport Transit Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This "accomodation" (not hotel) is an option when you do not have time to waste on taking either a free shuttle (or worse no shuttle or you have to pay) to a nearby hotel on a short term layover and or you have children you may not want to have to transport around.

This is not a hotel. It is an area in D Terminal of the airport (5 minute walk for us when landing at D Terminat gates) on airside. This means you leave as if to claim baggage and then re enter after passing security.

It is clean and efficient and a small operation. It is modest but has most of what you would want for a short term stay. We took a double room with 2 single beds for myself and 3 young children that was fine for the 6 hours we stayed. I believe all double rooms are on the interior side meaning no windows. The single rooms and triple room(s) have windows looking out to the tarmac. I asked if we could have a window double room to provide additonal entertainment for the kids but was told there were none - whether this was true or not I do not know.

The room had good air conditioning which created a pleasant white noise effect. The temperature setting on the wall had negative and positive numbers on it which meant nothing to someone wishing to change settings. A wall card or sticker would be useful.

The floors of the accomodation are similar to hospital type linoleum so do not think high end. Having said that I would describe the accomodation as pleasant. There was multiple lighting choices in the small room - overhead light, light over mirror, gooseneck light and adjustable dimmer type light in the bed headboard which could be used as mood lighting if you wished as otherwise in this interior room it was pitch black.

Beds were firm and comfortable and the comforter was appreciated. There is a sink in the room together with a hot water kettle and hot chocolate, tea, sugar, chocolates, buscuits to allow you to drink something warm and nibble during your short stay. The water pressure in the sink tap was high and sprayed water around it that I had to clean each time.

The TV was the worst part. Suggestion to ownership - invest in proper 40 inch led and mount them on the wall opposite the beds above the table where as available. A 19 inch computer monitor from Samsung does not cut it. There are really only 2 things one will do in this room - sleep and or watch tv and if tv the current screen is just silly. Please invest in $350 screens for each of the rooms - this is a no brainer.

I look forward to using my own bathroom and shower/tub after a long flight. Here you have to walk around the corner and use a communal shower and washroom (lockable stalls). Not a deal breaker but not as comfortable as having one own's private space. Note to ownership - place rubber bathmats outside each shower as the water pools because there is a half door that does not prevent water from escapcing during showering and it could be a safety hazard as wel.

There are no telephones in the room but there is a button on the table to ? turn off a wake up call from the front desk. I did not use it as I checked the hall clock attached to the ceiling. I assume the front desk buzzes you when your purchased time is up, you press the button and leave. We left at our appointed time without any buzzer so cannot comment further.

The space is drab but utilitarian. Cost me 79 CH for 6 hours. I could have paid the same at a Holidayy Inn or Park Inn perhaps if I could catch a good rate but the problem is that their day rates are all over the place. Holiday Inn would have allowed me to stay 9 - 2 for around the same cost. Park Inn 9 to 3 for the same price. However, I would lose a hour having to take a shuttle back and forth and I would rather rest than wait for a shuttle to arrive. As well, no point in dragging kids around.

Summary - a good solution for the need. I would not stay here overnight as I would have more time to deal with getting there and back and you might be able to take advantage for example of free included breakfasts at Holiday Inn. Both Holiday Inn and Park Inn had free shuttles so that there was no extra cost there. Front desk was pleasent and esponded to my emails as well. I would have expected cost to be somewhat lower for what you actually get but you are paying for location and convenience. Sort of like a dorm room at the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ryk1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Travel is tiring and schedules don't always allow you to make connections fit together perfectly. So often you need to have a lay over, often with an obscenely early flight out in the morning which makes the options harder if you have to be at the airport 2 hours before the flight.
With no direct flights from my UK local airports to Madrid I decided, because I like Swiss Air, to go via Zurich. The price was good and they are a great little airline but the flights both ways were late afternoon and early morning. Going off the airport you are faced with another round of security but Zurich, and other airports, have sorted that by offering accommodation in their Transit area.
Yes you could bunk down in departures or arrivals and get 3 minutes sleep on a less than comfortable chair, and how secure would your bags be if you did sleep. So the answer are the airports two options. On the way out I chose the cheaper (about 40 Euro) 'communal dorm' idea. A couch bed in a partitioned 'cubicle', lockable cupboard for valuables and access to a toilet (or shower for a little extra). Its rough and ready but it fills a budget gap. A bit noisy but functional and you are yards from your departure gate.
On the way back I came through passport control and opted for a single room. Private, lockable and including shower options for about 80 Euro you get not only safety but a comfortable bed with duvet - a sink, towels and a TV. Much better sleep quality and on exit I walked direct to the gate with no more checks to go through.
I have to say it was all part of the adventure of the trip and yes, I would do it again as it takes a lot of the hassle out of lay-overs. Downsides - only that the food options are limited. They close early and are often beyond security but there are card operated vending machines so you wont starve. There are staff on in the accommodation area all night and the doors are secure too.

Room Tip: Advance booking is advised but I had no problem as a walk in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter_Bromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed her since I had an early flight from Zurich airport, and didn't want to get up in the middle of the night and take a taxi to Zurich. It is not a full hotel room, but it provides a comfortable bed for the night and easy access to your gate in the morning. Also hotels around the airport will run you for much more, especially if you travel alone.

Room Tip: Beware that this is the transit zone, behind passport control. They close ~ midnight and reopen at 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan-Hendrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I had to be some 7-8 hours at the Airport, so I took a day room.

It is located in the “D” terminal, which it is in the main terminal (not the “E” extension) but still in the NON Schengen area. The meaning, you don’t have to pass passport control.

The room as small and claustrophobic, including just a bed noting more.
This is definitely poor ever for transit day rooms. I have been to other transit dayrooms such as in Incheon Airport Transit Hotel, and this is the worst and not cheap either.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomad6022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Located in Transfer Area D of Zurich Airport overnight transit passengers can hire rooms for short stays of a few hours or overnight. Staying here means you don’t need to leave the airport or go through Schengen visa check points.

The rooms are very bare and have bed, small TV's and basin but little else. Washing facilities are in shared areas. Expensive shops and cafe in accessible terminal areas generally close up by 10 PM. Traveling business I managed to stay in the Swiss air lounge until around 9 pm when it closed, but even that was due to a friendly hostess.

Receptionists in the room’s area are friendly and they have multi socket electrical adaptors available for issue a small deposit. A real downer is that there is no Wi-Fi in the room’s area. It’s expensive for what you get but that’s Switzerland for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Builder49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Called Day Rooms, the little hotel, if you can even call it that, is a model of bare bone functionality with very plain but clean rooms and separate men's and women's bathrooms down the hall. The $50 for under 3 hours or $70 for under 6 hours will seem steep at first, but if you have just sat in an economy class seat for 8 hours and are doomed to sit in another uncomfortable seat for the next 8 hours, you will pay any price for a few hours on a real bed. Frankly there is no other option if you want to rest during a long layover at Zurich airport. Yes, if you don't need rest and have never seen Zurich, then by all means hop on a train (the station is literally at the airport) and take the 20 minute ride to the city center. The lady who runs the facility is very nice. She even offered to wake us up before our connecting flight. The Day Rooms are well marked throughout the airport, and depending on which terminal you arrive at, you may have to take the transit train to the terminal where the Day Rooms are. But all of this takes less than 20 minutes, and don't worry, you are not going to get lost at Zurich airport. It is not that big.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridianDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Александр К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
1.2 mi away
NH Zurich Airport
NH Zurich Airport
#5 of 10 in Opfikon
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
1.7 mi away
Novotel Zurich Airport Messe
0.9 mi away
Dorint Airport Hotel Zurich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zurich Airport Transit Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zurich Airport Transit Accommodation

Address: Zurich Airport Transit Area, Zurich, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing