We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent Stay at this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Ranked #12 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Old bridge, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Recent Stay at this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for almost 18 years. This is perhaps one of the nicest cleanest hotel in the heart of the city with quality of friendliness and assistance which the hotel staff offers to their guests. The hotel is only 5 minutes conveniently close to Stadelhoff train station which has direct trains from Zurich airport. The breakfast is superb and the hotel is close to the lake and Bellvue Platz, the center of many trams which take you easily every where in around the city. The old zurich town is 5 minutes away for evening strolls and large number of restaurants and clubs. Mr. Zehnder. the proprietor of the hotel is always available for any assistance needed. I strongly recommend this hotel to any one who visits this great city for ambiance, and quality of restful stay.

Room Tip: contact the hotel directly to get their special rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biopharm34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador. We really appreciate that you have been staying in our hotel for almost 18 years and are glad to hear that you book your rooms directly with us. We are delighted that you think our hotel is one of the nicest and cleanest hotels in Zurich and that you like the friendliness and assistance of our staff. We would like to thank you for your comment about our breakfast which includes a variety of local products. It is my pleasure to be available for our guests at any time and I am very glad to hear that you will recommend our hotel to other travellers. We are already looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    124
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
57
128
44
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

It's an older style hotel, right beside the Opera House, a touch further from the lakeside and a few minutes from Zurich Stadelhofen suburban railway station. We found the staff attentive and accommodating from check in to out and the rooms quiet and comfortable, although the curtains don't keep out much light. Try the restaurant out and try their version of Zurcher Geschnetzeltes ... something of a Zurich specialty. The wait staff are energetic and interested, the Hotel Manager may well be about and for an added extra, Maurizio might be on duty: ci siamo divertiti signore.

Room Tip: Book through their website; you're more likely to get their deals than the booking sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilnockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you very much for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador. We thank you to point out to book directly on our website. It is an easy and fast way to book and you will always have the best available rate including special offers. Further on we are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the attentiveness of our employees, that you liked the rooms as well as the location right by the train station Stadelhofen from where it only takes 16 minutes to get to the airport. Besides the “Zürcher Geschnetzeltes” and other local specialties we are also well known for the fish dishes in our Restaurant Opera. We would be delighted to welcome you once back.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
171 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I loved the night I spent here. I was upgraded to a larger room and even though it was on the first floor it was very quiet. The staff was friendly and the hotel was only a 15 minute walk from downtown. There are lots of restaurants nearby and since I didn't want the French food on offer in the hotel restaurant, I went to the vegetarian cafe across the street (called Tidbits or something). This was ideal as it was self service so I didn't have to sit conspicuously for hours on my own waiting for my dinner. I went back for coffee the next morning and it was very empty and quiet. There is a very pleasant park along the river which is also peaceful. The hotel called me a cab and it arrived a bit early and it only took about 15 minutes to the get to the airport. In short, it was a seamless stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newyorkanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for your nice comment about our Hotel Ambassador. It is a pleasure to hear that you loved your stay in our hotel and that you appreciated the upgrade to a larger room. Due to our sound proofed windows it is quiet in all the rooms of our Hotel. Our Restaurant Opera has a French chef but we serve next to French food also a variety of local dishes, for example the “Sliced Veal Zurich Style”, and the cuisine is also well known for its excellent fish dishes. We are looking forward to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Very friendly staff, excellent command of English, spotlessly clean rooms and reasonably priced food and drinks. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to travel to Zurich and stay in a central location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the friendliness of our employees, the cleanliness of the rooms and the value for money for food and drinks. We are already looking forward to your next visit and thank you for recommending our hotel to other travellers.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
164 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

umbrellas provided in the room was a bonus, breakfast ok and a good nights sleep had although the curtains didn't do much. The bathroom was out dated and grey as was the service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for writing this comment. We are glad to hear that you had a good nights sleep, all our beds are equipped with electrically adjustable high quality mattresses. We would like to apologize that you got one of the four not yet renovated bathrooms. Since we are a historical building, each of our rooms is of different shape and size and has a different interior. The bathroom that was in your room is first in line for our next renovation project.

We hope to be able to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We had room 36. The room was clean and modern. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, the linens lovely and crisp. Hotel staff was nice and helped us through an internet connectivity issue.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanillaThunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased to hear that our staff could help you with your internet connectivity issue and that you had a pleasant stay with us. It was great to read that you especially liked our beds as well as the pillows and the linens. We are looking forward to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We love staying at the Ambassador hotel! The location is centrally located, yet is quiet. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are a dream. They provide all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable including a nescafe espresso machine in the room. You get the views of lake Zurich and easy access to the altstadt (old city). Great restaurants nearby and is right across the street from the Opera. I would highly recommend staying here and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Both the single and double rooms are nice depending on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you very much for taking time to write this beautiful comment about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you loved to stay in our Hotel Ambassador. It was especially nice to read that you liked our rooms and our beds which are all equipped with electrically adjustable, high quality Treca mattresses. We would also like to thank you for your comment about our location next to the opera house, the lake and very close to public transportation access. It is a pleasure to hear that you would highly recommend our hotel and we are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Opera Hotel
#48 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#14 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera

Property: Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Address: Falkenstrasse 6, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Family Hotel in Zurich
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#17 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique location in the heart of Zurich, the Hotel Ambassador a L'Opera situated ideally on Lake Zurich has charmed guests for many years. The old town, the world-famous Bahnhofstrasse, the renowned Opera House, and the train station Stadelhofen with direct Airport link within 16 minutes are all just a few steps away. The privately owned boutique hotel in Zurich's Seefeld district is part of the former Uto Castle, which was built in 1898 in the neo-baroque style, and its unique roof terrace offers guests an exclusive retreat with breathtaking views of the Alps and Lake Zurich. The 45 comfortable and very individual hotel rooms, with complimentary WiFi and many other high-quality amenities, make for a memorable and eventful stay in Zurich. The electronically adjustable beds in all the rooms round off the hotel's offering and guarantee guests optimum relaxation coupled with a luxurious and restful night's sleep. The gourmet Restaurant Opera - winner of various awards - is a true haven of culinary delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing