We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emergency Evacuation Procedures Effective”
Review of Park Hyatt Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Zurich
Ranked #9 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2011

On 25 September myself and a group of 10 couples were staying at the Park Hyatt Zurich when a fire occured in the sauna due to an electrical problem. When the evacuation alarms sound in the early hours of the morning you wonder if it's a false alarm. The hotel's staff was quick to proceed to each floor and clear each floor knocking on doors as the voice alarm sounded in each sleeping room in German and English. We exited the hotel by the stairways as the firetrucks arrived with most guests in the hotel robes standing on the street corners as hotel staff efficiently checked off each guest name against a master list ensuring every guest was accounted for.

Approximately two-hours later once the fire deparment had completely extinguished the fire on the mezzanine level (spa) guests on the 4th floor and above were allowed to return to their rooms. Guests on the 3rd floor were asked to wait in the lobby as the fire department cleared the smoke from the mezzanine and 3rd floors and all guest rooms had been checked for air quality.

Guests who remained the following night were provided a complimentary bottle of wine or champagne and a letter from the general manager. My compliments to the hotel for their effective emergency preparedness, and their state-of-the-art fire detection systems. The evacuaction was orderly, the hotel staff reacted calmly and effectively to the situation quickly bringing in additional resources to manage the situation.

Although an unexpected overnight adventure one would never hope to experience during a stay at a hotel, Park Hyatt earns high marks from me and my group for their obvious emergency planning.

DB - Meeting Planner - Houston, TX

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH_Zurich, General Manager at Park Hyatt Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Please let me thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of a rather special incident that took place during your recent stay at Park Hyatt Zurich. Your comments on the website “Tripadvisor” are appreciated and extremely important to us as they allow us to continually monitor and improve our services.

I was delighted to read that, although an unforeseen incident took place, you found such kind words to share your experience. Let me say that we are all very pleased that no-one was hurt during the Emergency Evacuation and that all our guests were taken care of during and after the incident.

In particular, thank you for your very positive comments regarding the emergency preparedness and professional handling of the incident by our employees. It will give me great pleasure to communicate your kind remarks to the entire team.

Feedback such as yours is well received and can only help motivate our employees to continue to offer outstanding service to all guests, and further encourages them to reach new goals and objectives. As we all know, a little bit of recognition goes a long way and, more than anything, recognises the good work that they do, no matter what the situation!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Zurich in the near future.

Kurt Straub
General Manager
Park Hyatt Zurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

Great location. Loved getting coffee or tea delivered each morning
They were also cordial on sending up a electric tea pot and neccessary material for afternoon tea.
Looking forward to going again,

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This hotel is beautiful and I wished if i book there
But room rates compared to the original size and possibility available let me not to book there .

The lobby is very nice, comfortable and luxurious
Outside the restaurant is also very beautiful

the Spa:
I've book Feacheal and Massage
Service was excellent but the place was not luxurious compared to the prices
There are no separate rooms for dressing just a separate lady area with locker and washing area .

hope they look again to there prices as other hotel .

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank QATAR2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH_Zurich, General Manager at Park Hyatt Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us abour your experience during your recent stay at Park Hyatt Zurich.

I was delighted to read that your expectations of our facilities were, for the most part, exceeded.

We have also taken note of your comment regarding the room rates. Nevertheless, we hope that we will have the chance to welcome you as our guest at Park Hyatt Zurich soon. Regarding your comment about the SPA dressing rooms, please rest assured that we will review our facilities and assess what improvements we can make in the future.

Your feedback is appreciated and taken very seriously as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to each of our guests.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at Park Hyatt Zurich in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kurt Straub
General Manager
Park Hyatt Zurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The hotel is located just minutes away from the Bahnhofstrasse, the shopping mecca of Zurich, and literally blocks away from the beautiful Limmat river. The decor is monochromatic tonal pastels .Very mininalist! The biggest surprise however, was the sublime toiletries from Blaise Mautin (my personal favorite). Be warned, this hotel is VERY pricey!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panicale63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH_Zurich, General Manager at Park Hyatt Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your recent stay at Park Hyatt Zurich.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed staying at our hotel, particularly mentioning our toiletries, which were created exclusively for Park Hyatt Zurich by Blaise Mautin. We were delighted to learn that our products are appreciated.

Feedback such as yours is always well received and can only help to further motivate us to continue to offer outstanding service to all our guests.

Thank you once again for your kind words and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Zurich in the near future.

Kurt Straub
General Manager
Park Hyatt Zurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Being at a Park Hyatt I expect greatness...and the thing is I normally get it. I debated between a 3 and a 4 rating and I will give it a 4 because it really was a pleasant stay. However, see below for the one thing that just did not meet the standards of a Park Hyatt.

*Check in was fast and efficient. The room itself was a nice size....great view of the city below. Good sized bathroom, comfortable bed and a solid internet connection.
*Great central location. It was a short walk to local shopping, the waterfront and restaurants.
*Breakfast in the restaurant was quite good. Nice selection of hot and cold food and was a great start to my day.
*Dinner that evening in the restaurant was also quite good. We went down right when it opened so it wasn't busy. By the time we were finishing up they were getting quite busy...so if you want great attentive service, go early!

Now, the one thing this Park fails at is the on-site gym. I can't even call it a gym, or even a workout room. There were a few treadmills, one bench, a couple free weights and a pitiful multi-purpose machine. Air circulation was also not that good. There is no reason why this Park cannot measure up to it's counterparts in Melbourne or anywhere else in the world. They are not without the room to expand it. The gym is always a big thing for me and I am sorry, but the Park fails miserably in this area.

All in all, a great stay. I will be back....hopefully they will have addressed the gym/workout situation by then :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff_In_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is a great hotel. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The location was great as the hotel was near the shopping district and a major tram stop. Best of all was the service! After our flight was cancelled, the staff helped us to book a new flight and extend our car rental. The restaurant and breakfast was delicious. A wonderful stay and we are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadianwarmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Thins is a typical business hotel with great service and very helpful staff. Mr. Tassel a concierge is a delight and very informative. This hotel is very expensive even for Switzerland, but worth it if you have the account to match. Lively evening scene in the bar and restaurant with outdoor patio. The only complaint would be the corridors to the rooms, they are stuffy and need fresh air, has the odor of dust from vacuum even though it looks clean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybugSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Baur au Lac
#2 of 137 in Zurich
695 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 137 in Zurich
803 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#3 of 137 in Zurich
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#20 of 137 in Zurich
848 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 137 in Zurich
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Zurich

Address: Beethoven-Strasse 21, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#4 Family Hotel in Zurich
#5 Business Hotel in Zurich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £291 - £639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the shopping mile Bahnhofstrasse, business and financial district as well as Lake Zurich, right in the city centre of Zurich, sits the exclusive Park Hyatt Zurich. The 5 star luxury hotel features a warm ambience, spaciousness, modern architecture and contemporary art. The 138 generously-sized guestrooms and suites offer luxurious comfort and avant-garde communications technology, including high-speed Internet access and flat screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Zurich Hotel
Hyatt Hotel zürich
Hyatt Zurich
zürich Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing