We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
Ranked #55 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice modern place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here after a half-hearted recommendation from travel agent, who convinced us there were very few other options in Zurich. It was at the end of a 5 week trip through Europe and we just wanted somewhere for the last couple of nights. It was pricey, but yeah Zurich has that reputation. A very impressive breakfast was included, which we weren't expecting. The rooms are modern with some nice and clever touches incl the Nespresso machine (bit unusual to find no kettle though) and good sized bath. Location out of main town a bit (near the Zoo) though for this you do get wonderful view. Once we got our heads around their metro system the 15 minute tram ride from anywhere not an issue at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    98
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
36
83
17
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
134 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Zurichberg for one night. We received an upgrade and stayed in a lovely suite in the corner of the hotel overlooking the city and the forest. Very modern interior, comfortable bed, great bathroom. We even had a Nespresso coffee maker in the room - I've never seen that before.

Breakfast buffet was nice, but not overwhelming.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberbob2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

This is a nice hotel but for my room rate of EUR 420 per night (incl. breakfast) I would have expected more. I stayed in the main building. Of course, the lake view is great and the location is conveniently close (short walk) to the street car which takes you straight to the main station and downtown. I liked the design pieces in the room and the bedding was very comfortable. However, with no pictures on the wall it seemed to be very basic. Also the breakfast was average at best and not the selection of cheeses, meats and breads you would expect in a hotel of this price range. A nice touch was the iPad that was available at the reception with free wireless connection.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RestlessinIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

As a guest to provide a training a fine bed and a good shower will do. But for 230 CHF per night you may expect more than my mountain view 9m2 room. Meeting/training facilities at the hotel are decent.
Wrt food: the best part is the breakfast, other meals are nothing special. Especially the plating up of the dishes is outdated and somewhat of a laugh. Staff is helpful and trying their best but my best memories will be of the view which is great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomTravel010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The great aspects first: The Zürichberg offers probably the best and most stunning view of the Zurich Lake and mountains - especially if you are lucky with a room with a view - or on the terrace on a sunny afternoon. The location makes the hotel a good "spot to relax" and enjoy the beauty of Switzerland in Zurich. The breakfast is also great. It offers a great variety of fresh choices (Bircher Muesli, several breads, prepared to order eggs etc.) and it also offers a nice view to the hills and mountains. The evening bar is also nice.
Now the "not so goods": the modern rooms are not everyone's choice and not really cosy - and only very few offer a view. The new rooms have a "spartanic interior design" and all rooms are accessed through one hallway only. The rooms in the old building are in a need of renovation, but the view to the fromt is spectacular (which you need to pay extra for). Another down side might be the remote location, but to be honest - unless you are in an extreme rush - you might enjoy a a short walk to the tram and the tram ride which takes you in 20 minutes to the central station and into the heart of Zurich. This hotel is for people you more look for rural beauty away from hectic Zurich. On sunny days, no other spot rivals the Sorrel's terrace and view.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_A_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
102 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

The hotel is in easy reach from the airport and also about 20 mins from town. The views from their terraces are fabulous. The food is good, as in many places in Zurich. I found the service average at best. Although one gets the attention it doesn't feel that it comes from the heart. the rooms are functional but a bit small. Good enough for an overnight stay and shower, a bit cramped if you want to work or eat anything. There is no gym, but - as long as the weather is nice - you can go for a run in the nice surroundings of the hotel. Breakfast is straightforward with good selection and quality. All with all an OK place, but not something I'd necessarily return to.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel12370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I liked the hotel very much, It's well decorated, clean, great view, good breakfast
A bitt far from the center, but it only means a longer trip on the tram. One thing bothered me. I did not see an air condition in the room (only a heating system). The temperature was around 20C when I stayed there, and it was fine, but if it gets wormer...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bina2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Sorell Hotel Rigiblick
#99 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#8 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
#75 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Sorell Hotel Rex
#38 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Zurichberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Zurichberg

Property: Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
Address: Orellistrasse 21, Zurich 8044, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Fluntern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Zurich
#38 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#44 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#48 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorell Hotel Zurichberg 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, peace, nature and still only 10 minutes from the vibrant city centre? Welcome to the Sorell Hotel Zürichberg, the architectural jewel high above the rooftops of Zurich. The view of Zurich city, the lake and the Alps is one-of-a-kind. The older art nouveau building and the modern, circular annex from the architects Burkhalter and Sumi offer several different room categories for every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorell Hotel Zurichberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing