We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel with some managerial issue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
Ranked #53 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Hotel in a great location, overlooking the lake from the top of a hill, common spaces enjoyable especially during the good season, rooms of decent size and overall well equipped with the highlight in the toileteries of high quality. As a minus to be noted the unconsistent quality of the interaction with the personnel, especially at the reception, it might be worth to re-train with customer focus as main point of attention.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giostro2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurichberg, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking time writing your impression about your stay in our hotel. It helps us to improve our services and to please our guests.

As you mentioned in your review, our hotel is not equipped with AC, but every room is equipped with a fan and the quiet location allowed our guests to keep day and night the windows open.

Once again thank you for your review and best regards from the Zürichberg.

Roger Neuenschwander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Nice service, clean and modern room. The view from hotel is amazing, near zoo and beautiful park. The problems was no AC( room was hot , impossible to sleep). Substandard Internet. Front desk tried to solve Internet problem for us but could not fix it. We stayed one night, cancel rest of our stay and moved to different hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurichberg, Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Guest



Thank you very much for taking time writing your impression about your stay in our hotel. It helps us to improve our services and to please our guests.

As you mentioned in your review, our hotel is not equipped with AC, but every room is equipped with a fan and the quiet location allowed our guests to keep day and night the windows open.

In regard to internet, we are providing the official Swisscom Services free of charge to our hotel guests.

Once again thank you for your review and best regards from the Zürichberg.



Roger Neuenschwander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed for two nights in this hotel near the Zoo in Zurich. The views from the hotel are very beautiful. The room occupied was in the new spiral and was quite dark as it overlooked the forest. The room itself was spacious and well laid out. Unfortunately the hotel doesn't have air conditioning which in the glorious weather at the moment in Zurich was sadly missed. Dined yesterday evening on the terrace which was a lovely experience looking down the lake towards the Alps. Unfortunately the food did not match the view. Main course in parts was cold. Breakfast this morning was excellent sitting on the terrace just taking in the views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel with a view of the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurichberg, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear guest

For the time and effort you have taken to write the review, we would like to thank. We are glad to hear from our guests an honest opinion.
The issues raised, we have disscued with our team to such incidents in the future to avoid.

we are looking forward to welcoming you agin in our Hotel.

All the best to you and best regards
Gabriella Achermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Relatively smooth check-in. Limited parking space despite being promised a reserved space, none was available.

Very clean, modern room with top-notch furniture, TV, bed and Nespresso machine. Very stylish, very classy.

Good restaurant food, except for dessert (which was convenience food...).

Breakfast on the terrace could have been the highlight of our trip. Unfortunately, the two gentlemen serving customers had an attitude, were slow and rude.

When seated, no one came. When I got up to ask for menu they acted annoyed and told me to wait. Once I ordered coffee, it took forever to arrive. Our ordered eggs did not arrive until 25min later - the waiter (who took a cigarette break in between despite the eggs being ready) came, stinking of smoke and bringing us the by then cold eggs. Unprofessional.

My tip for management: your male breakfast staff either need to improve in attitude and training, need to stop smoking whilst working and be faster and more polite. Otherwise, your international customers will not come back (the couple who was next to us also did not get served and they simply left before their omlettes arrived despite the terrace NOT being super busy).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Critical_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurichberg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear guest

For the time and effort you have taken to write the review, we would like to thank. We are glad to hear from our guests an honest opinion.
The issues raised, we have disscued with our team to such incidents in the future to avoid.

we are looking forward to welcoming you agin in our Hotel.

All the best to you and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The Zürichberg hotel is an amazing place. The rooms are very well equipped; everything has been thought of. Sleeping comfort is five star; bar, restaurant and breakfast are outstanding. A gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the old building when possible
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montecristo-no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorell-Zuerichberg, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear guest

It is a great pleasure to read your rating and I have forwarded your words to my team. Thank you for staying with us whilst you are in Zurich.

Thank you for the compliments, it's a great motivation for the whole team.

Your sincerely,

Roger Neuenschwander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed there for a couple of nights on business. I got a nice individual room with the famous views over the lake. Just gorgeous.

Pros: Outstanding location, good overall quality. The best, by far, the more than professional service. , helpful when needed, and with the willingness to give you precise and updated local information with a smile. The little details make you feel at home.

Cons: The bathroom was small, and some refurbishment would not hurt the hotel. The bar could do better. Decent but not extraordinary breakfast.

Tips: You may get inexpensive tram day passes at the front desk, convenient if you want to use the excellent public transportation and interact with real people. It's really easy to reach the main train station from there using the tramway 6. You cannot get lost.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hank_Qu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorell-Zuerichberg, Guest Relations Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear guest,

we are pleased that you were happy with the service we have delivered. Thank your for your excellent rating.

It is our pleasure to be your 'home away from home'.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Gabriella Achermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I want my fiancee book in this nice hotel for me even a night before we proceed to my new home with his home at Zurich soon, so for those who wish to stay we'll see you there found that this hotel will satisfy all that I need specially the service they offer.

Room Tip: the hotel room I want to experince stay at the corner rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ria118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorell-Zuerichberg, Front Office Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear guest,

we are pleased that you were happy with the service we have delivered. Thank your for your excellent rating.

It is our pleasure to be your 'home away from home'.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Monique Meijerink
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#15 of 138 in Zurich
393 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sorell Hotel Rex
#37 of 138 in Zurich
370 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#7 of 138 in Zurich
1,049 reviews
Hotel Opera Zurich
#47 of 138 in Zurich
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Zurichberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Zurichberg

Address: Orellistrasse 21, Zurich 8044, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Fluntern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Zurich
#37 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#44 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#48 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £160 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorell Hotel Zurichberg 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, peace, nature and still only 10 minutes from the vibrant city centre? Welcome to the Sorell Hotel Zürichberg, the architectural jewel high above the rooftops of Zurich. The view of Zurich city, the lake and the Alps is one-of-a-kind. The older art nouveau building and the modern, circular annex from the architects Burkhalter and Sumi offer several different room categories for every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorell Hotel Zurichberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing