We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic view on Lake Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
Ranked #55 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Scenic view on Lake Zurich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Pros:
- friendly staff
- very clean hotel, not only the room but also the public rooms and garden
- very good breakfast (local products, in particular cheese, available)
- quiet hotel, which means no traffic or other noise
- complimentary free internet
- complimentary bottle of water (and my colleague had in addition a plate a fresh fruits)
Cons:
- nothing

We stayed there for one night; Our Swiss colleagues also recommended to go there for dinner; it is well-know in the Zurich region for its excellent cuisine.

Using public transport, you will be at the Zurich main station within 15 minutes.

We´ll come back :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmopolit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurichberg, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear guest,

we are pleased that you were happy with the service we have delivered. Thank your for your excellent rating.

It is our pleasure to be your 'home away from home'.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Roger Neuenschwander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    98
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
36
83
17
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Good hotel, great view, very quiet at night, great location, but the restaurant staff, the worst, very bad attitude, obvious very poorly managed. The same goes to the front desk staff. Very good size rooms, comfortable beds, but no air conditioned. limited menu and not willing to make any changes, and an average food quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tito W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurichberg, Front Office Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking time writing your impression about your stay in our hotel. It helps us to improve our services and to please our guests.

Once again thank you for your review and best regards from the Zürichberg.

Monique Meijerink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Hotel in a great location, overlooking the lake from the top of a hill, common spaces enjoyable especially during the good season, rooms of decent size and overall well equipped with the highlight in the toileteries of high quality. As a minus to be noted the unconsistent quality of the interaction with the personnel, especially at the reception, it might be worth to re-train with customer focus as main point of attention.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giostro2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurichberg, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking time writing your impression about your stay in our hotel. It helps us to improve our services and to please our guests.

As you mentioned in your review, our hotel is not equipped with AC, but every room is equipped with a fan and the quiet location allowed our guests to keep day and night the windows open.

Once again thank you for your review and best regards from the Zürichberg.

Roger Neuenschwander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Nice service, clean and modern room. The view from hotel is amazing, near zoo and beautiful park. The problems was no AC( room was hot , impossible to sleep). Substandard Internet. Front desk tried to solve Internet problem for us but could not fix it. We stayed one night, cancel rest of our stay and moved to different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurichberg, Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Guest



Thank you very much for taking time writing your impression about your stay in our hotel. It helps us to improve our services and to please our guests.

As you mentioned in your review, our hotel is not equipped with AC, but every room is equipped with a fan and the quiet location allowed our guests to keep day and night the windows open.

In regard to internet, we are providing the official Swisscom Services free of charge to our hotel guests.

Once again thank you for your review and best regards from the Zürichberg.



Roger Neuenschwander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed for two nights in this hotel near the Zoo in Zurich. The views from the hotel are very beautiful. The room occupied was in the new spiral and was quite dark as it overlooked the forest. The room itself was spacious and well laid out. Unfortunately the hotel doesn't have air conditioning which in the glorious weather at the moment in Zurich was sadly missed. Dined yesterday evening on the terrace which was a lovely experience looking down the lake towards the Alps. Unfortunately the food did not match the view. Main course in parts was cold. Breakfast this morning was excellent sitting on the terrace just taking in the views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurichberg, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear guest

For the time and effort you have taken to write the review, we would like to thank. We are glad to hear from our guests an honest opinion.
The issues raised, we have disscued with our team to such incidents in the future to avoid.

we are looking forward to welcoming you agin in our Hotel.

All the best to you and best regards
Gabriella Achermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Relatively smooth check-in. Limited parking space despite being promised a reserved space, none was available.

Very clean, modern room with top-notch furniture, TV, bed and Nespresso machine. Very stylish, very classy.

Good restaurant food, except for dessert (which was convenience food...).

Breakfast on the terrace could have been the highlight of our trip. Unfortunately, the two gentlemen serving customers had an attitude, were slow and rude.

When seated, no one came. When I got up to ask for menu they acted annoyed and told me to wait. Once I ordered coffee, it took forever to arrive. Our ordered eggs did not arrive until 25min later - the waiter (who took a cigarette break in between despite the eggs being ready) came, stinking of smoke and bringing us the by then cold eggs. Unprofessional.

My tip for management: your male breakfast staff either need to improve in attitude and training, need to stop smoking whilst working and be faster and more polite. Otherwise, your international customers will not come back (the couple who was next to us also did not get served and they simply left before their omlettes arrived despite the terrace NOT being super busy).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Critical_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurichberg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear guest

For the time and effort you have taken to write the review, we would like to thank. We are glad to hear from our guests an honest opinion.
The issues raised, we have disscued with our team to such incidents in the future to avoid.

we are looking forward to welcoming you agin in our Hotel.

All the best to you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

The Zürichberg hotel is an amazing place. The rooms are very well equipped; everything has been thought of. Sleeping comfort is five star; bar, restaurant and breakfast are outstanding. A gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the old building when possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montecristo-no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorell-Zuerichberg, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear guest

It is a great pleasure to read your rating and I have forwarded your words to my team. Thank you for staying with us whilst you are in Zurich.

Thank you for the compliments, it's a great motivation for the whole team.

Your sincerely,

Roger Neuenschwander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Sorell Hotel Rigiblick
#99 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#8 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
#75 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Sorell Hotel Rex
#38 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Zurichberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Zurichberg

Property: Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
Address: Orellistrasse 21, Zurich 8044, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Fluntern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Zurich
#38 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#44 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#48 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorell Hotel Zurichberg 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, peace, nature and still only 10 minutes from the vibrant city centre? Welcome to the Sorell Hotel Zürichberg, the architectural jewel high above the rooftops of Zurich. The view of Zurich city, the lake and the Alps is one-of-a-kind. The older art nouveau building and the modern, circular annex from the architects Burkhalter and Sumi offer several different room categories for every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorell Hotel Zurichberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing