We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Olympia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olympia Hotel
Ranked #114 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel is well placed for access to public transport but is not really walking distance to the city centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable. The price was reasonable by Swiss standards, but the rate did not include breakfast. I could not eat enough to justify paying the extra for breakfast, but there is a Co-op supermarket almost opposite the hotel and I got what I wanted for breakfast from there at a fraction of the price payable at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    71
    67
    30
    8
See reviews for
32
61
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent one night in Zurich on our way back to Germany and found it as a reasonable price as it can be in Switzerland. Stayed in the junior suite which was nice size and clean. Location was not really close to anywhere but next to tram station which takes ~15min to get you main station (tram #3) or lake (tram#2). Also one super market and some restaurants are close by which is convenient. However, we happened to be there on a really hot 30*C June afternoon and the room was burning hot on topmost 5th floor. There is no air conditioning in the hotel which is not very uncommon for European hotels, however, when we asked for a fan the lady at front desk rudely responded that they have none and there is nothing she can help with. Opening windows helped in the evening but it was still blowing hot air during the afternoon and too noisy the whole night and none of us could sleep at all. Windows don't have the option to tilt from the top which means you either leave them wide open or closed. And also when left wide open, windows would easily move and bang against the wall or shut when it got windy in the evening. Front desk staff was really snobbish and did not want to be bothered with any complaints or advise on things to do. Upon check out we told the guy about our experience and the need of fans in the room, he arrogantly responded that they have fans and we should have asked. We would never stay again.

Room Tip: Don't stay there during summers. Winters would probably be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSehgal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zurich hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Below decent because of the lack of free internet (this is 2014!), general bad insulation between rooms (you'll never feel alone), and from outside (tram line and busy road), and average cleanliness. Also you'll be treated to the sound of pipes in the wall, which in my case went on all night. Feels like being transported back to the 70s. Relaxing sleep this was not. I've had better nights in youth hostels.
I'll give it a 2 for the free sweets at reception and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeeVeeSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel is about a 10 minute tram ride from the city center and in an area where there really isn't much to do. The hotel hosts quite a few small rooms, however upon my arrival, I was upgraded to a suite...room #209. The suite was lovely...but not the norm. It had a large king sized bed with 2 additional cots and 2 small loveseat sofas. There was a large tv and desk as well as an armoire that had a lock. The bathroom had a wall of mirrors with 2 sinks and a generous tub/shower. In addition, there was a small fridge and sink just around the corner from the bathroom.

Room Tip: Most every other room in the hotel is rather small, if you plan to stay look to book the suite, room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Hotel is near stations for tram 2 and 3 so it is easy to go anywhere from there.
The sound isolation is pretty bad and if you have a loud neighbor, you will not get lots of sleep.
Breakfast is OK, but staying more than a few days it gets repetitive.
It is probably the best value for money in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Rooms with backyard view are more.quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blazeiliev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Thank you very much for another great service

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and confortable and the price very reasonable.

Only 10 minutes by tram from Location to the City Center.

See you at the and of the week again.

Room Tip: to the back side (very quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanthi, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I had to stay in this hotel for a night, and leave early in the morning. When i arrived, the night recepsionist made me fill out more papers than a public service, at every question i had, he hadn't a suficient answer! The WiFi internet is on extra charge, like everything!!! and the worst!! i had to pay him at my arrival, and to collect the bill at the morning, but the morning recepsionist had no idea that i already payed!!! and i had to argue with him for about 30 minuts before leaving!!

Room Tip: chose a room in an other hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theocharis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
St. Georges
#80 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Langstrasse
easyHotel Zurich
easyHotel Zurich
#112 of 138 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#98 of 138 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Guest's House
#101 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#48 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Hotel

Property: Olympia Hotel
Address: Badenerstrasse 324, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Garni in central Location. Within easy and comfortable reach of both the airport and the railway Station, either by public or private Transport. Own parking and garage spaces. All rooms contains bathroom/wc or shower/wc, direct dial telephone, flat screen Sat TV, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Olympia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing