We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Zurich North
Ranked #37 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have had the opportunity to stay in this hotel several time when I have visited Oerlikon for business. The hotel staff have always been very cheerful and welcoming, the rooms that I have stayed in have always been of a very good standard. The breakfast is good especially if you like continental style, the full breakfast is American style and not an English or Irish fry up.

To get from the airport is very simple you just get the train, I tended to hope that the ticket kiosk would be open so that I could ask for the correct ticket, the ticket machines can be confusing when trying to figure out which zone you are going to. Though on my last trip my work colleague told me about the SBB ticket App which I have installed, it is brilliantly simple and you get your ticket directly to your mobile device which can be scanned by the conductor on the train.

This is a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Nice hotel, large room, WiFi in room with charge, far away from center, parking fees, near the airport, poor breakfast, so of you will stay for one day, this is a good hotel for you, no need for a car in Zurich

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Nasser A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nice,clean hotel 6min from zurich center by train, but should make effort on food as the menu is very limited , service is perfect and people working there are professional and kind as Simone in the front desk....

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This Courtyard is very typical of the chain, with an excellent, helpful, friendly multinational staff. Rooms are normal for the Marriott brand, clean, modern well-lit but rather uninteresting. The hotel is close to the Oerlikon train station, only 2 very quick stops to the HBZurich station. I prefer the #11 tram, a scenic half hour ride into the city and then with stops at Bellevue and the Opera House. In-house MAX restaurant good for a meal and a great breakfast buffet. Directly across the street is a large COOP grocery store, for those on a budget as restaurants in Switzerland are really pricey compared to the US and most of Western Europe. The North Zurich area is very up-and-coming and is closest to the airport for flight connections.

Room Tip: Inside "courtyard" rooms quieter than street side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the night before our flight back to the States. It is about a 15 minute drive to the airport, which was great. The hotel and the rooms are modern and clean. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. Our room was on the 5th floor facing the main street, but we really were not bothered by street noise. There is a Coop grocery store directly across the street, an Aldi grocery store, a Starbucks and a Chinese restaurant within the same block of the hotel. The parking fee is outrageously expensive, 36 Swiss Francs a day. The a/c did not keep the room cool at all and if we had not had a fan, we would have had a miserable night's sleep. Our room was a handicap room, which was fine except it made showering for my husband very difficult. The bathtub had a hand shower, but no shower curtain. There is a curtain for a chair shower next to the toilet, but the water runs all over the bathroom floor. I understand and appreciate the need for this room, but how hard could it be to just provide a shower curtain for the tub also. There are also shutters on the window, which we had no control of whether they were opened or completely shut. I guess they are automated. The night we checked in the blind-like shutters were opened enough to see out. The next morning, completely shut, no light at all, couldn't see a thing outside....didn't like it. I'm sure it helps the noise level and there may be some way to control it that we were not aware of. It is a basic Courtyard with some nice features but with the a/c not cooling properly and the awkward to use bathroom, we would probably try another hotel next time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lv2trvl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have stayed here a few times, but decided not to going forward.
The hotel is your average hotel, but still very expensive for a Courtyard type.
Food/restaurant is very expensive and the food is not that special. Waiters are usually below standard in their attentiveness.
Reception staff is very automatic and does not seem to care about you as customer.
Location close to a main train station is good.
large streets just outside the rooms makes it noisy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great hotel - 4 minutes from the airport by train and another few minutes walk to the hotel. The train stops at Oerkilon station. Follow signs for the 75 bus, when you get to the bus stop keep walking forward and the hotel is in front of you. Located next to coffee shops and cafes (including Starbucks).

Free wifi in the lobby.

Rooms are nice, adequately sized (we had a 2 queen beds) and very comfy. Bathroom is ok (average size) and clean.

We didn't have breakfast but went nearby or in town instead.

The centre of Zurich is 7 mins by train from Oerlikon station. Very convenient. There are also bus and trams nearby but we didn't use them.

Would stay here again, stay were helpful too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Swissotel Zurich
#35 of 137 in Zurich
2,263 reviews
Holiday Inn Zurich Messe
#71 of 137 in Zurich
490 reviews
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#34 of 137 in Zurich
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coronado Hotel
#22 of 137 in Zurich
427 reviews
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#23 of 137 in Zurich
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Zurich North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Zurich North

Address: Max-Bill-Platz 19, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Oerlikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#33 Family Hotel in Zurich
#38 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#60 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £76 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Zurich North 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The international chain hotel Courtyard by Marriott Zurich North is conveniently located 10 minutes from Zurich Airport, 7 minutes from Zurich downtown and just a 3-minute walk from Zurich Oerlikon station. Many companies, Hallenstadion and the fairground are within walking distance. Whether you are traveling to Zurich on business or for leisure, the hotel offers the perfect accommodation with 152 spacious and comfortable hotel rooms and free Essential Internet to all of our guests. With 590 sqm of meeting- and conference space and the latest event-technology, the Zurich hotel provides ideal requirements for successful seminars, banquets, meetings and social events in Zurich. The business center and the fully equipped gym are at your disposal and the 24/7 Grab'n Go Market offers a variety of food and beverages. The BISTRO offers freshly made international and regional classics as well as delicious snacks and drinks and invites guests to meet and linger throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Zurich North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Zurich Nord Hotel
Courtyard Hotel zürich
Courtyard Hotel Zurich Nord
Courtyard Zurich
zürich Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing