We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All rooms on 4th floor have bad sewers smell for a room at 318chf/night for 3 nights ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fleming's Hotel Zurich
Ranked #51 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Flemings hotel chain is generally very good, but no so the one in Zurich. All rooms on the 4th floor wich all have bad unpleasant smell during the entire 3 night stay coming from the sewers. Bad smell is worst in the toilet room but spreads in entire room. Opening the windows all night makes your night noisy due to street traffic during the night. The breakfast area is so small with few seats and very small buffet such that its better to go early enough. At a price of chf 318/night for 3 nights for b&b there are much better choices elsewhere. My other 8 colleagues and I are disappointed and won't plan to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LarryLAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Fleming's Hotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Mr. LawrencePluy,
For this rating I`am a little bit disappointed, because we had a long conversation, about the bath smell.
And you trust me to cancel the rating on tripadvisor.
It was the first time we heard about it, and after your stay we changed all cleaners in the bath rooms.
And the first thing we have done was already to move your room and gave a big apologize.
And we are a small design hotel, for this is the breakfast buffet as well as the price in Zürich very fair.
Kind regards

Felix Sommerrock
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed here on business for 1 night. Have to say it was a disappointing experience.
Rooms are ok. Breakfast was very basic with stale bread and eggs the only real option. Main issue for me was the service at the front desk. The front desk are expected to look afer all the nfollowing duties: Check in, check out, bar service, orders for breakfast, phone reception duties. Quite frankly, its a complete joke. It took 40 minutes to check four of us out. Completely unacceptable and I wont be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear IrelandTravelmad,
we are sorry for your disappointed impressions. I can guarantee you this is not our entitlement.
I have to say thank you for your honestly position and we try every to improve it.

Thank You

Felix Sommerrock
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is a very clean, friendly, decent hotel for the money. Zurich is ridiculously expensive. I paid $118 a night for this hotel and found it worth the money. My room was very small. However, it was modern and clean. The bed was comfortable for the most part. The hotel offers free breakfast which is very good especially in light of how expensive food is at restaurants. They offer the usual breakfast food buffet style and also offer made to order eggs and coffee drinks. The location is OK. It is only a block from the tram. The tram is very easy to get around and affordable at 8.60 SFr for a 24 hour pass. This tram will take you to the main bus station in just three stops and the restaurant/bar area in about five stops. That being said, the walk from the tram to the hotel is very dark and deserted. The hotel seems to be in a business area. So, on the weekends, the stores are closed and nobody is walking around. I made sure I did not put myself in a position to walk alone from the tram to the hotel late at night. This meant that I had to be home relatively early and my only option of socializing around the hotel was an Irish pub. The pub is great, but expensive and not very busy. There are also two nightclubs that were crazy busy right next to the hotel on Saturday night. I did not check these out. It would be close to take a cab from the bar area to the hotel, but the taxis are very expensive. It cost me 18 SFr to get from the train station to the hotel which took less than 10 minutes. I would stay here again considering the price versus other hotels. To get to the hotel, take the 6, 7, or 13 tram from the train station to Stockerstrasse stop. Once off, turn left, walk to the end of the platform, which brings you to an intersection, and take a right. The hotel will be on your left a block or so down at an intersection with a fitness store on the corner named XX. Also, I took great day tours. The area to get to the tour departure point is near the bus terminal. If you are facing the terminal, go to the right. Walk down the last platform on the right. You will see signs for Tour Excursions. Follow the signs. You will eventually turn right and see a parking lot with buses across from a Starbucks. There is also a tram stop there named Banhofquai which is the easiest way to get there. I went on the Jungfrau tour which was great and a day tour of the city with a ferry and gondola ride. Both were worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GTINTC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear GTINTC11,
Thank you for your friendly rating for the Fleming`s Hotel Zürich.
The location of the hotel is really ideal for city tours and to work around the city.
However it`s definitely no Problem to walk around the hotel and to the city.
Zürich is one of the safest cities in the World.

Best regards

Felix Sommerrock
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I got what I expected, a stylish, small but tastefully furnished rooms with a courtyard view. The room was mostly quiet three-day visit. Nice hotel, would recommend. Breakfast is not so special, but above average anyway. The staff is friendly.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank Sami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Samy S.
Thank you for your kindly words especially for your praise about the staff.

Kind regards

Felix Sommerrock
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is one of the cheaper options in a very expensive Zurich. I was not expecting a first class hotel for the price I paid, so really, I got what I paid for. The room was clean, but really did not have many nice amenities. The glass shower in the middle of the room is a little sketchy, so if you are traveling with a friend and don't want to shower in front of them, you may not want to stay in this room. The great thing about the hotel is that it is very close to the main touristy downtown area and is a 10-15 minute walk to the main train station along with being close to the trams that go all around town. The location and price is why I chose this place and if you are looking for a fairly cheap option in Zurich close to the touristy downtown area of Zurich, this is a great hotel. I would never take my family or wife to this hotel, it is really just a step up from a hostel, but if you want something centrally located for a good price go for it. Oh, and I was really hesitant to check into the hotel when I was walking toward it the first night with the neon signed store right below it named "XXX", what I didn't realize was that it was a fitness store not an adult store, which makes it much less sketchy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thegerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Thegerk,
Thank you for your good rating about the Fleming`s Hotel.
We are a typical 4* designed hotel in downtown of Zürich.
For this type of hotel we offer lots of additional amenities, like breakfast is including, free Wireless, bath robe, slippers and so far.

Best regards

Felix Sommerrock
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I really wanted to like this hotel. I did. Agree with other reviewers that it's a little weird/ quirky to check in at what appears to be a bar, but reception staff very friendly and efficient. Also very good at breakfast in the morning.

I know that space is a premium in Zurich but rooms are small and while I'm OK with strange set ups, the shower + basin in room wasn't great given lack of space. My main beef is the bed (supposed to be queen size but I assume I was moved?) where the mattress was poor, while the pillow (singular!) was really poor.

Clearly a good location for the centre but I can't recommend despite the excellent staff.

If you get a discounted rate then maybe consider but I paid CHF 316 which is too much for a less than 4 star experience, even taking into account how expensive Zurich is.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KevinBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear KevinBLondon
I wanted to thank you for writing an faithfully comment, special for the friendly words about the staff.
For the next time please ask for an additional Pillow, so our staff will help you 24hours.

Thank you

Felix Sommerrock
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This hotel is centrally located and includes WiFi and breakfast in the price -- a good deal for this very expensive city. The hotel's layout IS strange -- you check in at the bar which is also the breakfast area, then go straight back through what looks like a service door to the elevator/stairs. The rooms are also strangely designed -- the toilet is in an enclosed closet separate from the shower, which has a glass door facing the sleeping area (no privacy), and sink, which is also in the main part of the room outside the shower door. The room has enough space, the beds are okay, and I had no problems with street noise. Walking distance to almost anything. Avoid driving there if possible, since the parking garage the hotel directed me to cost about 40USD/day. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would say good for business or single travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank didank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Didank,
Thank you for your great rating and also the very good description of our design rooms.

Kind regards

Felix Sommerrock
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
0 mi away
Motel One Zurich
Motel One Zurich
#74 of 137 in Zurich
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Gotthard
Hotel St. Gotthard
#28 of 137 in Zurich
1,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rossli
Hotel Rossli
#42 of 137 in Zurich
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Glockenhof
Hotel Glockenhof
#20 of 137 in Zurich
507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Central Plaza Hotel
Central Plaza Hotel
#92 of 137 in Zurich
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Zurich
Hotel City Zurich
#60 of 137 in Zurich
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleming's Hotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Hotel Zurich

Address: Brandschenkestrasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £116 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Hotel Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you go shopping through the designer boutiques along Bahnhofstrasse or take an idyllic stroll along Lake Zurich: both can be easily reached from Fleming's Hotel Zurich which is centrally located in the city centre. And if you’re looking for a short rest before touring the legendary nightlife, you’ll enjoy a break in the comfortable room of our Zurich Hotel or in Fleming’s Brasserie & Wine Bar. What’s more, the delicious breakfast next morning is even included in the room price. Are you looking for that little bit more? Then you’ll be right at home here. Welcome to Fleming’s! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fleming's Hotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing