We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fleming's Hotel Zurich
Ranked #78 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the train station and in a nice quiet area. It was a short walk to shopping, Old Town, and the lake. Our room had a wonderful balcony that we could go out on. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the breakfast had many options.

A great place on the whole, and I would stay again. Three stars because it is a three star hotel, not because of any demerits by the staff or the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwrrkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear wwrrkd
I would like to say thank you for your detailed writing and the faithfully comment, special for the friendly words about the staff.
And you can reach the famous Bahnhof street and the Lake of Zürich within 10minutes.

Thank you

Felix Sommerrock
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

I was walking down the street in Zurich with my bags, when I finally found the Hotel. My first reaction was of disappointment. The building looked old but very clean. Upon entering, the front desk appears to be part of a coffee shop, but then I realized that it also served as the Hotel counter. Very small, there were about 7 high square tables, and the high chairs seemed to be too high. The service from the young lady behind the bar was very friendly and check in was quick. I got a corner room on the third floor. The elevator was the smallest I had ever seen, just enough space to fit one luggage piece and one person. A second luggage piece could be piled on top. The stairs were very large and made of marble. Another odd thing was that the handrail for the spiral stairs was on the center of the spiral so it could not be reached unless you used the section of the steps closer to the center of the spiral, where they were the narrowest.
THE ROOM
Beautiful and fairly spacious. Large windows and a nice balcony. The canopy is very nifty and operated electrically. It does an excellent job of cutting down the heat from the Sun. For an old building, everything inside is very modern. Quiet and efficient air conditioning, great glass enclosed shower. There is a fridge, but no capabilities of making tea or coffee. Hardwood floors. The room was very quiet and very dark at night.
THE PARKING
There is a parking lot a couple of blocks away for about 30 Euros per day. You can also park on the street after 9 pm half a block away, which worked out perfect for me.
THE BREAKFAST
Continental style, takes place right in the entrance. I didn't expect too much but was it ever a pleasant surprise. There was a great variety of things and all very fresh. They kept refilling the buffet with other creative dishes.
THE LOCATION
Very nice, but a little far from the cool areas of downtown, although still within a long walk.

All in all, I was quite pleased with this Hotel. I would go back.

Room Tip: Corner suites have more windows and are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDNchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear CDNchicken,
Thank you for your rating about the Fleming`s Hotel.
We are a typical 4* designed hotel in downtown of Zürich.
For this type of hotel we offer lots of additional amenities, like breakfast is including, free Wireless, bath robe, slippers and so far.
Also we have a 24hours reception, which you will never find in a 3* hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and as I was here on business was fine. The location was fine, close to the city and a short walk to the offices.

The room was comfortable and air conditioned, but the lack of tea and coffee making facilities was disappointing. Breakfast, although simple, was just what was needed.

I would expect more staff to be available on the front desk, as it took half an hour to check four people out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snuggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Suggsy,
Thank you for your description, why it is so comfortable to stay at the Fleming`s Hotel in Zürich.
And I have also to say thank you for your advices to get better, at the moment we are on work to prove where we can put tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Thank You

Felix Sommerrock
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It was a nice boutique hotel with limited variety but tasty breakfast, so i was satisfied in general. The location was really good as it was five minutes walking distance from the old town. Shower is full transparent, OK for couples but could be uncomfortable for family/friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elenpapadim81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear elenpapadim81,
Thank you for your friendly rating for the Fleming`s Hotel Zürich.
The location of the hotel is really ideal for business people and couples to go for city tours or go for a walk around the city.
And our shower is defiantly awesome.

Best regards

Felix Sommerrock
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Flemings hotel chain is generally very good, but no so the one in Zurich. All rooms on the 4th floor wich all have bad unpleasant smell during the entire 3 night stay coming from the sewers. Bad smell is worst in the toilet room but spreads in entire room. Opening the windows all night makes your night noisy due to street traffic during the night. The breakfast area is so small with few seats and very small buffet such that its better to go early enough. At a price of chf 318/night for 3 nights for b&b there are much better choices elsewhere. My other 8 colleagues and I are disappointed and won't plan to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LarryLAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Fleming's Hotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Mr. LawrencePluy,
For this rating I`am a little bit disappointed, because we had a long conversation, about the bath smell.
And you trust me to cancel the rating on tripadvisor.
It was the first time we heard about it, and after your stay we changed all cleaners in the bath rooms.
And the first thing we have done was already to move your room and gave a big apologize.
And we are a small design hotel, for this is the breakfast buffet as well as the price in Zürich very fair.
Kind regards

Felix Sommerrock
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed here on business for 1 night. Have to say it was a disappointing experience.
Rooms are ok. Breakfast was very basic with stale bread and eggs the only real option. Main issue for me was the service at the front desk. The front desk are expected to look afer all the nfollowing duties: Check in, check out, bar service, orders for breakfast, phone reception duties. Quite frankly, its a complete joke. It took 40 minutes to check four of us out. Completely unacceptable and I wont be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear IrelandTravelmad,
we are sorry for your disappointed impressions. I can guarantee you this is not our entitlement.
I have to say thank you for your honestly position and we try every to improve it.

Thank You

Felix Sommerrock
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is a very clean, friendly, decent hotel for the money. Zurich is ridiculously expensive. I paid $118 a night for this hotel and found it worth the money. My room was very small. However, it was modern and clean. The bed was comfortable for the most part. The hotel offers free breakfast which is very good especially in light of how expensive food is at restaurants. They offer the usual breakfast food buffet style and also offer made to order eggs and coffee drinks. The location is OK. It is only a block from the tram. The tram is very easy to get around and affordable at 8.60 SFr for a 24 hour pass. This tram will take you to the main bus station in just three stops and the restaurant/bar area in about five stops. That being said, the walk from the tram to the hotel is very dark and deserted. The hotel seems to be in a business area. So, on the weekends, the stores are closed and nobody is walking around. I made sure I did not put myself in a position to walk alone from the tram to the hotel late at night. This meant that I had to be home relatively early and my only option of socializing around the hotel was an Irish pub. The pub is great, but expensive and not very busy. There are also two nightclubs that were crazy busy right next to the hotel on Saturday night. I did not check these out. It would be close to take a cab from the bar area to the hotel, but the taxis are very expensive. It cost me 18 SFr to get from the train station to the hotel which took less than 10 minutes. I would stay here again considering the price versus other hotels. To get to the hotel, take the 6, 7, or 13 tram from the train station to Stockerstrasse stop. Once off, turn left, walk to the end of the platform, which brings you to an intersection, and take a right. The hotel will be on your left a block or so down at an intersection with a fitness store on the corner named XX. Also, I took great day tours. The area to get to the tour departure point is near the bus terminal. If you are facing the terminal, go to the right. Walk down the last platform on the right. You will see signs for Tour Excursions. Follow the signs. You will eventually turn right and see a parking lot with buses across from a Starbucks. There is also a tram stop there named Banhofquai which is the easiest way to get there. I went on the Jungfrau tour which was great and a day tour of the city with a ferry and gondola ride. Both were worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GTINTC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear GTINTC11,
Thank you for your friendly rating for the Fleming`s Hotel Zürich.
The location of the hotel is really ideal for city tours and to work around the city.
However it`s definitely no Problem to walk around the hotel and to the city.
Zürich is one of the safest cities in the World.

Best regards

Felix Sommerrock
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel
0.0 mi away
Motel One Zurich
Motel One Zurich
#94 of 137 in Zurich
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Gotthard
Hotel St. Gotthard
#29 of 137 in Zurich
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sorell Hotel Seidenhof
Sorell Hotel Seidenhof
#44 of 137 in Zurich
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Zurich
Hotel City Zurich
#62 of 137 in Zurich
240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Opera Zurich
Hotel Opera Zurich
#39 of 137 in Zurich
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleming's Hotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Hotel Zurich

Address: Brandschenkestrasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £132 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Hotel Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you go shopping through the designer boutiques along Bahnhofstrasse or take an idyllic stroll along Lake Zurich: both can be easily reached from Fleming's Hotel Zurich which is centrally located in the city centre. And if you’re looking for a short rest before touring the legendary nightlife, you’ll enjoy a break in the comfortable room of our Zurich Hotel or in Fleming’s Brasserie & Wine Bar. What’s more, the delicious breakfast next morning is even included in the room price. Are you looking for that little bit more? Then you’ll be right at home here. Welcome to Fleming’s! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fleming's Hotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing