We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place visitors to Zürich should consider”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Burgli

Restaurant Burgli
Ranked #110 of 1,893 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$89
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Wollishofen
Description: Over 100 years as a restaurant has allowed Zurich's Buergli to really hone the skill of serving food in gorgeous surroundings. With its historic rooms carefully decked out in glorious technicolour the effect is stunning. With a brave bright 60s orange accompanied by mid century style furniture in the large dining room and a boudoir-ish feel in the smaller, so much thought has clearly gone in to making this a place to excite the senses before you even see the menu. However our pick of seats has to be on the terrace with its absolutely breathtaking views of the lake, the perfect spot at which to marvel at this glorious city and to enjoy food prepared with passion and verve.
Zurich
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The only place visitors to Zürich should consider”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Eating out in Zurich is very expensive, but at least the quality is usually high. Bürgli is the restaurant that offers the best value for money in town. Yes, it's a bit far out of town (Take the number 7 tram south out of town), but the combination of atmosphere, authenticity and great food make this place a winner. Of course, you really only go there to eat the Entrecote Cafe de Paris. Unlimited French Fries!

Make sure you reserve. This place is always busy, even on a rainy Tuesday night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    52
    21
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hidden gem offers very attentive service, an attractive menue and good wine list, beautiful dishes and dependable quality - all this comes at a price in Switzerland. The place is well kept and has an interesting outdoor garden section - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adi_Teu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One word: Entrecôte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Entrecôte is sooooooo good! It comes with all you can eat fries which you can directly put into the delicious entrecôte butter sauce.

I've been three times now and each time the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The menu is very diverse so anyone can find something they will like. It's a nicer place, so it is not an inexpensive meal, but its all well worth the cost. If you visit in the Summer time be sure to try and sit outside. The view of Lake Zurich is incredible. Five stars.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KeyVentures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Rude!

The Burgli is usually a good, reliable restaurant. After my latest visit though I'm not sure if I'll ever go back. The food was ok, but the waiter was incredibly rude and aggressive.

It started off badly and never improved. The waiter (older, slender, short grey and black hair) was very keen on pushing an aperitif of prosecco with some kind of foamy topping. I ordered something else but he brought the prosecco foam drink anyway. When I asked for what I'd ordered, the waiter replied "I didn't HEAR you order that. Now I have to make another drink." Seemed to me he was insinuating this was my fault. Nice...not.

Then a friend, who was interested in the steak but not fries, asked if they could be swapped for something else, such as mash potatoes? The waiter asked, "are mashed potatoes mentioned ANYWHERE on the menu? No they are not!” which was followed by an awkward silence.

Then when I asked for the wine card, the waiter said it's already here (albeit under one of the food menus), repeatedly pressing his finger angrily onto the table. Weird! What a jerk.

We suffered through the entire dinner with irregular harassment from this angry, bizarre character and it was unpleasant.

Would I ever recommend this restaurant again after our poor treatment? Probably not.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Consistent Favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

limited menu of seasonal produce that does not change that frequently. he constant is the excellent cafe de Paris entrecôte steak. Good wine list. Staff friendly by Swiss standards. But the smaller rooms with low ceilings can get very hot and window opening is frowned upon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LordH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Burgli also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Burgli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing