We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe food experience not representative, but horrible service”

Restaurant Au Premier
Ranked #128 of 1,895 Restaurants in Zurich
Cuisines: European, Central European, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Maybe food experience not representative, but horrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We visited this place with some friends during the Smorgasbord event, where they serve Swedish buffet. I believe this is an una-tantum occasion, or a yearly event of sort.
Accordingly, I cannot judge the food they usually serve here, and most of the servings at the buffet were of good quality. The service we experienced was fairly poor: we were attended maybe once, had to wait around 10 minutes in the hall for someone to show up and let us pay and leave (a premium price of 90 CHF for no real reason, but I gave up on that in Zurich) and in general an attitude mostly found in snob french restaurants.
The room we were sitting in was particularly unimpressive, closer to what I'd define a fast food than to a restaurant, but from the pictures and some glimpse of the other rooms it seems this restaurant has more to offer. I surely won't be back to find out though, if anything for the bad feeling that dealing with the staff left me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudioBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    70
    23
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Meet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

When in Zurich on business and need a central place to meet for short conversations, I recommend the lounge at Au Premier. It is in Zurich's main train station, which seems to be the crossroads of all people in the area.

Au Primier's lounge is small, comfortable, and reasonably quiet. A good wine list is always helpful, as is friendly and attentive service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good for business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

My prefered restaurant in zurich, as it is just in the train station. I like the modern design in the arcades of the train station. Even when its full house, the noise level remains supportable. Friendly service, attractive/original seasonal food, a bit pricey but otherwise very good

Helpful?
Thank swissguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“it's ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

it is ok to eat there and it is very central. but it is quite expensice for the quality of the food.

Helpful?
Thank isa_ritha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genève, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ideal for business lunches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

It is located on 1st floor of central railroad station. It is ideally located for any informal meeting (at the bar) and business lunches.
They know location is number 1 criteria and they make you pay for it : definitely not cheap. But I can tell that quality is more than OK, so you get what you pay for.
Then again, business lunches are usually covered for by businesses, so price is not top criteria :-)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Au Premier also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Au Premier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing