We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not bad not excellent”

Restaurant Au Premier
Ranked #129 of 1,896 Restaurants in Zurich
Cuisines: European, Central European, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not bad not excellent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

cozy atmosphere and good food, though a bit cold, but the service was terrible.. staff lacking in basic skills. we got ignored most of the time and had to actively ask to get something to drink.. we waited 40! min. before somebody would ask us about a coffee or a digestif after the dinner. not a memorable experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flypronzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    70
    23
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Zürich Classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Classic Restaurant in Zürich main train station. We have been there several times for the Sylvester buffet dinner and never disappointed. French cooking.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening, lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I enjoyed a really nice evening and meal here, it's Zurich so I never expect it to be cheap but at 69chfs (approx £48 ) for 3 courses I actually thought it was quite reasonable. The location is very good, I had a table looking directly at the Bahnhofstrasse at the lovely Christmas lights. The food was extremely nice with good size portions and a few glasses of red wine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We enjoyed our meal at Zürich Main Station's Au Premier. The food was between good but not excellent. Not much you can do wrong with Geschnätzeltes. We did not understand that a 3-course menu was cheaper than ordering 2 courses: strange. Next time we will order 3-course menu and only eat 2 of them!
Ideally located to meet people from abroad or out of town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ginadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Maybe food experience not representative, but horrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We visited this place with some friends during the Smorgasbord event, where they serve Swedish buffet. I believe this is an una-tantum occasion, or a yearly event of sort.
Accordingly, I cannot judge the food they usually serve here, and most of the servings at the buffet were of good quality. The service we experienced was fairly poor: we were attended maybe once, had to wait around 10 minutes in the hall for someone to show up and let us pay and leave (a premium price of 90 CHF for no real reason, but I gave up on that in Zurich) and in general an attitude mostly found in snob french restaurants.
The room we were sitting in was particularly unimpressive, closer to what I'd define a fast food than to a restaurant, but from the pictures and some glimpse of the other rooms it seems this restaurant has more to offer. I surely won't be back to find out though, if anything for the bad feeling that dealing with the staff left me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudioBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Au Premier also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Au Premier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing