We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better for after-work than for lunches” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Almodobar AG

Almodobar AG
Ranked #804 of 1,875 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: US$22 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Enge
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Better for after-work than for lunches”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Good location for especially aperos and after-works. Nice and reasonably priced lunch menus, but the service is not particularly rapid which makes lunch break not too short. Overall, I am tempted to recommend that location especially in the evening and for after work celebrations rather than for lunches.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Swiss_Traveller_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    32
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“uncomfortable, bad service and full of posers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

the title pretty much sums it up for me. unfortunately there aren't many alternatives nearby. I suggest you head to the spanish place, diagonally across the street called Juan Costa. There you will get good tapas served by friendly staff

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank riiiicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing Salads, Terrible Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

The salads in Almodobar are the best in the area, if not the best in Zurich. I highly recommend to try them.
However, be aware of the terrible service. Last time I went, I had to wait for 25 minutes until the staff let me order and then for another 40 minutes for my food to arrive (a salad!). I go to Almodobar fairly frequently and while this was amongst the worse service experiences I have had there, it is not an exception!

Other things to note: lunch menus tend to be fine (not as good as the salads though), tappas (in the evening) are rather mediocre but edible, atmosphere is quite good, in the summer it is nice to sit outside from some people-watching.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AE-traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
253 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Great place overall - as a bar or snack bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

If you were to come to Almodobar just after 6:00 PM on a workday, you'd find a large number of suits who've directly migrated from the large UBS and Credit Suisse towers nearby. The decor being what it is, i.e. pretty chic for a bar, may trick you into thinking that this is a boring banker watering-hole. In fact it is nothing of the kind. Wait for the place to fill up, and you'll find that this is indeed a place for a somewhat older crowd (30's and up), but by no means does this make it stiff and square. In fact, this is the kind of easygoing place where (unusually for Zürich), you'd be able to strike up a conversation with people around you. It's the kind of place where you'll stop by for an after-work drink and find out you've lingered till way past your weekday bed-time. It's also a nice launching-pad for wandering further into the city later on a week-end. And, despite its obvious design as a bar, you can order truly excellent tapas to go with your cocktail / beer / glass of wine. Groups are welcome here too, and the place can get loud but never rowdy. Mid-way between a wine & cocktail bar, a regular beer bar, and a restaurant, this place is definitely to be placed on the list of friendly, good-vibe places near the centre of Zürich.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zerosixzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Tasty find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were staying at a hotel nearby the Zurich Enge station on the southwest side of the city and wanted a nearby restaurant for a nice meal out. This was a terrific choice! The food was exceptionally tasty and portions were generous for tapas. We picked four dishes for the two of us, including the Spanish tortilla, the chorizo in Rioja wine, and some kind of croquette, and we couldn't decide our favorite. We also had the sangria, which was definitely stronger and tastier than some of the watered-down over-sweet sangrias we'd at other tapas places. The service was attentive and efficient. I don't think it was super-touristy, since it seemed to be more of a well-heeled, business crowd that congregated after work. There was a number of tapas places in the area--I guess that's the latest food fad--and this had the nicest vibe and best tasting food (we tried Juan Costas also). Like all restaurants in Zurich, it was pretty pricey but since you can order as much or as little as you like, and all of it was very good, it seems like a good value!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mkf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Almodobar AG also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Almodobar AG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing