We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Great food!”
Review of Mauri's Ristorante La Rocca - CLOSED

Mauri's Ristorante La Rocca
Price range: US$50 - US$250
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Escher Wyss
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Still Great food!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have been to Mauris la Rocca few times before and still can say that the food is one of the best we have had...This time we tried the Tavolato and it was great!enough food to satisfy your taste buds and worth the price ..Mauri as usual was there to meet and greet and the service was also good..Nice choice of wine and great atmosphere...we will surely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Great meal!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Been to Mauris La rocca restaurant few times now and so this is a review for it..The food as usual was great specially the tavolato that was delicious and left you satisfied for the a long time..Mauri is always there to make sure you enjoyed the food and his company..Nice choice of wine and the service was also good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Probably the best meat in town!”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I went there for the first time last week with a couple of colleagues from work. The plan was a nice x-mas dinner and we were not disappointed. One of my colleagues has been in La Rocca many times during his last employment so we also got the little extra attention from Mauri the owner.

Nevertheless, the dinner was superb! We started with a variety of Italian antipasti, all of them delicious and beautifully presented. We continued with large ravioli, stuffed with ricotta and egg and served with white truffles - this was just amazing! The highlight of the night was the meat: We all ordered individually different cuts (fillet, rib-eye and veal chop). All of them were perfectly prepared on an in-restaurant charcoal grill by the maestro himself.

The only downside is the selection of wine which is to a large degree pretty upscale. But what can you expect from a restaurant which served Petrus by the glass during the wild times.

The bill was fair for the delicious treatment. However, next time I will go for the tavolata - a specialty from the house.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food by the chef himself”
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

We were at this restaurant on a recommendation of a friend...Checked with Mauri the owner and he recommended the Tacola.. Maybe I have the name wrong but it's the chefs speciality ..great food with great wine..we will surely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friends and no-friends”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Think I have been 15 times to this restaurant. Yet the owner is only friendly to the ones that have been there 150 times. No big deal for me when the rest is OK. The rest is however not up to standards. We had to wait 15 minutes for the menu. Then 15 minutes to be able to order. Then 15 minutes for the wine that was corky and had to be sent back twice. Then the salat was there. Fine but very small. Then we had to wait 25 minutes for the main dish which was not even warm.
The fact that the owner clearly distinguishes between friends and no friends has always been the case. But the service and food has been better before. May be........because of the big group that it was not up to standard. But from a restaurant in this league I expect better. But there is always a second chance in live!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mauri's Ristorante La Rocca also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing