We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Food at a Good Price”

Rheinfelder Bierhalle
Ranked #112 of 1,896 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$22
Cuisines: German, Swiss, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Decent Food at a Good Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We went here on our last night in Zurich for an inexpensive meal. Prices are very reasonable for traditional Swiss food compared to many other places. Mostly wurst and VERY large pieces of schnitzel, but I asked for a cold platter to eat light and was given a nice plate of cheese, salami, and ham. Beer was very, very good. The waitress was very busy but still I think that our service was timely by European standards.

I recommend this place for very good beer with reasonably priced Swiss food. I did not see any evidence of bad service while inside the restaurant, and it was frequented mostly by locals.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan77_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    229
    73
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad attitude waiter”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just walk off from this restaurant an hour ago. I was there asking for menu in English. This waiter ask me to wait at the side. While waiting, I just read the menu on the table & found there is menu in English. In less than a minute, he walk to me with unfriendly face & shouted: "I ask you to wait! Oh! You can read German? I am also fine with it." & just walk away & pretend busy doing his stuff. This is absolutely bad attitude. Can you just be patient & serve the menu in English?
My trip to Switzerland almost perfect but spoiled by this rude waiter.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We ate here twice, both times the food was very good. The first night in Zurich we ate inside, at a large community table, very German style. The second time we ate outside. The service was very good both times.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockCatWichita_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
370 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Shortchange wheb paid in Euro”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Veal Sausage with Rosti (hashbrown) was pretty good, but the Pork Leg (Waedli) was pretty tough. The prices are reasonable and it would have been a decent evening until the bill comes.

It was a mistake for assuming that a restaurant in such location would accept credit card, so I have to pay in Euro since I have no Swiss Franc with me for the one day in Zurich. The bill actually stated exactly the amount in 31 Euro, based on a rate of 1 euro to 1.1 CHF which is acceptable to me. However, my 50 euro came back with only 16 CHF! When I approached the waiter than he admiitted it was a mistake and give me another 3 CHF. That still doesn't work out right as 19 euro certainly not equal to 19 CHF! I didn't want to persue further and took it as giving the extra as tippings!,
That spoilt the whole evening and otherwise a reasonably good and our last meal in Zurich!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lively and relatively cheap eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A lively, noisy restaurant serving traditional food, especially roesti and wurst. Service was snappy, despite the packed tables. Prices are reasonable, by Swiss standards, as this country is expensive throughout. There are outdoor tables, but as with all European restaurants and bars, smoking is permitted in such areas, so anyone allergic to cigarette smoke or who resents eating someone's smoke with their food, take an indoor table. Indoor seating is mainly at long benches, so don't expect a private, romantic dining experience. Nevertheless, the grub is good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrissieJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rheinfelder Bierhalle also viewed

 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Rheinfelder Bierhalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing