We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ufford Crown

The Ufford Crown
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Ufford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Ufford Crown is owned and run by Max Durrant and Polly, with Polly's brother who is the Chef, Will Hardiman. We pride ourselves on our food and wines.Max has managed numerous pubs in London and the Home Counties before taking over The Crown with his vision of creating a 'go to' location with superb service, superb food and superb drink. His brother-in-law Will Hardiman runs the kitchen as Head Chef to create a real 'family team'.You'll always be given a warm welcome in the pub and the dining ranges from full meals to sandwiches and 'light bites'. Come along and 'give us a try', you won't be dissapointed. The large, light and spacious pub has a dining area, plus a bar and 'reading room' to relax in. Booking is advisable on 01394 461030 but we welcome 'walk in' diners and our menu changes daily, using local produce and quality ingredients.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Popped in here mid week for a lunch. Service was absolutely excellent and food very tasty. My only personal whine would be that the chips are pre-bought Mcdonalds type fries and do not match up to the quality of the rest of the food. Needs some nice home made chunky chips.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BangTheBomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    63
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Weekday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We wnt here for lunch, I was a little dubious at first there were few cars outside so it appeared to be quiet. We ordered lunch, there were cutomers coming and going not as quiet as I had initially thought.
My mad husband had snails to start, I had a smoke salmon pate, mine was lovely if a little too much. I wont comment on the snails although they were eaten!
My main was a cauliflower, leek and fennel cheese, accompanied by the best cooked veg I have had in any restaurant for a long time. It was all lovely and I really enjoyed it.
My husband had a steak which was cooked to perfection the only grouse the chips were skinny not chunky!
The service was excellent, we will certainly be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“What a lovely place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I have visited the Ufford Crown many times. All of which the service has been top notch and the food perfect! Staff are polite,friendly and efficient, you can easily tell they know what they are doing.

As for the food.. Perfect! I have never left feeling unsatisfied. I strongly recommend the Thai curries they often have on the menu and always make sure you save room for dessert.

The Crown is an all superb place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystalclear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Nice enough, nothing outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This well-reviewed pub/restaurant is nicely appointed - a nice dining room (albeit we found the canned music rather loud), and nice bar. We found the food nice enough, though we were somewhat underwhelmed by what we took to be bought-in catering packs of chips ("frites") mainly undercooked: pallid and flaccid. Things like a £12.50 beefburger warrant decent chips cooked on the premises (i.e. cooked from potatoes, not from what could be a 50KG sack of ready-prepared chips). That said, all of the food was liked, especially some very good puddings. Value is also fair enough for this area - a touch over £20 a head for two courses and one drink each, though, as is pointed out very prominently on bill and menu, excluding service. Service was cheerful and polite, if seemingly the two staff were a bit overwhelmed, one dish was not complete and it took a while for it to be completed, we had to go off in search of condiments and so on. Not a big problem, bit certainly not at 'five stars' level. It is a reflection on prices and perceived value in English restaurants that we have recently reviewed a very nice simple restaurant in Andalucía where a 3-course 'menu del dia' with a drink is €8.50 !

It's perfectly fine, in the sense that several places in the area are. Good if you are near, but probably not worth a long drive !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snapdecisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were staying in Wickham Market and had driven past a couple of times, visited on a Saturday night, great atmosphere and full! We hadn't booked and staff bent over backwards to get us a table, assume the manager was Alex - great service and really friendly, the food was superb, will return

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marinav246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ufford Crown also viewed

Bromeswell, Woodbridge
Pettistree, Woodbridge
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to The Ufford Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing