We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful walk from Bradford-on-Avon to Avoncliff Aqueduct”
Review of Avoncliff Aqueduct

Avoncliff Aqueduct
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I started my walk along the canal from Bradford-On-Avon, taking in the stunning views not only along the way but upon my arrival at the Aqueduct. During my walk I enjoyed walking around Tithe Barn where there was a civil war enactment day going on, very interesting. There were barges tied alongside the towpath selling their wears!
Avoncliff is just Hamlet, with as little as 27 houses. As you cross the Aqueduct you have the most amazing views, England is so beautiful.
My return journey took me along the river Avon back to B-O-A.

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank seabreeze88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"railway line"
in 2 reviews
"return journey"
in 2 reviews
"pay and display car park"
in 2 reviews
"single track"
in 2 reviews
"bradford on avon"
in 7 reviews
"long boat"
in 2 reviews
"tea room"
in 3 reviews
"cross guns"
in 7 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 3 reviews
"river"
in 6 reviews
"kennet"
in 3 reviews
"scenery"
in 2 reviews
"bath"
in 6 reviews
"pub"
in 4 reviews
"paths"
in 2 reviews
"england"
in 2 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2016

Recently visited the Avoncliff Aqueduct which is situated about a 30 minute walk along the towpath from the bridge at Bradford-on-Avon. It was built by John Rennie between 1797 and 1800 and is an amazing feat of engineering even nowadays as the canal crosses over both the railway and the river Avon. Beautiful countryside and views make this a wonderful place to visit and a wonderful day out.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank ChrisandSueDopson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

Spent a pleasant couple of hours walking up and down the canal, which crosses the river Avon here. One thing to note is that parking is extremely restricted and the road on the South side is extremely steep and narrow. If I go again I would be tempted to go by train or park and Bradford-on-Avon and walk along the river.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank MPRD_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Like the nearby Dundas Aqueduct this was built by John Rennie to carry the Kennet & Avon Canal over the River Avon. There is a fine view of the Avon Valley and the weir. If parking at Westwood side make sure you go under the canal, looking out for the mason's marks on the way, and check out the Cross Guns PH. Of course, the best way to arrive here would be by boat and to travel over both aqueducts.

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Love the aqueduct, great views of the valley and river. Always a pleasure when walking the K&A canal.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Draper60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avoncliff Aqueduct also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Avoncliff Aqueduct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing