We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault this place”
Review of Swynford Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swynford Manor
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cannot fault this place”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a lovely weekend at Paddocks House in March this year. I stay in a lot of hotels around the world for business but was blown away by the quality of service at Paddocks House. Nothing was too much trouble, the room was immaculate, with lovely toiletries, gorgeous copper bath in the bedroom which I made good use of. The staff was attentive and friendly. I really cannot fault it at Paddocks House, hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which comes highly recommended, it had a separate living room area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londongirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Swynford Manor, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Dear londongirl23,

Thank you for your review and great praise for Paddocks House. Your comments are fabulous and thank you for sharing them here.

I do hope you will be back to see us at some point if venturing this way again.

Thank you again,

Best wishes,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    23
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
27
127
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stay in many hotels and this Hotel is by far the BEST The decor is amazing Rooms are spacious clean and the attention to detail is just perfect !!! Staff are so friendly helpful and always very well presented Lastly but by no means least the food is just amazing Breakfast lunch and Dinner We have stayed at this Hotel 4 times now and we cannot fault anything !! Massive congratulations to the owner he has an Excellent Team woking for him It is such a pleasure going to this Hotel and seeing George's Happy Smiling Face

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Swynford Manor, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Dear Jennifer t,

Thank you for your review and truly rewarding feedback. It is always good to receive feedback be it both positive or negative but to receive such praise from yourselves after a fourth visit is really quite an achievement and much appreciated comment for us.

The team work tirelessly in getting it right which is important to us all in this our opening year !!

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and please do make yourself known to us on your next visit as I would very much like to thank you in person.

Best wishes,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night from the second we arrived we knew we were going to have a great stay. Front desk were friendly and welcoming. George the front of house manager was a star, friendly, helpful and accommodating and all with a fantastic sence of humor. All the staff were exceptionally professional and helpful, very discrete and non intrusive but available. The afternoon tea was super, dinner was exceptional. Hotel was impeccably clean, the rooms very opulent with the best bath in the world. Would recommend this place time and again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Swynford Manor, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Dear Annabel81,

Thank you for your wonderful review and great praise for our property and the team within it. Your comments have been received with thanks and shared with those concerned.

The property in still in its opening year and to receive such praise and feedback at this level is hugely encouraging.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us, I do hope you will be back to see us again soon.

Best wishes,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived everything was perfect. My husband arranged a night away and upon arriving the staff knew my name and paid attention to our every need throughout the stay.

The staff are professional and the service is a perfect balance between being discreet but available. The staff have clearly been well trained, to a very high standard.

The room was clean, the bath was perfect and the dinner was amazing. I cannot find any fault and will be returning in two weeks to celebrate our wedding anniversary, which we booked tonight based on the fantastic experience that we have had.

I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and this is by far the best experience that I have ever had.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Swynford Manor, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Dear Sam C,

Thank you for your ‘Flawless’ review of Paddocks House. I am thrilled to read that we rank highly in your hotel stays, a much appreciated and valued comment.

I hope you did manage a return visit for your anniversary and if not we would be most happy to assist where possible.

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you again with us soon.

Best wishes,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our 10th wedding anniversary and we weren't disappointed. The hotel has recently had a revamp and everything was finished to high quality. The rooms were luxurious and comfortable. Everywhere was clean and tidy. The staff were all friendly and attentive which makes a huge difference I think. We did visit at a quite time which was fine for us as it felt more exclusive. We loved the bath. Would highly recommend for a special occasion if you're looking a little bit of luxury and a bit of a treat.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 76lanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Swynford Manor, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Dear 76lanny

Thank you for your review of Paddocks House. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and our copper baths. They are quite a treat and something that has proven very popular with our brand.

Thank you again for your review and please do come back and see us if venturing away from Nottingham.

Best wishes.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We loved this hotel. Even more, we loved George the butler. From the moment we arrived, every whim was catered for. I'm a florist, and was delivering flowers to a venue in Cambridge the following day. George gave us keys for another room to store the flowers, where they would be kept cool and undisturbed.

Upon realising that I had forgotten a hairbrush, George raced up the road to buy me a comb. Where else would you get that kind of service?! I couldn't fault it. We loved the food, and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were exceptionally clean and well decorated.

We both said we would definitely return, and we would definitely recommend it. Yes, it is expensive, but then the unexpected extras and service make it worthwhile.

Thank you Paddocks (and of course George) for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnadeedee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Swynford Manor, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear donnadeedee 79,
Thank you for your review of Paddocks House and your feedback for the property and for ‘George’.
I am delighted that we assisted where needed and made your stay a memorable one. Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we will look forward to welcoming you back to Paddocks House soon.
Best wishes,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We couldn't fault the food, drink or service but it felt a bit soulless. This was maybe because it wasn't busy but don't let it put you off, all the staff were great, really attentive, the food was great and good value

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Swynford Manor, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear David C
Thank you for your review of Paddocks House. Whilst being pleased to read of your enjoyment of the food service and staff I am sorry that your visit was marred with a soulless feel. I am hopeful this will be remedied as the business grows…
Thank you again for taking the time to review us.
Best wishes,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Six Mile Bottom
6.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
879 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Swaffham Bulbeck
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
The Green Man
#1 of 2 in Six Mile Bottom
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swynford Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swynford Manor

Property: Swynford Manor
Address: London Road, Six Mile Bottom CB8 0UE, England (Formerly Paddocks House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Six Mile Bottom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Six Mile Bottom
Hotel Class:4 star — Swynford Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swynford Manor is an exclusive weddings & events venue located between Cambridge and Newmarket in the UK. We offer a beautiful venue and grounds for amazing weddings and fantastic corporate functions & events. Accommodation in our 13 luxurious bedrooms is available for guests attending events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Swynford Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing