We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel at very reasonable rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Shepstone
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel at very reasonable rates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights and were looked after wonderfully by all staff. Ann-Marie and her team could not have done more to make us feel welcome and accommodated us so well. The rooms were wonderful and had a fantastic view of the sea. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Loads of hanging space and drawer space in the room. Lovely breakfast each morning on the verandah. The hotel is stylishly furnished and very comfortable. Many thanks to all at Umthunzi. We hope to return sometime.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gules68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnriUmthunzi, Manager at Umthunzi Hotel & Conference, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We always so appreciate it when guests write reviews as we know it takes time and effort. Thank you! It's encouraging to know you felt so welcome by all our staff as this has been a priority for us. The king size beds & sufficient cupboard space are also ways we like to go beyond the 3 star rating in terms of guest satisfaction. Our wonderful sea view is a gift of nature..glad you liked it! We welcome your return visit to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    37
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
30
1
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Umdloti, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Being involved with the hospitality industry by doing marketing for a travel guide, I've been around, saw places and also stayed over at many. However, I can not recall being so impressed with the entire "package" as with Umthunzi Boutique Hotel! From the moment I walked into reception I was treated as if I was the only guess in the hotel! (Although the place was almost full due to a corporate company having their conference there). Every single frontline staff member treated me exactly the same, the room was beautiful, clean and comfortable and the food... to die for! It was obvious that the chef has many years of experience and I didn't know what to choose! A place I will most certainly recommend and will go back to anytime!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerhard656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnriUmthunzi, General Manager at Umthunzi Hotel & Conference, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you Gerhard for this review. We are so incredibly encouraged by everything you took the time to say and the fact that you are in the industry makes your review so rewarding to us in our effort to have the highest guest satisfaction we can. We will convey your complimentary comments to all our staff and to the chef. With our restaurant now open recently to the public we are thrilled that the food standard was of a sufficiently high quality. We look forward to your next visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

What a lovely quiet place for a weekend. Close to golf courses - Wild Coast and Port Shepstone course.
Lovely breakfast and the newly opened Spa was lovely. Cecil is excellent and I would go back any time for another of her "Hot stone body massages" - well done to everyone. Lindsay Roberts

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 562Relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnriUmthunzi, General Manager at Umthunzi Hotel & Conference, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Lindsay we are thrilled to get such a positive review on our new spa as well as on our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write this. We are now going to be able to offer our guests golf discounts at Port Shepstone golf club so do come and enjoy a golf & spa weekend again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Shepstone, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I went for lunch and were pleasantly surprised at the quality and standard of the food. It was absolutely delicious, with fantastic views from the deck. I would highly recommend this establishment to anybody.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnriUmthunzi, General Manager at Umthunzi Hotel & Conference, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Marissa we are loving the fact that you so enjoyed the food at our new on site restaurant, 30°SOUTH! Thanks for reviewing us & helping us get known in the marketplace. Watch out for Specials via our facebook page too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Only stayed one night. Business trip.
After issues with car rental at the Airport I was really late on arrival, i received a call to find out if I was still ok and on my way.
Arrive at almost 10-PM. Owner stayed at check inn counter on my arrival, she was very nice and helped me to my room.

Rooms was really nice and big, air-conditioner, clean. Everything looks newly renovated!
Didn't have time for breakfast the next morning as i left before 6AM.

Wouldn't mind going back to try the breakfast next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnriUmthunzi, General Manager at Umthunzi Hotel & Conference, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We thank you so much for this review. Our phase 2 rooms from 22 -54 were opened to the public in November 2013 so they are new & we will work to keep them always clean and fresh for our guests. We are so glad you liked your stay and we hope you can return to enjoy breakfast (lunch and dinner too!)
Remember Cemair flies now direct from OR Tambo to Margate for a quick way to get here for a business or leisure trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My Wife and I had the most wonderful weekend away at Umthunzi Hotel.

The Hotel offers very large rooms with fantastic finishes. The restaurant and conference facilities are not only well equipped but beautifully designed, attractive to the eye.

The food offered was absolutely delicious with a large variety. The restaurant upstairs has a fantastic view of the sea as well as a beautiful patio to enjoy the sunshine and fresh air. The pool was sparkling and wonderfully situated by an outside bar which offers excellent service, thanks Markus!

The hotel has easy access to the beach and the beach itself is one of the best I have visited. The swimming was lovely.

I must say that the staff are friendly and seem to be very professional. This hotel is a definite family get away with the most wonderful tropical vegetation.

Well done Umthunzi and thank you for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnriUmthunzi, General Manager at Umthunzi Hotel & Conference, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Mike thank you for your most complimentary review. We are wanting to grow our family leisure market and are encouraged that you felt families are welcome. Our local beach is so family friendly and enjoyable we agree! Glad that you & your wife appreciated the decor, bar,food and spacious bedroom. We hope you bring your friends and family down for another holiday real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midrand, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a beautiful exquisitely decorated hotel. It feels more like mom's home, rather than a hotel. We had a fantastic Easter lunch buffet. Fresh, yummy, tasty food. My, children loved swimming in the pool. A definite must to either stay or visit when your are down the South Coast. Loved it. Will be going back before my return to Jozi xxxx

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnriUmthunzi, Front Office Manager at Umthunzi Hotel & Conference, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Sasha we really do appreciate your warm review of Umthunzi and our restaurant 30 SOUTH. Glad that your children enjoyed the swim too. April and May are two of our best weather months on the south coast but we have temporate weather all year round.
Sandy, our owner, did the decor and she will also love hearing the nice things you say about her work.
I will let our chefs know you appreciated their food, it will be encouraging also for them.Thanks so much!
We look forward to having you at Umthunzi soon and whenever you are down from Jozi.

For other guests a note: Our pool area and restaurant is always open for day visitors unless we have a closed function. Dinners by reservation. It is a free WiFi hotspot in the public areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Shepstone
19.4 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
10.6 mi away
Oribi Gorge Hotel
Oribi Gorge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Port Shepstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
18.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Elysium
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tahiti Sands
Tahiti Sands
#3 of 8 in Shelly Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kapenta Bay Hotel and Conference Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umthunzi Hotel & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umthunzi Hotel & Conference

Property: Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
Address: 60 Commercial Road | Umtentweni, Port Shepstone 4235, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Shepstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Shepstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Umthunzi Hotel & Conference 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to come to our UPMARKET but AFFORDABLE Hotel situated just an hour south of Durban on the leafy fringes of the Hibiscus Coast of South Africa. Just a 2 minute drive from the lovely beach and with panoramic seaviews overlooking the Indian Ocean & airconditioned clean rooms, our vision at UMTHUNZI is to provide a quality and comfortable experience for our guests. Relax, Refocus and Unwind while enjoying personalized service from our professional staff. Now with the exciting 30ᴼSOUTH Restaurant onsite! Our 49 exquisitely decorated rooms (some family rooms, each with its own balcony can accommodate up to 158 guests. All rooms have percale linen, solid wooden furniture, safe, air conditioner as well as a fan, a hotel DSTV Bouquet plus coffee and tea station. Honeymooners or couples can enjoy the panoramic sea view from the two Honeymoon suites with lavishly draped four poster bed, while listening to the rhythmic sounds of the waves breaking. Umthunzi also offers one lovely sea-facing deluxe suite with fully equipped self catering kitchen (sleeps 6) as well as Family Suites with quality bunk beds (Sleeps 8)EXPLORE all this fun coastline has to offer you!Umthunzi also has 2 fully equipped upmarket CONFERENCE/FUNCTION rooms as well as a BOARDROOM to make your special Function or Business event an outstanding success.Talk to us to get a PERSONALISED PACKAGE. We are wanting to meet your requirements efficiently so that you have a thoroughly professional and enjoyable conference, wedding, birthday or event that you need hosted. CemAir is now flying direct to Margate airport from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Umthunzi Hotel & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing