We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth stopping for, not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jaxx Restaurant

Jaxx Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth stopping for, not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a place to have lunch with various cuisine tastes to be catered for and one of our party mentioned they'd dined here before. Well we weren't disappointed. Our waiter Ndu was wonderful, very patient explaining all the specials to us. Two of us ordered the specials and we were more than impressed with it. When one of the young boys spilled most of his delicious lamb curry, there was no major fuss made and they also replaced his dish without us asking. A lovely lunch in a splendid setting, with free wifi too. And no problem getting doggie bags as we couldn't finish.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NualaOSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    55
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This restaurant has a lovely setting, overlooking the sea. The service was very attentive and we had the most delicious meal of our two week trip. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank honeyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Informal and stylish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We visited Jaxx on a busy night - New Year's eve, and expected the service to be slow. What a pleasant surprise! The proprietess was on site, helpful and effective, the waitress friendly and the food very out-of-the-ordinary. Although this restaurant has an informal setting, the dishes are prepared with care and are appeaing to the senses. Combined with a constant fresh breeze from the sea, this is an eat-out that can be thoroughy recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Been here with friends, food was good, service a little slow at times but this was due to the fact it was high season and the restaurant was full. A very pleasant evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lsh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Found very limited menu and no specials available. Portions minimal and taste not that great. When you eat out you want something equal or better than home. Service also quite slow. Have to snap finger a couple of time to catch waitrons attention.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jaxx Restaurant also viewed

Port Shepstone, KwaZulu-Natal
Port Shepstone, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Port Shepstone, KwaZulu-Natal
Port Shepstone, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Jaxx Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing