We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect little Bistro”
Review of Jaxx Restaurant

Jaxx Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect little Bistro”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We own Royston Hall Guesthouse which serves only Breakfast, so I direct all my guests with confidence to Jaxx up the road from us for meals and they are never disappointed. As a couple my husband and I frequent Jaxx regularly too. How nice to have a Restaurant with a class act in our Village.

Helpful?
2 Thank Royston H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    55
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Review”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant service ,food and atmosphere, highly recommended to anyone on holiday or business

Helpful?
Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umtentweni
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meals at Jaxx”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a very pleasant evening at the newly upgraded Jaxx Restaraunt in the leafy suburb of Umtentweni on the KZN South Coast
The service was good the table sttings were very good and the staff were exceptional and very helpful
The menu was well balanced and we all thoroughly enjoyed the evening with lots of wine and beer to go with the outing
Will certainly be going back again --soon!
Worth recommending to all who are near this establishment at any time of the day

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GordonMUmtentweni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Pizza on the South Coast”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We went to Jaxx because of the good reviews here and we were not disappointed!
On our way from Durban to the hibiscus coast we decided to make a stop, to try out this new restaurant. We were so happy with the food that we came back two weeks later on a trip to Oribi gorge.
We can not say much about other items on the menue, but the Pizza is sublime!
Thin and crusty dough, lekker sauce and fresh toppings, that is how a pizza should be in my eyes.
This Pizza can hold its ground with one from the good Trattorias and Pizzerias in Italy that I came across over the years. The café latte was also better then average.
The service is fast and eager to please, something that is missing in other Restaurants in SA where waiters drag their feet.
The area seems save enough, but we were there only for lunch, so I can not comment on how it is after nightfall.
The restaurant itself has a nice interior and if the weather is good you can also sit on the balcony. There is not much of a view, but you can always look at your plate... ; - )
When we are in the area in the future we will definitely go to Jaxx for lunch again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Procnias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best dining on the South Coast.”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Ate here on our forst night, then our second night then our third night get the drift all the courses all the time where absolutely fantastic can not wait for our next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pieter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jaxx Restaurant also viewed

Port Shepstone, KwaZulu-Natal
Port Shepstone, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Port Shepstone, KwaZulu-Natal
Port Shepstone, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Jaxx Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing