We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a worth while adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lionsrock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lionsrock Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ladybrand
1 review
“Such a worth while adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I came back from Lionsrock inspired to do more for these animals in captivity and in awful conditions world wide. If that just means visiting Lionsrock then that what I will do. what an amazing eye opener it was and my partner and I will definitely be back to see the lions and other big cats especially Koda.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    97
    23
    6
    0
See reviews for
115
134
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

A proper welcome greeting, introduction and goodbye would have been nice. Training needed here also by white lodge manager. Beautiful setting, overlooking the huge sanctuary enclosures and free roaming wildlife. Tea/coffee sachets in room not replenished although plain to see container empty. Not enough attention to detail by chalet maid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shirley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Exceptional experience. These people do magnificent work with the rescued animals and the tour is very informative but just too short.
There was a mix-up with our booking and they struggled to accommodate us during a busy long weekend. We ended up having to move three times, the last of which was into the volunteer's cabin which is not normally available for guests. That was so special - but loud, surrounded by so many lions a stone's throw away!
Do not expect luxury, but appreciate the view, the animals and what is being done for them.

Room Tip: Phone to confirm your booking - do not rely on internet only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionsrock, Manager at Lionsrock Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your understanding and patience over the weekend. We had a glitch in the booking system which we have since been able to correct with an upgrade. We are thankful that you could still enjoy the Big Cats, as this is what we are all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lionsrock is a truly magical place. We stayed in one of the chalets, which was well equipped and very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was very good and inexpensive, service all round was excellent. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brakpan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Rooms must be painted in full
Beds are of poor quality ; need 139cm bed for couples
Info on arriving must be comprehensive
Food is good quality, but expensive
Animals are well look after & trips can be longer to appreciate all the animals

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan G. D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Lions rock
would like own driving roads to see other animals
game drive to include other animals on the farm not just the encloseures.
other than that awesome stay. Will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Niel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Service at Lion's Rock is excellent,staff is very knowledgeable. New mattresses required on the beds. Learning about the work Lion's Rock and 4Paws are doing is really awesome and everyone should go!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
19.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lavender Hill Country Estate
19.0 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 29 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Cheetau Lodge
Cheetau Lodge
#4 of 7 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Crown Guesthouse
The Crown Guesthouse
#1 of 19 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
20.1 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#6 of 29 in Clarens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lionsrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lionsrock Lodge

Property: Lionsrock Lodge
Address: Kleinbloemhof Farm, Bethlehem 9700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lionsrock Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 18km outside Behtlehem (Free State), LIONSROCK is conveniently situated approximately 2 - 3 hour from Johannesburg, Bloemfontein and Durban.LIONSROCK Lodge offers visitors a variety of accommodation to suit their needs ranging from luxury en- suite rooms to self catering facilities for up 60 guests. Our restaurant, bar and tea garden serve all sorts of tempting treats and cater to all dietary requirement (by arrangement). The atmosphere and staff are warm and friendly. Guests have a range of activities to keep busy during the day and families will find the surroundings ideal. Game drives, swimming pool, bird watching and hiking trails in the natural surroundings are ideal relief from city life. LIONSROCK Lodge offers conferencing for up to 180 delegates for a full day conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lionsrock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing