We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely wildflower meadows, great for children” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brigit's Garden

Brigit's Garden
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Roscahill
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Brigit's Garden takes you on a magical journey into the heart of Celtic heritage and mythology, making it one of the truly outstanding places to visit in the West of Ireland. The award-winning Celtic Gardens are widely regarded as one of the most spectacular in Ireland, set within 11 acres of native woodland & wildflower meadows. In addition to the Celtic Gardens visitors can enjoy the nature trail, an ancient ring fort (fairy fort), thatched roundhouse and crannog, and the calendar sundial, the largest in Ireland.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Wairarapa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely wildflower meadows, great for children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The cafe serves excellent pancakes and galettes, definitely recommend starting here. The information/ nature trail sheet for the children was excellent. Thought provoking questions and designed to really encourage the kids to engage and interact with their surroundings.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Featherstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    45
    12
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't overlook it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Brigit's Garden is the kind of place you just might overlook, unless you are into Celtic symbolism or botanical gardens…or both.

We had seen brochures for this destination in several B&Bs on our recent trip to the Connemara region of Ireland. It did look lovely, but it was when we discovered that they were holding an Easter Egg hunt – something that we knew would appeal to our 6 year old – that we decided to visit there on Easter Sunday of this year.

We were completely delighted with our decision!

We arrived early, with the intention of exploring the gardens before the egg-hunting crowds descended. The place was pretty quiet, which suited us just fine and gave the gardens a serene vibe.

At admission, our son was given some activities to guide us through the gardens and teach about both the Celtic mythology and the natural wonders of the area. We were told what time to return in order to participate in the hunt.

The concept and design of Brigit’s Garden is based on the four seasons of the Celtic calendar: Samhain, Imbolc, Bealtaine and Lughnasa. There is a distinct garden area devoted to each season, with natural and man-made designs incorporated into the theme of the season. The card our son was given had questions to answer and activities to complete based on each garden, which he eagerly sought the answers to. It gave a framework for the meaning of the garden design and added meaning to the inherent beauty of the venue.

In addition to the four seasonal areas, Brigit’s Garden features a nature trail, which can easily be completed in a short time.

Once we finished our walk through the enchanting site, we returned to participate in the Easter egg hunt. The staff provided clues that sent visitors to all areas of the gardens with questions to answer. Once children had completed their tasks, they visited with the Easter bunny and received some chocolates and flowers to plant in their own gardens.

All in all we spent a lovely and memorable morning at Brigit’s Garden. It was easy to find (good signage) and a convenient stopping-off point during our time in County Galway.

Although it was specifically their Easter activities that drew us there, we would highly recommend a visit to Brigit’s Garden on any fine weather day when in Galway.

To see this review plus our photos, please visit: http://tripforthree.com/2014/08/27/brigits-garden-galway-ireland/

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KKDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrigitsGarden, Owner at Brigit's Garden, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
We're so glad that you and your family decided to join us for our Easter Egg Hunt! It's a big day for us and the lovely weather brought in plenty of activity. It was nice that you were able to enjoy the tranquility and magic of The Gardens before all the excitement kicked off.

We do hope that if you're in the area again, you'll come and pay us a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Visited again after a gap of 10 years when it had just opened. It has matured nicely and is worth a visit for a relaxing afternoon. Could be seen as a. Little pricey though.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MacConduibh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A truly magical place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Visited Brigit's gardens with my husband & our 4yr old son. We thoroughly enjoyed the gardens and were mesmerised with the beauty and tranquility of this very special place.
The gardens and nature trail are laid out beautifully and are very easy to get around following the guide given at reception or just wondering at free will.
Nice little cafe which served a good variety of food, we had soup, tea and scones, both were delicious and quite reasonable.
The little questionnaire given to our son kept him enthused as he ticked of the questions and made learning about nature fun as we made our way around these beautiful gardens.
With wonderful features at every turn there is something to keep everyone happy for a couple of hours. I wish it was closer to home so I could visit again & again to soak up the magical atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank demiray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful celtic garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

A peaceful fascinating garden, created with a theme of the old celtic seasons and traditions-most of which were entirely new to me. A lovely place to wander through and savour. Originally developed as a community project and constantly evolving. Weekly meditation sessions held in their round hut and various events held during the year e.g. solstice celebrations, elves and fairies day for children etc. Plenty space for children to run around with a nice children's area and a treasure hunt map for them to follow. A cafe with teas/coffees, fresh health snacks/ lunches and assorted cakes and a gift shop form the entrance to the garden. There is an entrance fee. For locals it is possible to buy a yearly card. Very interesting for those with an interest in tradition or those who like a peaceful retreat for their walk.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EvaH1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brigit's Garden also viewed

 

Been to Brigit's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing