We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE ATMOSPHERE, GOOD FOOD” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox Inn

The Fox Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“NICE ATMOSPHERE, GOOD FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We visited here in July on a warm evening so we sat outside on the back patio - but as we walked through the restaurant, the atmosphere and decoration looked very inviting. The patio was also very nice. We came to Fox Inn on the recommendation of the B&B at which we were staying in Bourton-on-the-Hill. They said there were new owners and a good menu. It was a good menu, with a few vegetarian choices (they could have more). The vegetarian meal that I had really was very delicious - I loved every bite of it. My two companions, who are not vegetarians, also loved the food they chose. It was a relaxing atmosphere with good service. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jainsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    100
    58
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The restaurant is now under the management of the couple who used to run the Old Butchers in nearby Stow on the Wold. The restaurant is lively with a good bistro atmosphere and an interesting menu. The food is freshly prepared and nicely presented. We had a most enjoyable evening. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard7060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We returned here following many visits. However, whilst much is good action needs to be taken to return it to the level which we have previously enjoyed. Service was slow - especially twenty minutes plus waiting for pudding. We then had to rush to make our schedule. The pannecota lacked style and was sludge like. Restaurants like The Fox in rural settings can develop a strong following but customers often make long journeys and if the food and service disappoint then punters look elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elya_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Fox, Lower Oddington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Fantastic - a romantic meal, buzzy atmosphere, great welcome, friendly knowledgeable service, good menu & wine list, cooked well.
We will return!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AKS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

travelled over 100 miles to the fox inn after being recommended to me.
the pub restaurant had a good atmosphere. food and service good.
better than your average pub.
would use again if in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikegkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox Inn also viewed

 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing