We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never ceases to surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of RHS Garden Wisley

RHS Garden Wisley
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Northern Limit Line and Ganghwa History Day Trip from Seoul
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Wisley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Flagship garden of the RHS, Wisley captures the imagination with richly planted borders, luscious rose gardens and a state-of-the-art Glasshouse.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Never ceases to surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

One of best things we ever did was to get an annual membership. Have been many time throughout this year and it always has something different to offer. It is such a tranquil and peaceful experience and is a great way of becoming one with nature. Excellent facilities. Excellent rock cakes and usually always something unusual in the food line on offer to keep energy levels up! Best plant centre I have ever visited and the gift shop is certainly very extensive with an extremely comprehensive range of products to suit all pockets and tastes. Highly recommended

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    875
    348
    64
    27
    18
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stunning Gardens beautifully planted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

A complete joy, stunning gardens well thought out and captivating. The hill is a climb but well worth it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jjakajmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Visited this garden with my new camera and it was truly beautiful! Wonderful waterlilies and the rose garden was stunning. The field of poppies in remembrance of the 1st world war was beautiful. I loved seeing the wild flower beds too. Very nice!

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leverkusen, Germany
Level Contributor
857 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to live and work!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I lived and worked in the Wisley Gardens in the 1980's as an Assistant Plant Pathologist and loved the three years of pleasure that the experience brought. Whatever time of the year the Gardens are absolutely wonderful. I particularly liked having the whole place to myself at the end of the day when the vistors had left and I could stroll around and savour the unique atmosphere. This was a time before computers, smartphones, handys and all the stuff we apparently need to live in today's society.
My laboratory is shown in the main photograph with the view out onto the ornamental lake. Wonderful memories of a different era...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eyekaytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

When visiting Wisley I expected gardens of a high standard. However considering their size they were far better than expected. We were blessed with a glorious summer day and saw the gardens at their best. Although there must have been thousands of people present it was not overcrowded. Unfortunately due to age and energy I was unable to visit the "Glass Houses" area. Still my camera was very busy.
There are plenty of places to eat and the two places I used were not overly crowded. I assumed that locals would probably have brought picnics on a day like this.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank oapcameraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RHS Garden Wisley also viewed

 

Been to RHS Garden Wisley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing