We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Lamphey Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lamphey Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lamphey
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

Over the past few years I have stayed at the Lamphey Hall many times and despite its many quirks, I have always found it comfortable and welcoming. Until last night!
About 1.30am the fire alarm went off and all the guests assembled outside the hotel. Then we waited and waited but no one came to turn off the alarm. Eventually after about half an hour we called the fire brigade and 10 minutes later they arrived, switched off the alam, checked the building and contacted the key holder.
Fortunately it was a false alarm but what would have happened if it had been a real fire.
In the morning we were given the lame excuse that the alarm failed to go off in the bungalow where the owner was staying and that he apologised for the inconvenience. He didn't even have the guts to face us personally!
So future guests, beware, there is no one in the hotel overnight and you may be left to your own devices if there is an emercency.

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank boatman135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    49
    17
    22
    9
See reviews for
51
108
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

Booked a 2 night stay, spoke to the manager to check our booking 4 weeks before arriving, to find we had been double booked. We were offered a flat which we took mainly because we had been travelling for 6 hours. We were assured of free drinks before our evening meal and a rate reduction. Empty promises. The manager was unavailable to hear our complaints which seemed to make it worse. The shower in the flat dripped, the telephone didnt work, the heated towel rail didnt work and the whole place smelt musty, except in the evening when the smells from the kitchen took over. All in all, not a nice room, a faceless disinterested manager and disorganised. The food was the complete opposite, I assume the manager was not in early enough for breakfast and at home when the evening meal was being served. Excellent choice for both breakfast and the evening meal and well cooked. So, my advice would be eat there but dont use the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2008

We didn't stay at the hotel but booked in for a meal in June to celebrate 2 birthdays. Booked in for 8pm and didn't get the 1st course until nearly 10pm. 2nd courses had hard potatoes and cold food. We left hungry. The staff apologised on the night and took our contact details to pass to the owners but no-one has contacted us. I emailed my complaint twice to the hotel and they didn't even aknowledge that they had received it. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Sedgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

Stayed at Lamphey Hall Hotel for a three night visit with the family in May of 2008.
We stayed in one of the family rooms on bed and breakfast. The room size was quite adequate for the three of us, with one double and two single beds. The room had an en suite toilet/shower room that appeared to have been recently refurbished. There were niggles though, one of the light fittings in the en suite was cracked and did not work, the shower seemed a little temperamental and the TV aerial kept falling out. The décor of the hotel could also be viewed as being somewhat old and tired around the edges or in other peoples eyes, quaint ! We thought it was okay though, taking into account that you are not paying huge quantities of money for the stay; we paid ~£110 per night for the three of us, which seemed quite reasonable to us, considering a rather good breakfast was included. The breakfast menu choice was not over the top, but the cooked menu was very good (better than more costly hotels I have stayed at). From relatives living near by, we understood that the hotel had a good local reputation for its purchase of quality food produce. This was supported by two excellent meals that we ate at the hotel. The meals were not particularly cheap though, but not over the top either considering the quality. The restaurant also seemed to be really quite popular with both locals and hotel guests which provided a good atmosphere; dress code was smart. There is also a small but pleasant garden at the front of the property, with limited seating, but a pleasant view across fields where the Best Western Lamphey Court is located. There is also a pub (The Dial) which is ~three minutes walk along the road. Not the most pleasant of places in our view, but okay for a quick pint if you fancied a change of scenery from the hotel bar or were after a cheaper option for food. Overall, the stay was pleasant with good quality food (if not particularly cheap though), a descent size room that would cater for two adults and two children, but let down slightly by some minor details. Would stay again.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — very little considering the price
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fordy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2007

We were concerned that the the hotel would be a bit tacky ..seeing the garish orange paintwork on the outside !! But it was wasn't...very small 'country house'. Well located to get to Tenby and points west ...a quiet village avoiding hoards of other visitors
Although only two of us, we were given the family room ..the bathroom was recemtly re furbished and was good but the radiator didn't work and the blind had fallen down. The bed was strange ..hard with a mattress that didn't fit !! Tea,coffee and biscuits in the room and local magazines to give a flavour of the area.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The dining room was lovely and the food was great..both dinner and breakfast.
The other restaurant in the village was excellent for dinner too and only 2 minutes walk from Lamphey Hall.
Top tip...don't think that Pembroke is a good option for dining out...we found a couple of grotty pubs/hotels..some fish and chip shops and a dull looking Chinese takeaway...the castle is lovely but don't expect to eat in the town ..what a shame.

  • Liked — Food and country house atmosphere
  • Disliked — the bed!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wizbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2006

We stayed a night in May 2006. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had a recently refurbished bathroom to a high standard. In contrast the rest of the room was ok-ish but had some problems. The problems were: sash window cords broken so that we had to prop windows open using books, soft furnishings a little tired and in need of update .... and then there was the bed. I stay in hotels a lot and the bed was the hardest I have ever tried to sleep on; sleep was a scarce commodity. In the restaurant we thought that food described as 'home made' or 'to our own recipe' was very good whereas other menu items were a snapshop of 1970's UK cooking. The room price seemed high to us but then Pembrokeshire can be expensive in the holiday season. There are many worse hotels than this...there are also enough which are better value for us to book elsewhere on our future trips. PS the hotel is called Lamphey Hall Hotel, no sign of 'Bethwaites' on the signs or inside.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2005

With only a one night stay, my comments should be judged accordingly. However, a few observations of our stay: (1) Older small hotel, generally pleasantly decorated, but with somewhat dated finishes. (2) We had the family room, which was just average and about what I expected. (3) Hotels in Pembrokeshire in the Summer months (especially for family rooms) are difficult to find, and they are expensive. (4) We ate in their dining room, but had to wait an extraordinary amount of time to be served, since it seemed some group of elderly ladies was there and it seemed to overwhelm the Kitchen. (5) Food was great! (6) Breakfast was included in our rate and again the food was great!

Overall recommended.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamphey
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel
2.0 mi away
Old Kings Arms Hotel
Old Kings Arms Hotel
#3 of 5 in Pembroke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
9.1 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Pembroke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
8.4 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphey Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphey Hall Hotel

Property: Lamphey Hall Hotel
Address: Upper Lamphey Road, Lamphey, Pembroke SA71 5NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke > Lamphey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lamphey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamphey Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lamphey Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphey Hall Hotel Pembroke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing