We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
North Down Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My partner and i had a speacial occassion to celebrate on the weekend of the 17th may 2014 at north down farm only booked their because of the good reviews! All i can say is they must have been to a different farm to me.There was scaffolding outside both of our room windows,u could not close the toilet door,the sink plug would not operate and sink would get blocked.The bedroom door paintwork was all cracked and peeling.The botton of the shower tray was very dirty it hadnt been cleaned at all.The soil pipe was exposed in the toilet and the electric fan did not work either.All in all this room {en~suite} needs a complete redecoration very tatty and shabby this room.Our weekend was completly spoiled in Tenby.If i had been told about the scaffolding around the house when i booked by Tessa i would not have gone there.But Tesda did not tell me this.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vm2Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TessaHLamphey, Owner at North Down Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take all feedback very seriously and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at North Down.
I have notified most guests who are due to stay with us in the next few weeks that there is some building work going on here. We are doing essential maintenance to the chimneys. However as you only booked for your special weekend the day before your arrival, I overlooked to do this in your case. I did apologise in person and gave you a discount for any inconvenience.
I do not think the room you stayed in was tatty or shabby and reviews from guests who have stayed here previously would seem to bare this out.

Regards
Tessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

I would definitely recommend North Down Farm to anyone who is considering staying in Pembrokeshire. The location is beautiful: lovely views of fields with lambs and horses. Our room was light and spacious with a large, very comfortable king-size bed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElliottLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TessaHLamphey, Owner at North Down Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us at North Down. Thanks again Tessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend whilst visiting Pembrokeshire for the first time.

Service was very friendly, beds were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast (although basic) was plentiful and nice.

I would certainly recommend this place to anyone else.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Thebigbristolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TessaHLamphey, Owner at North Down Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi, thanks for taking the time to post a review. Really glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay. Thanks Tessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I let Tessa (the owner) know in advance that I'd be arriving late from London after work on Friday, and various options were provided to accommodate my arrival. The stay itself was great, comfy bed, great shower and great continental spread for breakfast in the front room which has a great view of the rolling Pembrokeshire hills. Perfect location just a stones throw from Pembroke and very close to one of the best beaches in South Wales- Broad Haven, Bosherston.

Will look to book my family up there for my wedding next year!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OCP84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TessaHLamphey, Owner at North Down Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thanks for leaving us such a positive review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you and your family again next year when you return to Pembrokeshire for your wedding. Thanks again Tess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First impressions are of an austere-looking farm house, but a warm welcome awaits once you enter. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed, armchairs, a table, and plenty of storage for clothes etc . Ensuite bathroom was warm and well equipped - though the shower pressure was not great! A small mini-fridge on the landing provided fresh milk for tea/coffee and bottled water. Good choice of juice, cereals, bread and pastries at breakfast which is self-service. Lovely views over open countryside. Wi-fi is free but the signal is not wonderful; best when we sat on the stairs outside our room. Very convenient location for Pembroke,Tenby and the wonderful coastline. We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights at North Down Farm and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Paid extra for a room at the front of the house. Spacious with great views from the bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannaP476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TessaHLamphey, Owner at North Down Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I really appreciate your positive comments and am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again. Tess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at North Down Farm, a beautifully restored farmhouse, for four nights in a double room overlooking the kitchen garden (enjoyed watching the chickens from the window bench).It was a beautiful warm room with a comfy bed and homely features, clean and unfussy. Tessa provides plenty of tea and coffee in the room with some thoughtful extras. There was a small fridge outside the room with fresh milk and room for us to stick a bottle of wine in. Bathroom was perfect, easy to use steaming shower, fluffy towels and soaps provided.
Huge choice for the continental breakfast, all fresh and very good quality. I wanted to try those chicken's eggs so we bought some from the honesty box at the gate and took them home. They were excellent!
The location is great for getting down to the coast for the stunning beaches and into the local towns for shopping and restaurants.
Can't praise Tessa enough for the relaxing atmosphere she provides. Would definitely stay again (may come back when the weather is drier!)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sahara118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TessaHLamphey, Owner at North Down Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay at North Down and would love to welcome you back in the summer. Thanks again Tessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at North down farm for 4 nights, beautiful renovated farm house with lovely views of the countryside. Room was clean, comfortable and spacious and with the weather being wet and chilly the room was always warm. Breakfast was basic but enough to get you through till lunch. Tessa and her family were friendly and welcoming and had great knowledge of the area. Would highly recommend as the farm is a great base for exploring Pembrokeshire and would love to return in the summer.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kfly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TessaHLamphey, Owner at North Down Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your review. Feedback is very important to us and I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Pembrokeshire with us at North Down. It would be lovely if you were able to return in the summer when hopefully the weather will be drier and warmer. Thanks again Tessa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamphey
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Lamphey Hall Hotel
Lamphey Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lamphey
276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pembroke
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lower Lamphey Park
Lower Lamphey Park
#2 of 4 in Lamphey
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Noon Guesthouse
High Noon Guesthouse
#5 of 16 in Pembroke
84 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lovesgrove Country Guest House
Lovesgrove Country Guest House
#1 of 14 in Pembroke Dock
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Down Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Down Bed and Breakfast

Address: Sixth Lane, Lamphey, Pembroke SA71 5PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke > Lamphey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lamphey
Price Range: £59 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Down Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Down offers high quality Bed and Breakfast and Pembrokeshire holiday cottage in the heart of the beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside. If you are looking for peace and tranquility then North Down is for you. Situated close to the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park and its fabulous beaches is perfect for walkers and families. A warm welcome awaits... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your North Down Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Down Bed And Breakfast Lamphey, Pembroke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing