We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach in the UK”
Review of Rhossili Bay

Rhossili Bay
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Rhossili
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: **The car park is currently being redeveloped. The site remains open, but has a reduced capacity as a result.** Rhossili Bay lies at the western end of the beautiful Gower peninsula. 3 miles of golden sands, iconic landscapes including Worms Head and Rhossili Down and history everywhere- from neolithic through to the more recent, including home to Edgar Evans. Its a walker's dream with routes in all directions, including the Welsh coastal path. The beach is dog friendly all year round and the whole area is beautiful whatever the weather. Today, the National Trust cares for 2 of the 3 miles of the beach, Rhossili Down, and most of the coastline between Rhossili and Port Eynon. (26 miles of Gower coastline in total). The landscape is free. The village of Rhossili also contains other private businesses- The Worms Head Hotel, The Bay Bistro, Sam's Surf Shack, Coastal Surf And Gifts, The Causeway (cafe) and Rhossili Gallery. The car park is free overnight and free to members during the day. Non members are currently charged £4 per day (car). All profits from the car park go towards keeping the area beautiful. Please note that the toilets are owned and operated by Swansea Council.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best beach in the UK”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Fantastic Beach. Our favourite in the UK. Great Campsite behind the dunes at Hill End. We've been on several occasions. Better services at other beaches around the UK, but you come here for the beach alone. Looking forward to our next trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank adc1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,315
    157
    19
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rhossili Bay”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Loved our visit to Rhossili, despite having a 7 and a 4 year old with us we climbed to the top of the downs to be rewarded with the most wonderful view, our 4 year old commented..."you can see the whole world!!" and yes it did feel like that!
We also walked down the Worm, lovely walk and again amazing views
Stopped at The Worms Head Hotel for a well deserved drink! sat outside and again, The views!!
Watched a kestrel hovering over the beach
Would highly recommend Rhossili and indeed the whole of the Gower especially for a family holiday

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elisabetta54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
902 reviews
417 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Sunday 3rd August beautiful sunny day so we drove to Rhossili to see the beach. We parked up in the car park at the top, which was basically a field and was £3.50. This car park is not owned by the National Trust so the charges are not reinvested in the area, there is a NT car park near by.

We did not go down to the beach but we stood and admired the amazing view. We headed off down the National Trust path way towards Worm Head, which took us about 25 minutes to walk, we kept stopping to take in the rugged , wild and beautiful scenery.

We reached the National Coastguard Institute at the end and we were able to enter the building, which we were pleased to do as we were a bit wind battered and was spitting rain. It was also interesting to see the Officers at work. We were able to look out to sea and down on to Worm Head. We then walked down the cliff edge to the sea, it was not low tide when it is possible to walk the causeway over to Worm Head. Back at the Coast Guards it is possible to use binoculars which were provided. We did see some seals swimming around the coast.

Back near the car park there are a nunber of places to eat and get a drink, a number of people were having picnics. There was also a National Trust shop and tourist centre.

Would love to return here to make the walk down to the beach and spend some time there also walk the Causeway to Worm Head.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Day Out”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

You can't go wrong with a day out to Rhossili Bay. The road leads directly to the car park. From there it is a 30 minute walk to the worms head and yes if the timing is right you can walk across the sea to the head. The views are very nice but it can be quite windy so go prepared. After this we went back to the car and gathered our things for the beach. Then took the infamous walk down, Its not too bad. I would say the beach is at its best at low tide. We arrived onto the sand at about 1.30pm and quite honestly it was nice but not worthy of the UK no 1 title. HOWEVER, the place did take on a different shape as the tide dropped and you realise how flat and deep the beach is, brilliant for kiting and ball games. I guess the attraction is that it is totally natural with no facilities at all and no commercialism.
Definitely worth a visit and a brilliant day out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zah1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant bay and challenging walk”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The beach was very good, but the best part was the walking to Worm's head. This was fun, challenging and scary in places but the scenery and views amazing. The first fifth of the walk was across the causeway with slippery, moving rocks with the occasional mini, but deep, rock pool. The most full-on segment was walking on jagged rocks from the first hill to Devil's bridge. Not for the feint-hearted!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gorgonzolapasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rhossili Bay also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Rhossili, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Rhossili Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing