We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two day sojourn at YHA Port Eynon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA Port Eynon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Port Eynon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Two day sojourn at YHA Port Eynon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned from a glorious stay at Port Eynon. Dianne made us very welcome and we would have loved to stay longer! Hostel is cosy with splendid views over the bay. I spent many a hour just musing and watching the changing skies. Weather glorious so we were able to indulge in some lovely walking. Plenty of hot water contrary to other reviewers. Access all day if weather inclement. Look forward to a return trip soon if wecan squeeze it in!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
12
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights in early May and I must say that it was a wonderful experience, and a heart-warming one as well, as I met very nice people and felt very welcomed by the YHA wardens Dianne and Martin who run this place with enthusiasm and very good knowledge of the area. I can't thank them enough, and it was hard for any other YHA I went afterwards to beat that stay!

The house itself (a former lifeboat station, make sure to read its story and take a look at the old photos in the lounge) is a gem. Located directly by the beach, a 5-minute-walk from the nearest bus station and a number of fish & chips shops, it is a stunning place to stay. The YHA is tidy and very well-organized, the showers had good water pressure and the water was hot, and I even had a sink in my room, which is always handy. There are a number of small and larger dorms, I was given the "room with a view" on the first floor (which is an 8-bed-dorm which I had for my own :-)) and I nearly cried the first morning when I woke up and looked outside of the window (out of my bed) and could see, hear and smell the sea!

The kitchen is well-equipped and well-organized, and the lounge is cosy and welcoming as well. There are a number of board games, books, and magazines plus an interesting folder of activities nearby. I did not find out too much about Gower before I went there (it seems to keep it secrets to itself ;-), but there's a lot to do from hiking and rockpooling to horseridin and kayaking - just go there, you won't be disappointed!

I went there by public transport (next train station is Swansea, on Gower peninsula it is buses only). Make sure you grab a timetable from Swansea bus station. The bus driver was not too helpful, and I think there are only two buses a day to Port Eynon - but that's all part of the adventure - enjoy it! The hiking trail to Rhossili starts directly at the youth hostel, it is a fantastic walk (7 miles) to another nice village with a beach that has just been voted the 10th best beach in the world!

If you are looking for a nice place to get away from it all, to sit at the beach and listen to the waves, or to meet new friends, don't think twice, this place has it all!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were a party of nine made up of two families split between two rooms. Facilities were good and the managers very helpful and always good for suggestions for trips or activities. The situation of the hostel right on the beach was excellent and meant that the three anglers among us were able to go fishing and catch enough dogfish to qualify for automatic membership of the kennel club.
One day part of our group used the local bus service to go to Swansea shopping. Locally we watched red tailed kites perform aerobatics.
The hostel was very clean. A well run and recommended YHA hostel which maintains the fine tradition.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I was so luck to get there in a sunny day-- which adds a lot of value to this seaside stay.
This house doesn't look very shiny from outside, but you feel amazed when you step in.
The sitting room has a amazingly beautiful view of the sea.
You will love to sit there and read or write for a day.
Everything inside is quite new and tidy.
The twin room I stay has a high window, from which I can have a bit of the sea-view as well.
You have to make the bed yourself-- sure it's a youth hostel.
I hit my head a few times on the bunk bed :( there's not much space for the lower part.

Warning:
It's a very nice place-- but here's no signal or wifi at all. You're totally isolated.
Of course the lady in reception will kindly help you with route planning with the only computer there. But just be careful, it will be an unusual holiday!

Warning 2:
I arrived in the afternoon but was told that I can't check in until 5.
Didn't receive an email about this.
It's fine to check in later-- just be prepared!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hostel is situated in the best place, right on the sea front of Port Eynon. Dianne and Martin are the most welcoming hosts and the hostel is clean and very very comfortable. It is perfect for coastal walking, sea activities or just simply relaxing,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suet195377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porteynonmanager, Manager at YHA Port Eynon, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi, thanks for your lovely review, it is always good to get such great feedback! hope to see you again soon, best wishes, Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Sutton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We booked in for two nights here. I have to say I think it is one of the nicest hostels I have ever stayed in. Clean, well equipped and very friendly. The location is perfect and the views from the lounge make it a must. The lovely lady who manages it is full of local (and other) information and really makes you feel at home. She is great with kids (we have 2) and generally fab. Perfect for meeting other families (we met loads) and rock pooling and visiting other beaches. I'd say it was pretty near perfect!
Thank you so much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porteynonmanager, Manager at YHA Port Eynon, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi, thanks for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed the hostel and location and hope to see you here again soon! best wishes, Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

lovely hostel on a beach perfect for rock pooling, walking the coastal footpath or just exploring the area. lounge with amazing view of sea and sky, good kitchne facilites and comfy beds. friendly staff with plenty of local knowledge.

Room Tip: twin room was small but light and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porteynonmanager, Manager at YHA Port Eynon, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, and for the great comments. I'm glad you had a such a good time exploring the area and hope to see you agin soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Eynon
0.1 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.0 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
9.5 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#1 of 7 in Llangennith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Manorbier
YHA Manorbier
#1 of 1 in Manorbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blas Gwyr
Blas Gwyr
#3 of 7 in Llangennith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Port Eynon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Port Eynon

Property: YHA Port Eynon
Address: Old Lifeboat House | Port Eynon, Port Eynon SA3 1NN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Port Eynon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Port Eynon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Port Eynon 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Port Eynon is a self-catering hostel, with a small shop and bar, and we welcome families, individuals and groups throughout the year. We can offer a choice of private rooms or shared, single sex dorms, and we are situated just a few yards from an award winning beach, great for rock pools, sand castles, beach bonfires and all water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Port Eynon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Port Eynon Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing