We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of YHA Port Eynon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Port Eynon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southampton Uk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is the 3rd year we have stayed here, this time for 3 days. We are a family of 4 and yet again had a wonderful stay. The views are breathtaking and the village sweet and friendly.
The storms have changed the beach somewhat since last year, with smaller crabbing pools, but the beach offers a great combination of sandy areas and rock pools. We kayaked over to 'Secret Cove' (accessible only by boat or kayak) and also watched the Stand-up Paddle Board championships with great interest, taking place in the bay.
The YHA hostel is small but hospitable, and there are always other kids for ours to play with. We always have a great time here. My only criticism is the lack of WiF made it difficult to check the weather forecast, and plan ahead.

Room Tip: They are all a bit damp, to be honest! But if you have kids who love bunk beds they will love them a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WyseARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
14
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here in a family room in August. Location is perfect as right on the beach and surrounded by lovely countryside and sea views. Our room was small but perfectly adequate and very clean. The self catering kitchen was very well stocked, and lounge / dining room well laid out and made for a sociable holiday with our fellow hostellers. The Warden was very chatty and helfpful. Had to park our car a couple of minutes walk away, but the arrangements worked perfectly well and avoided us paying a £4 a day beach car parking charge. Perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porteynonmanager, Manager at YHA Port Eynon, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hello and thanks for taking the time to post your review. I have to agree, as beach holidays go, they don't come closer than this!
I'm glad you had a great time and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were a group of 5 that travelled to Port Eynon with no expectations, but ended up having a lovely holiday. The location is great as the hostel is right on the beach. Dianne, one of the staff members, was extremely helpful with everything we needed to know, and even helped us set up a bonfire for our barbecue. There are lots of beautiful walks to take and Port Eynon is also ten minutes by car to other beaches. The communal kitchen was clean and had everything we needed. All in all we had a great time and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwdizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porteynonmanager, Manager at YHA Port Eynon, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi, thanks for such a great review - you seem to have had an action packed holiday here! hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Myself and my 7 year old stayed here for 1 night. We arrived at 4.30 check in was 5pm so we sat on a bench in the sunshine for half an hour looking at the amazing view. My son played on the beach. Check in was quick and simple. We were shown to our room and the rest of the facilities. We asked about the history of the Hostel and Maggs was very knowledgeable.

We had an on suite room and everything was clean. The shower was lovely.

Fish and chips at the Captains Table was amazing. We joined in with a Youth Group staying at the Hostel who had a camp fire on the beach.

Good night's sleep and the view out the big windows at breakfast was breath taking.

We walked to the old Salt works which was very interesting.

Sunday morning stroll along the beach to the new Lifeboat Station to watch their weekly practise was also amazing.

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A group of 6 of us stayed here for 1 night in June 2014. The location is great, right on the beach at Port Eynon. The hosts were extremely welcoming and very helpful at giving local information, as well as kindly supplying us with firewood to have a bonfire and barbecue on the beach. The rooms were clean and spacious. All in all had a great stay and will likely be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porteynonmanager, Manager at YHA Port Eynon, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hello, thanks very much for you review. I'm glad you had such a great time, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned from a glorious stay at Port Eynon. Dianne made us very welcome and we would have loved to stay longer! Hostel is cosy with splendid views over the bay. I spent many a hour just musing and watching the changing skies. Weather glorious so we were able to indulge in some lovely walking. Plenty of hot water contrary to other reviewers. Access all day if weather inclement. Look forward to a return trip soon if wecan squeeze it in!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights in early May and I must say that it was a wonderful experience, and a heart-warming one as well, as I met very nice people and felt very welcomed by the YHA wardens Dianne and Martin who run this place with enthusiasm and very good knowledge of the area. I can't thank them enough, and it was hard for any other YHA I went afterwards to beat that stay!

The house itself (a former lifeboat station, make sure to read its story and take a look at the old photos in the lounge) is a gem. Located directly by the beach, a 5-minute-walk from the nearest bus station and a number of fish & chips shops, it is a stunning place to stay. The YHA is tidy and very well-organized, the showers had good water pressure and the water was hot, and I even had a sink in my room, which is always handy. There are a number of small and larger dorms, I was given the "room with a view" on the first floor (which is an 8-bed-dorm which I had for my own :-)) and I nearly cried the first morning when I woke up and looked outside of the window (out of my bed) and could see, hear and smell the sea!

The kitchen is well-equipped and well-organized, and the lounge is cosy and welcoming as well. There are a number of board games, books, and magazines plus an interesting folder of activities nearby. I did not find out too much about Gower before I went there (it seems to keep it secrets to itself ;-), but there's a lot to do from hiking and rockpooling to horseridin and kayaking - just go there, you won't be disappointed!

I went there by public transport (next train station is Swansea, on Gower peninsula it is buses only). Make sure you grab a timetable from Swansea bus station. The bus driver was not too helpful, and I think there are only two buses a day to Port Eynon - but that's all part of the adventure - enjoy it! The hiking trail to Rhossili starts directly at the youth hostel, it is a fantastic walk (7 miles) to another nice village with a beach that has just been voted the 10th best beach in the world!

If you are looking for a nice place to get away from it all, to sit at the beach and listen to the waves, or to meet new friends, don't think twice, this place has it all!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Eynon
0.1 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
159 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
950 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
13.8 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
763 reviews
5.2 mi away
Western House B&B
Western House B&B
#2 of 5 in Llangennith
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Port Eynon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Port Eynon

Property: YHA Port Eynon
Address: Old Lifeboat House | Port Eynon, Port Eynon SA3 1NN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Port Eynon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Port Eynon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Port Eynon 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Port Eynon is a self-catering hostel, with a small shop and bar, and we welcome families, individuals and groups throughout the year. We can offer a choice of private rooms or shared, single sex dorms, and we are situated just a few yards from an award winning beach, great for rock pools, sand castles, beach bonfires and all water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your YHA Port Eynon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Port Eynon Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing