We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super spot & accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culver House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Culver House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Eynon
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Super spot & accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I had always wanted to visit The Gower and this was a fab place to stay in. Lovely facilities. Nice decor.

We stayed in Suite 8 which had amazing views. Great bed and bedroom area. Lots of space. Very nice touches and really thought out. Love the option to wash / dry clothes and recycle in the room below also.

A negative for us and hence not rating a 5 was the shower. Red hot and then freezing cold with no way to seem to regulate except the switch off and wait and then on again.

We had an issue with the balcony door also the last night. It wouldn't turn and lock so had to put door in front of it as windy and raining overnight. Luckily we were on 1st floor. We called proprietor though and he was going to look at after we left that morning.

Missing scissors in kitchen too although minor thing when so many other helpful and thoughtful things included.

Thank you also for the chocolates for New Year's Eve.

Absolutely recommended and would love to go back. In the most beautiful part of Wales and really blessed to have spent NYE there.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    34
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
31
89
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

My boyfriend and I took a weekend trip to Port Eynon in Early November this year, although we didn't expect great weather, we were looking for a peaceful getaway from the city. We were recommended the Culver House Hotel by a family member and it was absolutely beautiful. We stayed in Apartment 8 on the top floor and were greeted by breathtaking views of the beach and surrounding areas, which were literally a stones throw away from the front door. The apartment was spotless, the kitchen held everything you needed, the bedroom was tidy, clean and extremely comfortable. Honestly we were completely blown away by the upkeep of the hotel and the presentation of the rooms and services on offer, especially considering it is animal friendly. Fortunately the weather didn't disappoint too much and we were able to get a few long walks across the beach and sand dunes. It was perfect for myself and my partner, as we are both photographers and we couldn't recommend this hotel enough for a peaceful break away in the colder months or a month long stay in the summer, as I can only imagine it to be amazing. Thank you Culver House hotel for a lovely stay and we shall definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephsmith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in October - lovely location right near the beach - brilliant for us as we have a dog. We stayed in the apartment separate to the main house and were very disappointed.
Overall everything needed updating but the worst aspect was that the room was not clean. We had to sweep the floors ourselves, the microwave was dirty and there were hairs all over the bathroom. We will not be going back which is a shame because it was difficult to find anywhere that would take a dog in this location.
Went to the Greyhound for an evening meal which was a good place that did allow dogs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Libby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culverhot, Owner at Culver House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We were very sorry to read your review. We try very hard to do a good job for our guests. As you will see from our other reviews on TripAdvisor and on our own web site, we frequently get it right. Occasionally something goes wrong and things don't reach guest expectations. If guests make us aware of problems we will always endeavour to find a solution. We regret that in this case we didn't have that opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend at culver house,upon arrival we we upgraded foc to a better suite ,what a great place to stay,100yds from the beach,pub just down the road,modern hotel suite everything you need is there ,very comfortable ,clean,warm,cosy,didn't want to come home will stay again .reccomended

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

this is the second time we have stayed and the fact that the rooms are apartments gives you a feeling of a home from home.the location is as good as it gets,a short walk and you are on the beach.really lovely break,wish we could have stayed longer.thanks

Room Tip: downstairs apartments have a small garden for sitting out and the upstairs rooms have balonies,so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for instant beach access which our dog loved- so much so that he woke us at 4am to go for a sniff!
An Out of season visit means the beaches are all dog friendly but everything else is shut so you need to drive a fair distance for food (or stock up en route).
Local beach was fabulous but can also highly recommend nearby Rhosilli and Oxwich beaches, where at low tide you can walk as far as the eye can see or maybe up a sand dune like we did to enjoy the view ( and receive a wedding proposal..... I said yes by the way!)
Culver House is clean & has everything you need for a lovely stay. We couldn't locate a DVD player as suggested in other reviews but we didn't want for anything and our hosts were on site to provide fresh towels etc if needed.
Highly recommend for a dog friendly visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McSquiffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Spent 2 nights in suite 4 which allowed dogs so we allowed to take Duke. Check in was perfect collect your keys from a secure box in reception and found our suite straight away. If you are after somewhere that you are left alone this is the place. Suite was lovely with real oak floors, Tv, DVD player excellent information, everything you need and even special touchs like tea coffee milk etc. Very clean (only few cobwebs around the windows) bedding and towels fresh and clean.

Location - fantastic walk out of the hotel and within 10 seconds you can sea the wonderful Port Eynon beach which is clean and beautiful. Dogs are allowed at the top end of the beach which Duke loved playing in the sea.

We took a trip over to Rhossili Bay ( dogs allowed all year) - all I can say about this beach is wow wow wow, ok the downside is the walk down which is a proper Tarmac path, however you must remember you are walking down a cliff. We have travelled to many places in the world but never seen a beach with miles of sand, clean water and fantastic mountain views and watching the surfers tackle the waves. After walking the length of the beach and tackling the path back up ( burning thighs oh yes) we had a cup of coffee and headed over to see Worms Head which is a flat walk along the top of the cliff where the views are some of the prettiest I have seen. What a beautiful coast line.

After we headed to Oxwich Hotel for lunch and sat in the gardens with Duke and enjoyed the views of the sea and the wonderful lunch.

Overall we had a lovely time would recommend this hotel, and we will definitely be back.

Thank you for excellent service and see you soon Culverhouse hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going away with no dogs, get the suite on the second floor you get wonderful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKNips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Eynon
3.0 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
9.5 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
9.5 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
12.3 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culver House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culver House Hotel

Property: Culver House Hotel
Address: Port Eynon | Gower, Port Eynon SA3 1NN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Port Eynon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Eynon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Culver House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CulverHouse - A Gower Getaway Great for a romantic one night getaway, a short break or a family holiday. Situated on a stunning blue flag beach with views to die for and only 5 minutes drive away from the world renowned Rhossili bay and Worms Head. Arranged as 1&2 bedroom suites offering Scandinavian style open plan living/full kitchen/dining room. All our Suites have solid oak floors, leather sofas, big screen Smart TV's, free wifi and comfy beds. Flat screen TVs in all bedrooms. Comprehensively equipped including towels, bedding etc. All apartments (except Suite 4) have sea views and balconies or direct private access to a garden. Open all year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Culver House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culver Hotel Swansea
Culver House Hotel Port Eynon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing