We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous position and comfortable house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oxwich View

Oxwich View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oxwich View Cottage
Enclosed Patio and Garden Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Oxwich View Cottage
Enclosed Patio and Garden
Garden
Living and dining area with log burning stove
Kitchen
Master bedroom with super king size bed
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Putting for gold at Dusk
Sweeping beach
Rhosilli Beach
Beautiful sunset
Oxwich View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Port Eynon, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jan N
Powys, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous position and comfortable house”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a comfortable and well thought out house in a lovely village and within a stone's throw of a lovely beach. Lots of dog walking and great meals at the pub just a few steps away made this a very relaxing break. Thoroughly recommended.
Please note that dogs are only allowed on this beach from October to April, but are allowed on Oxwich Bay all year around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and beach
Liked least: Sandy dogs!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward i
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay .Put off by 'task list ' left for us to complete.”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great welcome, small heating glitch soon overcome by Ron the Landlord and some warm coats.Close to great beach yards away and pub opposite , but take cash as on our second night there (different staff) they wanted to keep my credit card behind the bar.This is a bad idea as I know from experience. Only downside at house was a written request to mop and Hoover floor and strip the beds and take sheets,duvets and pillow cases off. I may be old fashioned or just unhelpful but if I am paying just under two hundred punds for two nights I expect this to be part of the deal .Still good place if you don't mind mucking in with the. Domestics!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
The reason we ask guests to "leave the cottage as they found it" is to enable us to present it in the best possible condition for the next party. It is generally accepted practice in self catering accommodation and I have to say this is the only guest to have raised this issue in all our years in the self catering cottage business. Indeed the vast majority of guests leave the cottage spotlessly clean and tidy for which we are very grateful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damo1976
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect For Large Families”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in Ivy Cottage (both Oxwich View and Port Eynon Beach) in a family group of 10, spanning 3 generations. This dual cottage location is ideal for an extended family of our size. The downstairs bedroom in Port Eynon beach was perfect for Grandma (who needs a little bit of assistance getting out and about).

Both parts of the cottage had multiple bedrooms, including en-suites and separate kitchen/dining/living room areas. This was perfect for organising evening meals and breakfast as well as allowing us to have a 'quiet' part of the cottage (for the older members of the family) to chill out while the rest of the family were being more sociable (beer/wine/board games).

The property is pet friendly and we took our family dogs. There are stair-gates provided (which are easy to assemble) so we could keep the dogs downstairs. The downstairs is paved in stone flooring, which is easy to clean too and a vacuum cleaner + a multitude of cleaning products were provided in addition to the cleaner service at start/end of our rental.

The kitchens were both well equipped with all the usual expected facilities and the garden areas both had large charcoal BBQ's available to use (which we did).

There is free Wifi access which is essential due to the poor phone signal we encountered in this area. It is quite remote, but that adds to the ambience of the area. It is only about 5 minutes walk from the beach. Our only downside was the views as we thought there would be good sea views. Technically you can see the sea from a couple of the rooms, but only a very small view of it over rooftops of other buildings between this cottage and the beach. But as it's only a 5 minute walk, it didn't matter too much.

We loved it in general and would recommend it as well as likely return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruggy
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage has everything you would need for a comfortable stay. It is nicely decorated and has everything you require. The nice lawn with barbecue area and back patio with seating and table is also very handy on those days you don't feel like venturing far. The owner, Jon, kindly popped in one evening to make sure that everything was ok.
There are 2 cafe/fish and chip shops, a 'seaside' shop and a clothes/surfing shop around the corner but we never found anywhere to buy milk/papers etc - not that we really looked hard as we had arranged for Tescos to deliver our food shop when we arrived and didn't require anything.
We chose it because we thought it would have some nice places to walk the dogs without 'having' to get in the car. The beach is dog friendly in summer from the life guard hut towards the Salthouse - plenty of space for them to run around especially at low tide. If you walk through the dunes, or along the rough road behind the dunes you can walk to Horton where the beach is dog friendly to the left hand side. There are also walks along the beach/campsite that take you up and overlooking the village following the coastal path.
The Ship Inn is right opposite the property - very handy for a quick pint when ever you want..........you are on holiday after all!! We can thoroughly recommend the Cider. Unfortunately, it was going through a (noisy) makeover by the new owners at the time but I imagine that's finished now.
If you feel like getting in the car there is some lovely beaches in easy reach - all dog friendly. Three Cliffs (watch the tide or you won't be able to get to it easy), Oxwich, Rhossili, LLangennith to name a few.
We had a lovely week away and would not hesitate staying there again if we were in the area. Thank you Jon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard N
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Home......and it really felt like home!!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We all had a wonderful time. Gower is a beautiful place and I would rate Three Cliffs Bay as the best beach I have visited in Europe. The holiday home was perfect, spotless, well equipped and really felt like a home from home.
The garden areas are perfect for people with dogs.
Jon, the owner, greeted us shortly after we arrived and just before we left and was very welcoming.
Top tip - Arrange to have your groceries delivered. Saves filling up the car and the nearest supermarket is miles away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing