We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I would return. So that's the teller isn't it. My husband booked Kees for the 2 of us and 2 young children. If I'm honest I wouldn't have chosen it. However, the staff were lovely and the hotel had a lovely welcoming charm. The room was definitely dated but really big and really clean (room 310).
My main complaint would be that while the staff were really helpful and friendly they were absolutely run off their feet and I don't think this puts the guest at ease. Most times they had to be called during dinner and they had to respond to us while carrying plates away from another table. They were doing their very best and were very charming but it almost felt like we didn't want to bother them and I didn't love that ! I would imagine that it couldn't cost a whole lot extra to increase the numbers of staff on a shift because it was the same story at breakfast too and there wasn't a huge crowd of guests.
The swimming area while dates, is really user friendly for a family and we really enjoyed it.
Overall I was pleasantly surprised and my children loved it so we will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spaul77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. Sometimes we husbands get in right! I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were impressed by the lovely staff and the charming welcome. As a manager I work with department heads to try to ensure staff levels are correct, sometimes it is tricky as rosters have to be worked out in advance.. We very much look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    198
    50
    28
    18
See reviews for
218
385
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My Fiance and myself just spent 3 fantastic days here from Sunday 16th March which fell into the St Patricks Bank Holiday weekend. Even though when we arrived and the hotel was packed from wedding guests from the day before plus the many families enjoying the bank hol weekend we were still met with the familiar outstanding customer service we always receive here. The Management of the hotel speaks for itself, everyone who works here always comes across as happy and friendly and this is what sets the hotel high above the rest in the surrounding area. We have been going for winter breaks here for many years and we always feel totally relaxed here. The food is excellent and even though the restaurant was full on Sunday evening we still received excellent food and service and this is all down to the staff who are led by a lovely gentleman who I think is the restaurant manager . This is a traditional hotel, it suits us as we do not like modern fancy hotels. We are looking forward to our next break probably in the summer, all in all a great break! Oh yes big thanks to Vicky for showing us around one of the rooms used for weddings as we are thinking of holding our big day here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marian40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. It was a pleasure to welcome your fiance and yourself for another relaxing break in Kee's, We are as you say, a happy bunch and Mustapha our restaurant manager, is a great favourite with our guests. He keeps us all on our toes. I have passed your thanks on to Vicky and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Kee's.. Kindest Regards , Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here with our 3 young children and another family with children. Great value. Food (dinner and breakfast) were excellent, service was first class - nothing was too much bother. Staff were very helpful.
We used the pool / jacuzzi twice and had it to ourselves

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard111076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your break with us here at kee's, and the excellent service, food and helpful staff. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Tyrone
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Friendly staff and very helpful. Clean and tidy rooms with good room service. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel - very close to local shops and pubs. Large welcoming open fires in the lounge area and swimming and fitness available in the leisure complex - good value for money.

Room Tip: Any room would be suitable to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountyTyroneLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your break with us here at Kee's. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton Astley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. My friend was getting married there, so it was ideal. If you're going to a wedding reception don't bother with breakfast. They just keep bringing food until everyone can't eat anymore. There was 130 people and everybody I spoke to were impressed.
Room was big. Only slight annoyance was the shower was only a trickle but apart from that we were happy.
Hotel was clean.
Staff were always friendly.
We had b&b but chose to have our evening meal there. All the food was great.
I'd be happy to recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Seamusmcgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Leisure Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad to hear that everyone had such a good day at your friend's wedding and that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Kee's. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Have stayed several times, usually Feb or March, at the Kees Hotel with their weekend package deals. Great place to shake off the winter blues and always find: courteous staff, good rooms, excellent cuisine and nice ambiance in a lovely family run establishment. On one occasion used the spa and found it a bit dated but still would use again and did not spoil my overall experience.

Will be back again in 2015.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Paul Paton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. Delighted that you eenjoyed your spring break with us here again at Kee's. The family and staff here work very much as a team. We take a great pride in the history and traditions attached to this old family Inn and have all sorts of plans for the future. We are looking forward to your next trip. Kind Regards, Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I held our Wedding Reception in Kees Hotel.in February 2014. From the get-go, we loved this hotel.The staff were all very warm and welcoming from the moment we visited and the venue itself had a lovely, rustic feel to it. Any time we called, there was tea, coffee and biscuits on offer; a lovely touch we thought! A particular word of thanks has to go to our Wedding Coordinator, Paul Patton who was not only extremely helpful and considerate throughout the Wedding planning stages but who was also very efficient and hands on throughout our Wedding Day-this all helped make our Wedding Day the memorable occasion it was for us and our guests! (Great craic was had by many guests in the Residence Bar afterwards aswell!) I would definitely recommend Kees Hotel to any couple considering it as a Wedding Venue. We would love to do it all again :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rspatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad you had such a wonderful time on your very special day. We enjoyed hosting your reception, and meeting all the guests. Thank you for the kind word regarding myself it was an absolute pleasure to be involved. We look forward to welcoming you to Kee's again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranorlar
0.6 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jackson's Hotel
Jackson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,457 reviews
10.0 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,059 reviews
14.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
17.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre

Property: Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
Address: Kee's Hotel Main Street, Stranorlar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Stranorlar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the twin towns of Stranorlar and Ballybofey, near the foothills of the Bluestack Mountains, you'll find Donegal's warmest welcome at Kee's Hotel, family run since 1892. The bedrooms are bright and comfortable, offering the high standards expected by any seasoned traveller. The restaurant offers the finest local seasonal specialties. Spend quality time in the gym, sauna, pool or beauty salon. Ideally located for hill-walking, golf and touring. Numerous awards from international tour operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kees Hotel And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing