We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for 3 nightes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed for 3 nightes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed again in the kees hotel for about my 12 time. It is a warm and lovely place to stay. The staff and management are always on hand for anything you need. The food is excellent. The rooms are always warm and comfortable to stay in. I have never had any problems everytime i have stayed. The locals are always talkitive to u in the bar which is nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markliverpool99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to welcome you on your frequent return visits to Kee's, and look forward to your next visit. It sounds as though the locals will be turning out to welcome you also!!! Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    196
    49
    28
    18
See reviews for
214
376
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I chose this venue for my wedding including the civil ceremony and by far and away I made the correct decision.
To begin with the initial contact and arrangements were made simple and easy thanks to Paul and Vicky who helped us every step of the way.
The hotel provided such an excellent wedding package from decorating the rooms to working with us to extend band times and the food was amazing excellently prepared and all served hot with 2nd helpings if wanted.
The whole experience went by without a hitch, we didn't have to worry about one thing the hotel and Paul in particular took care of everything.
The honeymoon suite was romantic and atmospheric and was very restful, as part of the package we where given a 2nd night and a meal in the restaurant which quite possibly was even better than the meal at the wedding. We were moved rooms due another wedding the next day but the second suite was just as good and we got breakfast in the room the 2nd morning and this was nice.
Overall the Hotel and staff played a major part in the day being as brilliant as it was, if i ever get asked I will only be recommending Keys for a wedding or any stay in the area.
Thank you Paul and Thank you Keys.

Room Tip: Breakfast is better in the restaurant than room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HumieStompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. We very much enjoyed hosting you wedding reception here at Kee's. The adjectives romantic and atmospheric are essentials for the occasion!!! Thank you for choosing Kee's as your venue. Our very best wishes for your future happiness. Kindest Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrush, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Have been here several times over the years and our experience has always been good. Staff are always pleasant and welcoming and will go that extra mile. Bus tours are frequent callers so there is always a quiet buzz without being over-powering. Has a quiet relaxed atmosphere which would suit the older generation perhaps. Food was excellent, from breakfast through to dinner--reasonably priced. Swimming pool was basic but adequate for an early morning swim--the fitness suite had all the modern equipment. Rooms were reasonably sized, clean and comfortable. Musical entertainment was provided on 2 or 3 nights per week and was easy to listen too--it stopped about 10.00p.m. so didn't disturb those who were early to bed. All in all a great place to come to chill-out and get away from it all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Kee's is a very nice hotel, big enough but with intimate atmosphere and great services. Rooms are nice and big and the breakfast is excellent, if you are into a nice Full Irish breakfast!! There was a wedding at the weekend there, but their guests were not so visible to the rest of us. The service is very good too!! So, in general - comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bustraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Front Office Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the intimate atmosphere of this old Inn added to the experience. we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kindest Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My Wife and I stayed for the weekend in Kees Hotel and enjoyed a very relaxed time,while attending the Wedding party of a friend. The friendly staff and efficient service made it for us and the room was spacious and comfortable. Food was excellent, both breakfast and the food from the Bar menu.Definitely will have another short break here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wills1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review.. Thank you for posting your review. So glad your wife and yourself enjoyed a relaxing week-end with on the occasion of your friend's wedding, and delighted that you are planning a return visit. We look forward to seeing you then. Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I have just returned from a 3 night break in the Kees Hotel & we had a wonderful time. The hotel has real old world charm meets country house hotel. The standard of cleanliness is supurb and the rooms are very comfortable, with plenty of space in them.
We had a midweek break of 2 days B & B + 1 3 course Dinner, and as part of the package if you stayed on these terms you got a third night B & B free. Fantastic value for 89E per person sharing. We upgraded to executive rooms and it was well worth it.
Food was delicious and portions were large. Breakfast was a very generous buffet with the usual Irish Breakfast along with fresh fruit, juices, breads, jams, yogurt, cereals, porridge, and my favourite hot pancakes. All served with stacks of hot toast. Literally as much as you could eat. Dinner had plenty of choice and the three course meal we had on our last night was great. Lots of choice and very hearty food.
We ended our evening in the bar having a drink before bed and again lovely atmostphere with a roaring log fire burning. So warm and cosy. The staff in the hotel are very helpful & friendly.
If you are looking for 5 star luxury this is not for you, but it is a really good country hotel with great attention to detail for all their guests. There is a spa & swiming pool but I have to be honest & say I didn't try it, so I can' comment but it is there if you feel like a treat. Treatments have to be booked in advance.
The hotel is well situated with Letterkenny & Donegal town only about an hours drive away. It is a great base to explore Donegal and a lovely much appreciated early Spring Break for me & my parents. We loved it & hopefully will be back next March again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to an executive room & had quiet rooms overlooking the garden of the hotel. Front ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your very positive review. The Kee family have been welcoming guests to this country hotel for over 120 years - (real old-world charm meets country house hotel is exactly the niche we strive to fill) We are constantly working to improve the product and the work is on-going! It is very rewarding that , in you, the product and guest proved such a good match!! We look forward very much to your visit next year. Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I would return. So that's the teller isn't it. My husband booked Kees for the 2 of us and 2 young children. If I'm honest I wouldn't have chosen it. However, the staff were lovely and the hotel had a lovely welcoming charm. The room was definitely dated but really big and really clean (room 310).
My main complaint would be that while the staff were really helpful and friendly they were absolutely run off their feet and I don't think this puts the guest at ease. Most times they had to be called during dinner and they had to respond to us while carrying plates away from another table. They were doing their very best and were very charming but it almost felt like we didn't want to bother them and I didn't love that ! I would imagine that it couldn't cost a whole lot extra to increase the numbers of staff on a shift because it was the same story at breakfast too and there wasn't a huge crowd of guests.
The swimming area while dates, is really user friendly for a family and we really enjoyed it.
Overall I was pleasantly surprised and my children loved it so we will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spaul77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. Sometimes we husbands get in right! I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were impressed by the lovely staff and the charming welcome. As a manager I work with department heads to try to ensure staff levels are correct, sometimes it is tricky as rosters have to be worked out in advance.. We very much look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranorlar
0.7 mi away
Jackson's Hotel
Jackson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballybofey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
14.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,944 reviews
10.0 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#5 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
17.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre

Property: Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
Address: Kee's Hotel Main Street, Stranorlar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Stranorlar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the twin towns of Stranorlar and Ballybofey, near the foothills of the Bluestack Mountains, you'll find Donegal's warmest welcome at Kee's Hotel, family run since 1892. The bedrooms are bright and comfortable, offering the high standards expected by any seasoned traveller. The restaurant offers the finest local seasonal specialties. Spend quality time in the gym, sauna, pool or beauty salon. Ideally located for hill-walking, golf and touring. Numerous awards from international tour operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kees Hotel And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing