We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Day!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
Certificate of Excellence
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Day!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had our wedding in Kees at the start of June this year and I thought I’d leave a review for all those considering Kees for their wedding.
We decided on a civil ceremony so our whole day was spent in Kees and we couldn't have picked a better venue.
As a premises it has a lot of character and a welcoming feeling that newer hotels lack. It has lots of different areas such as the large foyer, banquet room, bar, gallery room and garden area for guests to relax and feel comfortable in between the ceremony and dinner. They only have one wedding a day so it really is your special day.
The hotel is family owned and the family feeling runs through to all the staff who are so helpful, friendly and good fun.

After spending so long thinking on how you want things to look on your wedding day; cake table, candy bar, ceremony room, dining table etc etc, you realise you will be getting ready and won’t be able to do it yourself! Handing over the reins to someone else can be hard after all your planning but thankfully Vicky and Paul understand how all the little details are so important. They helped so much, Vicky answering emails and calls coming up to the day and Paul keeping me calm on the morning and organising everything exactly as we wanted on the day.
The day ran so smoothly, the food was fantastic, (Loved that dessert!) and we are still being told by our guests how much they enjoyed the day in Kees, which is good as we don’t intend on getting married ever again!
So If you are considering Kees for your wedding, go for it and have a fab wedding day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    198
    50
    28
    18
See reviews for
218
385
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just back from another trip to Kee's with 3 friends. My family and friends love this place. Great carvery on Sunday, spoilt for choice. Lovely staff and we danced the night away as did the American tourists. Lovely breakfast as usual. Will be back soon. Very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights from 30 June - 2nd July '14. What a delightful and charming place. The hotel has a lot of character and over it's 150 years has learnt well how to provide good service with fine attention to detail. The Kee's family is still very much hands on. The reception area has comfortable and discrete seating, while outside there are cozy bowers surrounded by shrubs. We were one of 3 separate parties and were all impressed with the spacious bedrooms and large comfortable beds. Breakfasts were excellent; main meals were plain but well-cooked. All our meals were taken in the hotel as the few restaurants in Stranorlar/Ballybofey didn't look particularly attractive. We never got round to trying out the leisure facilities.

Stranorlar is a good base from which to explore lovely west Donegal. Room rates were excellent value; we booked directly with the hotel. Kee's hotel is a place I would like to return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Baithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed one night in Kee's hotel along with our tour group. What a gem! As soon as you pull up to the hotel, which is conveniently located off Main Street, the hotel staff was immediately available to greet us and help with baggage. The outside of the hotel has flowers and ivy climbing up the stone walls and was just charming to view. Once inside the hotel, we weren't dissapointed. The lobby area is open and beautiful with a staircase leading to rooms upstairs. The lobby opens up to a wonderful bar area on the right of the reception area and a beautiful courtyard to the left. There is plenty of comfortable seating in the lobby. The courtyard is fantastic...flowers were everywhere and more comfortable seating. The courtyard was the perfect place for a nice glass of wine to relax after a day of touring the local area. Off the courtyard was an area where the hotel hosts wedding receptions, etc. (This was also a beautiful area.)

The hotel rooms were spacious, immaculate, updated and well furnished. We had a room that faced the beautiful courtyard. By far this was the best hotel room we encountered in Ireland.

We didn't stay at the hotel for dinner as our tour group had another engagement for dinner, but we did make it back to the hotel in time for the wonderful musical entertainment in the bar. This was a great way to end our long day.

The next morning, we were treated to a very good Irish buffet breakfast before we headed out.

If we travel back to this part of Ireland again, I will put this hotel stay on the itinerary!

Room Tip: There is live entertainment in the bar in the evenings, so if you are a light sleeper, request a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gracie21124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted that you so much enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Kee's. We are very proud of the history and character of this old Inn, and it means so much when we see guests who have travelled from abroad appreciating the atmosphere and comfort, perhaps having afternoon tea, or a glass of wine in the gardens or courtyard. We have an on-going programme of refitting and refurbishment to ensure the standard of the rooms is maintained. I am glad you take fond memories of Kee's back home with you. Fondest Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of having our wedding reception in Kees three days ago, and we could not have wished for a more perfect day or venue.
From our first meetings with Vicky Kee and her excellent staff, to the day off our wedding we were very impressed with their welcoming attitudes and attention to detail.
The food was excellent. And there was plenty of it! A number of guests have commented on the quality of the meals. The service was impeccable, and speedy. Our guests with special dietary requirements were perfectly catered for also.
The staff were ever present, but discreet. Any request was handled pleasantly and efficiently. The staff were welcoming and warm and this helped to add to the lovely relaxed feeling of the day. A special mention for Liam also, he was very attentive, accommodating and kind.
We are so happy that we chose to have our wedding in Kees. It was the most important and special day of our lives and made even more wonderful by our choice of venue.
We could not recommend Kees highly enough for a wedding venue.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had the pleasure of attending a family wedding in Kee's Hotel recently and I was over whelmed by the attention to detail and the superb level of customer service we all received. A warm and inviting traditional Hotel offering service excellence all round.

From the lovely warm smiles of the house keeping staff to the extremely helpful banqueting staff and in particular a delightful young lady called Aoife as she was most helpful when I was making demands on her throughout the wedding for my 2 yr old daughter!

Kee's Hotel execute very high hospitality standards and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay, the weekend went in much too quickly! Breakfast was arranged to perfection and tasted even better and the young waiter remarked as we left the Restaurant on both mornings "enjoy the rest of your day"...brilliant!

We enjoyed a lovely relaxing day eating and having coffee the day after the wedding in the comfortable surrounds of the Hotel foyer and outside in the immaculate courtyard.

A truly fabulous Hotel and a huge credit to all the management and staff concerned, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Siobhan Barrett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed by chance on our recent trip around Ireland. Lovely old world quality hotel, friendly helpful staff. All around a pleasant great place to stay .We had a delicious evening meal and the English style breakfast was superb. Price also was reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bazsmiff0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranorlar
0.6 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jackson's Hotel
Jackson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,457 reviews
10.0 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,059 reviews
14.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
17.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre

Property: Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
Address: Kee's Hotel Main Street, Stranorlar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Stranorlar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the twin towns of Stranorlar and Ballybofey, near the foothills of the Bluestack Mountains, you'll find Donegal's warmest welcome at Kee's Hotel, family run since 1892. The bedrooms are bright and comfortable, offering the high standards expected by any seasoned traveller. The restaurant offers the finest local seasonal specialties. Spend quality time in the gym, sauna, pool or beauty salon. Ideally located for hill-walking, golf and touring. Numerous awards from international tour operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kees Hotel And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing