We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit and not the last”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night break and as always it was perfect in every way. We love the fact that Keys is a Family run Hotel and unique in its quaintness. We will be back in September with friends and look forward to seeing everyone again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BeakyCoDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Paul Patton. Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. So glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and that you appreciate and enjoy the special atmosphere of this old Inn. We look forward to your visit in September, Till then. kindest regards, Paul (Patton)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

On our group trip, we stayed in some lovely hotels and enjoyed some amazing food. The food at Kees could not even be described as average. The rooms on the street side were so noisey that some had to request different rooms. Our room had a slow sink and tub drain as well as a leaking faucet. We did greatly enjoy the step dance demonstration. We were disappointed in our stay. The only saving grace was the step dance demo.

Room Tip: Rooms off the street side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank millie4517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Paul Patton,Marketing and Banqueting Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us. This is a village hotel and a heritage property, owned and run by the Kee family for over 120 years. Some rooms overlook the terrace gardens, others look out over the village to Barnesmore Gap, others are built over the leisure Club (with viewing over the pool from the corridor) Inevitably some do overlook the street. This is an issue for some guests, whereas others (especially those from abroad) very much enjoy the village setting and watching the action!! Kee,s has always had a excellent reputation for the standard of food served and we guard this reputation zealously - I regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. So glad you enjoyed the step-dancing!!! Kind Regards Paul Patton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I can't praise this hotel enough!! Lovely decor, great service, good position for sightseeing. My only complaint is that there is quite a lot of traffic noise as our room was at the front, but earplugs fixed that!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, General Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our position is great for sightseeing this so lovely county, and the village setting is ideal. The only downside is that a few rooms overlook the street, this is great for watching village life but inevitably there may be a degree of noise. You had the perfect solution!! Hope to see you again soon. Fond Regards Paul (Patton)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Really blown away with our stay here. A delightful traditional hotel steeped in family history. Spacious rooms with all mod-cons...including free wifi (to the delight of our children!). Staff could not do enough to ensure a pleasurable stay...always a welcoming smile on their faces. Choose this as a birthday surprise for my wife and won many brownie points as a result! Food exquisite with international and local flavours on the extensive menu...don't miss out on the chef's salmon specialty.
When you book-in you don't want to check-out!
Hoping to return again in October for an event in Stranorlar and can't wait!

Room Tip: We booked a family room which was very spacious and at the 'rear' of the hotel. It was also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dermot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Paul Patton, Marketing and Banqueting Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. So glad your choice lived up to expectations, and that you marked up all those brownie points! Kee's is, indeed, a traditional hotel, 'steeped in history', and there are fewer of these around nowadays. We look forward to your return in October. Kindest Regards Paul (Patton)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Again we had a fantastic stay in this hotel. Staff very friendly nothing was too much trouble. Room very clean.My daugter had her 10th bithday duing our stay -all the staff on duty wished her a HAPPY BIRTHDAY. Staff in restaurant made it extra special- at breakfast gave her and her sister sweets for her birthday. At dinner for her pudding they gave her a selection of puddings for he birthday. This was a lovely touch. Food as always was fantastic.Pool was great.Can't wait to book our next stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KazzyB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Paul Patton, Marketing and Banqueting Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad you all enjoyed your recent stay with us on the occasion of your daughter's tenth birthday. I think the staff enjoy these celebrations themselves!!! We hope to welcome you all to Kee's often in the future. Thank you for your continued support. Kindest Regards Paul (Patton)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights with my daughter. The bedroom and bathroom was very spacious and comfortably laid out. It was serviced daily to a high standard. The hotel was spotless. The staff were pleasant and helpful.
We made full use of the leisure centre. Great way to relax after a busy day. Use of the steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, pool and gym are included for guests.
Breakfast was really good. A vast selection of food and plenty of it! We had a minor problem in the restaurant but after passing my feedback onto reception I had a reduction in my bill which more than compensated for the anomaly. They showed a keenness to satisfy guests and to rectify any problems.
I'll definitely be back again.
Great touring base for SW Donegal.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank HikerSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Went to the hotel at the weekend for a friends wedding. Hotel staff were very friendly and the food in the bar was fantastic and the bar prices were reasonable for a hotel.

The wedding reception was in a lovely setting the foot again was fantastic and the staff were very helpful. The bar was well staffed and stocked.

Our room was nice and cosy and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranorlar
0.7 mi away
Jackson's Hotel
Jackson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,222 reviews
14.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,167 reviews
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
13.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre

Address: Kee's Hotel Main Street, Stranorlar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Stranorlar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
Price Range: £53 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the twin towns of Stranorlar and Ballybofey, near the foothills of the Bluestack Mountains, you'll find Donegal's warmest welcome at Kee's Hotel, family run since 1892. The bedrooms are bright and comfortable, offering the high standards expected by any seasoned traveller. The restaurant offers the finest local seasonal specialties. Spend quality time in the gym, sauna, pool or beauty salon. Ideally located for hill-walking, golf and touring. Numerous awards from international tour operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kees Hotel And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing